Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harrowgate Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 482 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

We are a military family and we were in this school for four years. I have only good thing to say about this school. Like any other school I like some teacher mor than others. But they have an excellent title one program. And even better PreK. They never neglected any of my children even though my boys are in autism spectrom and ADHD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

I a previous post I raved about how wonderful the school is, but now not so great. They have had turn over in adminstration with fabulous adminstrators promoted and new "green" adminstrators replacing them. The warm, welcoming feeling I used to get each time I visited the school has been replaced with a sense of dread everytime I visit the school. The teachers are awesome! They do a great job with the kids. My child has made tremendous strides and no doubt will continue to do so. I'm not so certain the ciriculum that they teach will really help them to get a future job. They no longer teach the children to read and write cursive so unless you teach your child at home, they will grow up not knowing how to sign their own names. It's sad that they focus their teaching to be able to pass a standardized test instead of real world issues. But with what is required to be taught, the teachers are doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

I have been so pleased with my child's success at Harrowgate. The teachers are skilled and partner with parents to insure that each student is successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

My husband is in the military. We move every 3-4 years. My son was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome at 2 1/2 yrs old. When we moved here last year, I was concerned that he wouldn't get the same care and attention that he received in NC. I was so pleased when I talked to the Vice Principal. She was so caring and attentive to my concerns and my son's needs. A year ago, I was very worried and full of anxiety trying to find a fit for my son in VA. Not now. Today, my son is doing so wonderful. I thank you Harrowgate Elementary. Great Job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

The school is great when it comes to your child learning above the level expected of them. I guess you can't ask for perfection in anything however; my children also attended South Hampton in Richmond and I experienced the best of both worlds! Unlike Harrowgate, the school was great academically and had a warming demeanor! Harrowgate doesn't have the family feel and I feel like they are very catering to families outside of the African American culture. It is more like a private school and the families that have stay at home moms and dads who can attend a majority of events get most of the praise. There are parents who are involved in their child's lives but schedules don't permit them to attend every single after school event but ensure that their child is loved and is academically successful do not receive enough support and credit. The atmosphere is as friendly and when there is kindness it seems forced. However, I van not take away from the academic environment, which is excellent! I can admit that there is order and there are incentives in place that encourage the students to push towards their fullest potential. Again, I guess you can't always have the best of both worlds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Harrowgate presents a wonderful learning atmosphere for our children. The staff and teachers are caring individuals who want each and every child to achieve their full potential. The leadership is outstanding, caring and fair. They have many outstanding programs from small reading groups, to family adventure night, to parent partners and programs that help familiarize parents with the school. Our PTA is also outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

I am proud to have my grandchild attend Harrowgate. Harrowgate has and outstanding staff of teachers and facilitator who are concern about our childrens developement. this could never happen without a great leader like our Principal Mrs.Woods and her staff and hats off to her supporting staff expecially Mrs. Sykes I am encurage to know that the effort put forth by the principal and her staff, we are headed for another outstanding year. We love Harrowgate. Last but not lease parents get involve!! Our PTA need your support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

Excellent school with excellent staff and leaders! A very caring & loving environment for all students! I am a proud parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My mother attended Harrowgate, I attended Harrowgate and not my daughter is attending Harrowgate. I have seen it grow and change over many years, and I can say that I have enjoyed it all. Mrs. Wood and Mrs. Sykes are good at leading the school through another successful year. PTA program encourages parents to get involved, which is wonderful, the children need all the support that they can get. I give Harrowgate two thumbs up for the great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

We love Harrowgate ! Our daughter loves it too and that says a lot. The teachers and staff are more than wonderful and really good at what they do everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

I have three children at Harrowgate. We moved hear from another school in Chesterfield two years ago. I am extremely pleased with the outstanding education and teaching that my children are receiving. The small group instruction has let my child that is an above average reader soar at her pace and level. All three of my children love the school and have expressed how happy they are that we moved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

My Children have been well cared for and loved at Harrowgate. Ms. Woods leaderships will do good things for Harrowgate Elm. I am happy to have my children attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

I'm a proud parent of four beautiful children. My oldest is 12 and attends middle school. My three younger as well as the older have all experienced the Harrowgate environment which in our opinion is GREAT! Harrowgate Elementary is conducive to a very good education. There is a quality within the faculty and staff that show how much caring and teaching go hand in hand. My children have loved every one of their teachers. So much so that they play school at home and imitate the teachers by encouraging when a correct answer is given or helping to explain when something is not understood. My children's report cards reflect how well they are doing (A/B Honors or all E's) and that is because of Harrowgate Elementary's faculty and staff. I love Harrowgate and know that my children are doing well there. Thank you to all Harrowgate teachers and Mrs. Noble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

I wonder if the some of the reviews listed are actually by parents of students attending harrowgate. My children have been at harrowgate for 3 years now & i am very pleased. I'm not saying there isn't room for improvement in some areas, but it is a great school. The teachers are amazing. They care very much about their students. The staff is also wonderful. Mrs. Noble & Mrs. Woods are on top of things. Mrs. Bilter & Mrs. Johnson keep that school running. Don't forget the nurses, assistant teachers,title 1, headstart and the janitorial staff. They are all friendly & helpful. One cannot forget the hardworking pta board. They may be small, but they work very hard to make harrowgate an even better school for your children. Love you Harrowgate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

Harrowgate is a terrible school with no principal leadership and too much racial conflict
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2004

I have been nothing but pleased with Harrowgate. The teachers and staff are nice and truly care about the kids. They have a lot of activities for the kids to participate in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

We moved here 2 years ago from out of state and have 2 childen attending Harrowgate ele, and we are more than pleased with the school and its staff, Our childen are held to a higher learning than I recall (being in the same grade~years ago heh), but Its a comfortable and safe atmosphere for our kids. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Harrowgate is a violent place with lots of gangs forming and black on white racial violence. School is geared to learning disabled students. There is little discipline or quality control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

Harrowgate Elm. is #1 in my book, The teachers are the best!Harrowgate really cares for the kids and the staff.Volunteers are always welcome to come in and help out.Stop by and see for your self,I will glad to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students62%
Female students67%
Male students58%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students65%
Female students63%
Male students67%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students67%
Female students59%
Male students72%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students78%
Male students58%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White students68%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students93%
Black students95%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students61%
Male students66%
Black students58%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

English: Writing

All Students67%
Female students58%
Male students75%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students45%
Female students41%
Male students50%
Black students40%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students50%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English45%

Science

All Students73%
Female students59%
Male students85%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fred Scott

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15501 Harrowgate Rd.
Chester, VA 23831
Phone: (804) 520-6015

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



North Elementary School
Colonial Heights, VA


Evangel Christian School
Colonial Heights, VA


Lakeview Elementary School
Colonial Heights, VA


Tussing Elementary School
Colonial Heights, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT