Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


C E Curtis Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 13, 2016
- a parent
The school claims the lack of funds have changed the second grade homework curriculum to not having homework sheets and activities for every/most subjects. But 1st grade takes home several sheets and so do other grades.

C E Curtis Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I am extremely grateful for Mrs. Vaden. My daughter's love for school has increased so much this year, and it's because of her teacher. Mrs. Vaden is an exceptional educator, and in just the first 9 weeks of school, my daughter has learned so much, and is eager to tell me all about her day when she gets home. Addison loves to play school now - and they say "imitation is the highest form of flattery". I can't wait to see what the rest of this year holds for my daughter!


C E Curtis Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I am extremely grateful for Mrs. Vaden. My daughter's love for school has increased so much this year, and it's because of her teacher. I know how important the elementary years are for making an impression on a child. Mrs. Vaden is an exceptional educator, and in just the first 9 weeks of school, my daughter has learned so much, and is eager to tell me all about her day when she gets home. Addison loves to play school now - and they say "imitation is the highest form of flattery". I can't wait to see what the rest of this year holds for my daughter!

C E Curtis Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I have trouble putting into words my appreciation for Mrs. Young. She's creative, empathetic, intelligent, soft, strong, and an excellent teacher. My son has grown by leaps and bounds because of her teaching and her understanding heart. I'm so blessed to have her on my team this year.

C E Curtis Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
We have moved many times and have been involved in schools all over Virginia. We have never been as happy as we are at Curtis Elementary. From the front office staff to the custodians to the teachers, I am constantly impressed. I have a third grader in Mrs. Gotay's class and a first grader in Mrs. Young's class and every day I feel blessed to have them teaching my kids. I just can't say enough good things about this school and their teachers. I'm very thankful for them all.


C E Curtis Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
They help the children in every possible way they can. The programs are amazing. They go to any lengths to assure you the education and safety of our children.

C E Curtis Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I would like the thank Jolie. She helps every child and every child's family. The programs she has at the school helps so many familys during the holidays. She makes sure no family goes without. She is kind, caring, and genuinely cares for all the students that attend that school.

C E Curtis Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
I would like to thank Ms. Liann Valenza for being an outstanding teacher. She is always so welcoming and friendly to parents and students. She takes the time to explain in great detail everything you want to know about your child's grades and conduct and she does so with a great sense of urgency and sincerity. She shows a real desire to help the children be their absolute best. She truly cares about her students and the parents. It is so refreshing to see a teacher of this caliber and I know my son is greatly benefiting from her hard work and nurturing. He has made honor roll for the first time! You rock Ms. Valenza! We need more teachers like you!


C E Curtis Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Genazia is an amazing teacher! Her sweet nature, combined with her patient personality, and genuineness, makes her an admired and highly respected teacher! She is respected by current and former parents, her peers, and most importantly her students! We feel so fortunate that she is currently our daughter, Ella's fourth grade teacher!!!!

C E Curtis Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2015
- a parent
This is a great school with a lot to offer parents and children alike. This school really values their community.

Nearby schools

C E Curtis Elementary School
3600 W Hundred Rd, Chester, VA  23831
(804) 768-6175
Last modified C E Curtis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top