Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Dale High School

Public | 9-12 | 2374 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

I'm a military child who went to Thomas Dale only for 5 months. It's not that bad actually. Everyone is nice. NO BULLIES. Most of the teachers are very awesome. The over crowding problem is solved if your wondering. There is now a 9th Grade Campus 9th Graders go there now. The 10-12 graders stay in the main building. Thomas Dale students welcome you if your a new student. Like I was. Very nice and warm school. RIP to Mr. Vinny who passed away recently.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2013

Hello, we have twin sons who graduated from Thomas Dale the year your group began, 1998. Our sons got a great education at Thomas Dale. With the help of guidance counselors, particularly Evelyn White, both of them got the help and direction they needed to go on to college and become fine contributing members of our world. In the 90's I think our sons saw more than we ever wanted them to know about life. So many kids who needed someone who cared. Thomas Dale teachers and other staff made the difference for so many children. We are parents who were involved at school and found we were totally impressed with the whole school life there. From classroom studies to sports and everything in between we can honestly say TDHS was and I hear still is one of the best in this area. We go to occasional football games there to feel the spirit of this great school whether it be in the classroom or on the field. GO, THOMAS DALE KNIGHTS AND CONTINUE TO "GO" FOR THE THOUSANDS OF STUDENTS YOU HAVE HELPED IN SO MANY WAYS IN THEIR LIVES!!!!!!!!!!!! We are also very impressed with your involvement in our schools. Thanks for being there. Thank you, Karen and Ken Lutes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

I am bequeathing to Thomas Dale the maximum five-star(excellent) rating. I truly believe the school deserves the recognition. I am a student of the 2011 graduating class, and if I had the choice of any school in the county I would still pick Thomas Dale. I was not involved in any extracurricular activities, but the teachers were huge inspirations to me. My 11th grade Honors English teacher was phenomenal. The work load was outrageous for a high school student, but boy did it prepare me for college. I am much more capable of doing research than most of my collegiate counterparts because of her rigorous and precise papers. To be honest, all of the English teachers I had were great. I believe there is something to be said about the History department as a whole. I am a lover of all history. Each and every one of my history teachers, I feel, were very influential and devoted to the subject. I would hate to leave out the other departments, but History is easier for me to compliment because I thoroughly enjoyed the classes. There really is a warming sense of unity amongst Thomas Dale graduates.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2011

When are they going to build a new school for these kids. This school is the biggest in Central VA and way overcrowded!!! It has two campuses!!! A ninth grade campus and a 10-12 campus. I just dont think this is right or fair to the kids! A new school board rep for the Berumuda will hopefully mean we will get a new high school in Chester for our kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

I have had 3 kids go through this high school. I would love to rate it higher..however there are issues that can not be ignored. Although all 3 were stellar students, it wasn't easy. But nothing in life is easy. However, my largest complaint would be how rude and unfriendly the front desk staff is. This was a topic of countless discussions among many other parents who shared the same experience of condescending attitudes. We have the right to expect more. We are the parents of the students we entrust them with. We do deserve mutual respect. I have been ignored standing at the front desk, rudely spoken to and often talked to as if I should know what to do. However, most of us do not. I have great kids, never in trouble, with no need to hardly have to visit the school, of course I would not know where to sign in and who specifically I need to speak to regarding various issues or questions. All I ask is for the staff to be welcoming and realize we are on the same side...which should be the well being of our kids at their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I would rate this school a -5 they dont even care what goes on in the school. Some of the teachers are horrible and can't (don't) teach. They expect the students to get good grades and high scores on the SOL with out their time being sent .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This is my first year at Thomas Dale and I expected more from it than it is. Some of the teachers are horrible and can't (don't) teach. They expect us to get good grades and high scores on the SOL but the don't teach us anything that's on it. There are a lot of bugs in the school. One week there was basically an infestation of gnats, everywhere we would go there were gnats. Other than that, the school is just okay.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2009

Some of the teachers have chosen the wrong career. They have more interests in power and control than the success of the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

I am new to the area and very impressed with both the curriculum and the staff. It was really easy to enroll and the staff was very friendly. So far my child has had a very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

All four of my children graduated from Thomas Dale High School, and I also taught there for three years. I was so impressed with the level of dedication on the part of the teachers and administration. They are old school in that they believe in going the extra mile to really make a difference in kid's lives. Many of the teachers have been at this school for years and years, and yet they are still constantly making changes and improvements to the curriculum to stay abreast of innovations in education. I couldn't have asked for a better education for my children. Three of my kids went on to college, and one into the Air Force. One was just accepted into the Mason School of Business at William and Mary which has a very demanding curriculum. I feel like this school really prepared my kids for success in life. Thanks to all the dedicated Thomas Dale teachers, guidance counselors, and administrators who helped them along the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

I have two kids at Thomas Dale High School. This year they raised the cost of the food at lunch and the administration is horrible. Very over crowded and needs tons of work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

It is overpopulated, but so is every other school in the Chesterfield district from high schools to elementary schools. The administration does the best they can with the ever increasing student load, and from personal experience I can attest that they do their best to form relationships with as many of the students as possible (even those with discipline problems). The teachers are all knowledgeable, most having masters. Good school if your children are into the arts. SOL scores improve with every entering freshmen class.


Posted March 16, 2008

My kids (2 have gone here) have gotten a great education. The administration is tough on rules and kids who might misbehave and I appreciate that. My kids played sports and played in marching band, jazz band, and show choir. They were always around 'good' kids. Thumbs up TDHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

I moved here last year and found friends quickly. I find the teachers willing to give extra help to students who are trying. There are also lots of opportunities in sports, the arts, clubs, community service. It was a good move for me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2008

Excellent caring staff , lots of academic and artistic opportunities for top students. My son loves TDHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I am in the best theatre program! I can't imagine being anywhere else. Even though I am unsure at this time what my college major will be, I know I have been challenged, excited and motivated being in this program. I've learned to organize my time and meet goals and had the most amazing performances. It's a Specialty Center program. We have one for dance, music and visual arts too. The best kids in the county audition for it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 27, 2007

Thomas Dale is a top notch school. The teachers strive to improve our minds and our grades. Of course, work is expected of us students, which seems to cause some aggravation. 'Oh, BAAAWW! I have homework to do! I hate my teacher because he's preparing me for college! Oh noes!' I've heard it all, and I have to say, there are two groups of students at Thomas Dale. The 'I want to improve myself and someday earn a college degree' students and the 'LAWL I HATE TDHS I WANT 2 B GANGSTA!' students. If your child is the former, then Thomas Dale will provide him or her with a spectacular education (granted that they work to achieve it). If your child is the latter, then prepare yourself for a tidal wave of angst and drama.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

this school is unsafe and unorganized!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

Too many students for the size of the school. The education received is good but I am very unhappy with administration, particularly the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

There is a problem here! With students dicipline, with quality of teachers. If you have kids that have always been A,B students they will probably do fine. If your kids have good dicipline at home and you are getting them to do their homework and study, but still manage to get C grades, good luck. This school will not motivate your average child to do better in class, but it will cram information @ end of the yr to show how good their sol scores are.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
95%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

563 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

404 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

542 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

587 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

585 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

550 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

570 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
93%
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students43%
Female students56%
Male students34%
Black students34%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students48%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English43%

Algebra II

All Students86%
Female students88%
Male students83%
Black students80%
Asian students93%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial95%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English86%

Biology

All Students84%
Female students89%
Male students80%
Black students76%
Asian students100%
Hispanic86%
Multiracial82%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English85%

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female students92%
Male students92%
Black students89%
Asian students100%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial100%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English92%

Earth Science

All Students86%
Female students82%
Male students89%
Black students72%
Asian students93%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial79%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students92%
Black students89%
Asian students100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial95%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English93%

English: Writing

All Students86%
Female students91%
Male students82%
Black students87%
Asian students92%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial89%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English87%

Geometry

All Students69%
Female students72%
Male students66%
Black students52%
Asian students94%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial79%
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students88%
Female students90%
Male students86%
Black students82%
Asian students100%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial95%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History I

All Students79%
Female students77%
Male students81%
Black students74%
Asian students100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial85%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

World History II

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students88%
Black students77%
Asian students100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial88%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pam Lumsden

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3626 W. Hundred Rd.
Chester, VA 23831
Phone: (804) 768-6245

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lloyd C Bird High School
Chesterfield, VA


Chesterfield Tech
Chesterfield, VA



Matoaca High School
Chesterfield, VA


Evangel Christian School
Colonial Heights, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT