Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a parent
Awesome, caring teachers and support staff! My child has really thrived in the hands of these wonderful educators.

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is now in third grade and has attended since kindergarten. The principal, faculty, and staff are warm and helpful. Mrs Wade has been extremely helpful and patient with my daughter.


Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful Faculty and Education! When it was time for my daughter to attend kindergarten, my family struggled with the decision of private school vs. public school. My daughter started kindergarten at Elizabeth Scott two plus years ago, and we ve never regretted a moment. The school was built within the last five years, so it has the latest technology and equipment. In addition, it has a seasoned principal with an excellent reputation, so much so that many of the current faculty members followed her to Scott for the opportunity to be part of her staff. All of my daughter s teachers have done a wonderful job challenging her and in areas where she exceled, placing her in separate reading and math groups. The school s staff also energizes the students, exciting and motivating them about learning! Recently the students were challenged to read 1 million minutes. When students reached specific goals, their names were posted for all to see and were personally awarded colored bracelets by the principal and vice principal. Each classroom tracked their minutes, listing the top three readers. The school reached its million minute goal in December. My daughter was so excited!

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 2

Posted December 03, 2011
- a parent
Unorganized mess! My child attended Eliz Scott for Kind. & 1st grade and I was not pleased wt how little supervision there is for the kids. My son got away from his class & was found alone outside playing unsupervised @ 5 yrs old. He was given silent lunch & left his lunch in the class & sat alone wt no lunch & no one noticed my 6 yr old went all day wtout eating. The school asks for money on a weekly basis for everything you can imagine. Parents are asked to volunteer for everything because they have 0 staff. No background check for parents who volunteer. Unstructured! Unorganized! Unsupervised Mess! Good Luck!

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 4

Posted November 30, 2011
- a parent
For a fairly new school it is above average compared to Northern Virginia schools. They still need to work on some management improvements.


Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
My grandson is in 1st grade, and his teacher is great! The staff are great also

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 2

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
Even though the school rates an 8 there are concerns that I have about the administration. No one wants to admit that bullying is a problem at this school, not just with my child but other students as well. The administration has tried to brush it off as kids being kids. The student to teacher ratio is way above the standards that the state has set. The district would rather pay a fine instead of hiring new staff members to correct the problem. Academically I feel that the school is more concerned with the SOL test scores than they are in actually educating the children. The teachers are pressured throughout the year in regards to teaching a test. Concerned Parent of a student at ESE

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
The faculty is great. The teachers and the staff are very helpful. School has won the Governors award and the Chesterfield County Award for being the most welcoming school. School and PTA have lots of opportunities for parents to get involved.


Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
My son went to Scott Elementary which opened in 2008, and to Davis Middle which opened in 2008. My son loves both schools. There is video recording inside the building and out. Incidents between students occur rarely, and if, are dealt with immediately and very professionally. The faculty is great. The teachers and the staff are outstandingly helpful. Parents are daily updated on homework, upcoming test and test results by simply loggin on to 'Edline'. Edline also enables parents to communicate with all the teachers via email whenever desired.

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
I absolutely adore the friendly and very caring Staff. The go the extra mile to work with the children and ensure their success acadmically. I like how safe the enviornment is and how everyone from the Principal to the bus driver make sure it stays that way.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elizabeth Scott Elementary School
813 Beginners Trail Loop, Chester, VA  23836
(804) 541-4660
Last modified Elizabeth Scott Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Elizabeth Scott Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top