Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Enon Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 490 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

We have almost completed a year of Kindergarten and I must say I'm happy with the results. My child has been recognized for her achievements and loves to go to school. She loves all her teachers and I think the front office staff are above and beyond friendly. They will bend over backwards to accommodate a parent in need of anything! The Principal is accessible and involved and has quickly responded to any question or concern I've had. I am so glad my child goes to this wonderful little school. Don't let the building fool you (they will be building a new school over the next few years) it is a small slice of wonderful inside those 75 year old brick walls!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

enon is not a bad school. since is not a title 1 school teaches lack passion and creativity. I feel most kids will get left behind compare to other schools in the area. good luck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

Enon Elementary is great! The Principal, staff and teachers are so nice, easily accessible, and they seem to really care about the students and their families. The building is old (it will get a new campus soon) but it has a great caring/small school feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

Enon Elementary is by far the best Elementary school. I currently have a third grader. The staff at Enon Elementary have gone above and beyond to help my child receive the extra help she needed to be successful. My child attended Kindergarten, first grade and second grade in another county in Virginia that did not have the high academic standards that Enon Elementary has. When my daughter was struggling with reading on grade level the teacher gave my child the extra time she needed to be successful. The school offers extra tutoring in math and reading afterschool. The parents at Enon are very involved in the school. I am most impressed with the daily communication I have with my child s teacher. The staff are glad they work at Enon. The office staff is extremely welcoming, and both Mr. Crusco and Ms. Riddick can always be seen walking around the building congratulating students for their achievements. Most importantly the teachers at Enon care about the kids. I wish my child had been able to benefit from the high expectations of Chesterfield County Schools from the beginning of her schooling. Thank goodness her teacher took the time to help her reach her potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

Enon does not have a lot of options for children that need a little extra help. There are not enough teacher's assistants and programs to help children that are struggling. It is easy for a child to slip through the cracks due to the lack of individual attention and unacceptable teacher to student ratios. I think and feel that because Enon is not a title 1 school and because there is a lack of impoverished students that a lot of things are overlooked due to the lack of federal involvement and funding which comes at a high expense for the children that do need extra help and programs to help with reading, math, etc. There is also a general lack of communication between the teachers and parents, which leads to lower parental involvement. I personally have encountered a couple of teachers that lack professionalism and the passion that it takes to be a great educator. Enon doe however make everything appear to be "all smiles and butterflies" so kudos to them for the facade. The parents have no idea about what really goes on behind closed doors, it is possible your child could be being "pushed through" just for the numbers game.


Posted November 16, 2013

Please stop judging others' opinions. Great schools is a place for all parents to express their feelings. You may feel that the candy issue is not a big deal and that is your right. Different opinions are part of what makes this world so great. However, I feel that the candy is a big deal as kids should learn internal motivation. Giving out candy robs them of this opportunity. Also, traditional candy is filled with high fructose corn syrup, petroleum based dyes and other carcinogenic ingredients. I do my best to keep these lab created items out of my children's bodies. In addition, I do volunteer in my kids' classrooms, attend field trips and help with the PTO. As a parent I am involved with my children's lives. I stand by my opinion and I respect yours.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I don't understand how Enon could get bad reviews. I Love this school!! We moved here from a very rural area and we absolutely love Enon. The principal, Mr.Crusco is outstanding, very warm and friendly. My daughter's teacher, Ms.Kerschner does an outstanding job with my kindergarten. She loves school and is excited to get up in the morning. We chose to move to Chester because Chesterfield County has so much to offer our children.Parents are involved at Enon & I enjoy being able to participate in the school activities. The parents that complained about the candy,please get over it. The most important thing is our children are getting a superb education and I'm ok when my child does an exceptional job that she is rewarded with a piece of candy. We need to remember whats important. Stop trying to find simple reasons to complain and use that energy to participate in our children's lives by volunteering in the class rooms, helping out whenever possible and focusing on whats important...our children's education. I would highly recommend Enon Elementary to anyone. I also would recommend that you visit there, you will love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Everytime you walk into the school, I never see an unhappy student or staff member. The office staff knows me by voice. My child does not like missing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

I have had children attend 3 different elementary schools and this one is by far the best. The teachers have done an outstanding job, the staff is amazing - always helpful and curtious and the children seem to be happy. Yes, it is not the best "looking" school in the county. An update would be nice, but my experience tells me that the staff and students make up the atmosphere of the school, not the building. The principal is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2011

In response to the parent writing a review of Enon ES on Dec 16, 2011. I agree with you wholeheartedly about the amount of candy and other junk given to kids at school; other junk being the dollar store stuff that doesn't "work" or is otherwise useless. But the candy is a problem, and it's not a problem unique to Enon. My kids attended 4 different public elementary schools in 3 states, and I have been a substitute at even more, so have seen that the candy thin seems prolific. I find it to be a crutch and I don't think it works. I disagree with the principal at Enon ES over this issue, but I respect him nonetheless for otherwise running an excellent school. And to the parent who complained about the building, yes, while the school is not bright and shiny, it has been updated, and anyway, it's the community that makes the school rather than the appearance of the building. The school is a safe and friendly place - more friendly than a couple of other es schools in that same area. I continue to feel that Enon is an impressive nurturing school and was glad my child was able to go to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2010

The teaching staff is fantastic, led by Mike Crusco who is a wonderful principal. You're not just a number when you walk into Enon. The atmosphere is warm and friendly across the entire staff. Enon also offers many organized extracurricular activities before and after school (ie: jump rope) that have proven fun and rewarding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

I love this school, from the people in the office to the janitor to the teachers, everyone is friendly courteous and professional Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

This school is awesome!! The best staff in CCPS. They care about your child. Whenever I visit this school I am always welcomed with a smile.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

After reading the posting from August 12, 2008, I was shocked and felt compelled to respond. Enon is an amazing place with a genuine family feel. Everyone is closely connected and generations move to Enon so they can continue having family members experience Enon. As far as catering to the elite, I believe that to be false. The teachers and staff are highly professional and care about each child/family. I think Enon is an amazing place, and am proud that my children are there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

Retired military with 2 kids going to Enon; absolutely great teachers and staff - engaged and involved, and very aware of individual students. Facility is old but adequate, and the curriculum is top notch, especially for accelerated learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My youngest daughter attended only 4th and 5th grade at Enon due to us moving to that district. I found Enon to be less than friendly and the school is in horrible shape. I felt like an outsider, I guess if your child doesn't attend K-5, then they are always considered the 'new' kid. They are not welcoming at all, and the parents tend to cater to stay at home parents, rather than working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2007

I chose Chesterfield County schools when I moved from Pennsylvania. I wanted to best education for my kids and wanted the best school districts. I am so glad we are in Enon. The staff and teachers are very friendly and helpful. I've enjoyed volunteering and getting to know the staff. I would recommend Enon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Enon is a wonderful school, The Staff and Students are the best! I couldn't ask any more than to work with this great staff. Although Mr. Loeffler, our Principal, is leaving us, we will survive any circumstantial changes that may overcome us. Enon is the Best!
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted December 5, 2005

I think the teachers at Enon Elementary are superb! The facility itself needs a major 'face lift'....lots of mold, cracks in walls, etc. are just a few of the issues that need to be addressed and continue to be ignored. I am a parent of two children that currently attend Enon Elementary. Sad to see so many of the good values and family-like atmosphere that Ms. Scott and Ms. Rice brought to the school no longer exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

This is a fantastic school, has great teachers, and my child loves going to school everyday. I am a proud parent. I can go to work everyday knowing that my child is cared for and is becoming an intelligent person. Specail thanks to my child's teacher Mrs. Heath in second grade. She is very kind. Also thanks to her other teacher Mrs. Henshaw and Mrs. Beamon. Also the music teacher is nice too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students94%
Male students79%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students91%
Black students83%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students93%
Female students91%
Male students94%
Black students91%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students81%
Female students73%
Male students86%
Black students79%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students88%
Female students85%
Male students90%
Black students78%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities83%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students83%
Male students92%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students89%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students88%
Female students92%
Male students83%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students92%
Female students88%
Male students95%
Black students88%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 E. Hundred Rd.
Chester, VA 23836
Phone: (804) 530-5720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT