Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 62 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Chesterfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $172,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2006

My daughter came to HCA from public school as an 8th grader with significant ADD. I could not have asked for greater teachers or administrative staff to work with about my child's schooling or needs. The teachers are mentors to the children, developing their characters; working on integrity; and encouraging them to strive for academic excellence. The biggest difference that I see is the Christian community within the school itself from teacher to teacher; teacher to parent; student to student. The older students also mentor the younger ones something seldom seen in public school. This school has been a God send to my daughter and my family. One of the best well rounded private schools in the Richmond area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

We love this school. Our three children have been here for four years. Our daughter graduates this year and we couldn't be more pleased with her education and the person she has become. Heritage has a nurturing and caring group of teachers. They really do love the children and want the very best for them. Heritage is the best Christian school around in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Our family has been truly blessed with the teachers,faculty,and staff at HCA.We have children at both campuses and they are excelling academicaly,spirtualy,and with extra curicular activities.I would encourage parents to visit the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

Our family has a pre-schooler, an elementary student, and a middlel-school student. We are happy to send our children to HCA for academics and the Christian education experience (which certainly includes, but also transcends academics) even though we live in Chesterfield County with its own top-notch schools. We value the Christian world-view, the teachers and staff approach to daily issues, and the carefully chosen curriculum. The engagement of our families and parents creates a learning community that bands together towards the common goal of creating Christian leaders for tomorrow. I'm glad my children will be products of this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2006

There are very few private christian schools that will accept students with an I.E.P. Heritage Christian School was willing to accept my child knowing they would have to make accommodations for her. Not only the teachers but also the princpal worked with us those first few months as she settled into a more academic environment then she ever had in the past. As the year progressed one teacher in particular came along side her and challenged her to strive for excellence in her work. Although it hasn`t been an easy road she would tell you the struggles have all been worth it. Aside from academics I wanted my daughter to be surrounded by adults who were concerned about charater development and one that valued integrity. The staff at HCA demonstrate both of those qualities and I have seen the changes in my daughter . We am blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

HCA has been a true blessing to my family. My 4 yr old needed some special attention w/ the change in her life style. While she was only in prek the staff @ HCA took her in & helped her along the way. The entire staff knows her by first name as well as me - when I call the school I do not have to id myself as 'Logan's' mom all I have to say is it is Teresa. I love it - God knew what was best for our family we will continue w/. HCA - the ratio of children to teacher is wonderful, chapel prayer & the bible in class is the best. The manners that the kids take from HCA is outstanding. The price is this private school is well worth the piece of mind and faith that comes w/ it. GO HCA..We love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My child was in public high school before we considered private school. Since she has been at Heritage her behaviour,personal choices, and grades have changed dramatically. The staff at the school has a terrific no-tolerance policy for any negative behaviour. Within a few weeks it was obvious that the negative influences experienced in public school would not be a problem here because they are quickly handled. All the children, regardless of religion or ethnicity, are treated equally. The only ones not treated equally are those that are causing problems. It is refreshing to have my child in a school that doesn't ignore the bad behaviour in favor of isolating the well behaved child just to avoid confrontation. My child speaks up instead of staying quiet because they listen. The school may not be perfect but it was the right choice for us. I would not go back to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My children have been at Heritage for the past 2 years. They were warm and open when I interviewed with the principal. They have a strong academic program and have since added a various selection of clubs and activities for the students. They expect the students to be leaders among their peers and show christian character. To me, I wouldn't expect anything different in a Christian School. That is exactly why I chose Heritage. A place where my children could achieve their academic goals and yet still be held to an acceptable standard of behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My daughter and my son attend HCA. My daughter has been there for four years and my son started this year. I could not imagine my children anywhere else. The academic program is excellent and the values the children are learning are priceless. My daughter has blossomed from a shy introverted child into a confident and well spoken young lady, in large part due to the influence of not only her great teachers, but the entire staff. They care about the total child. Every child and family is treated with the love and respect that God calls us to give one another. I feel so blessed to be a part of the HCA family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

HCA has been a breath of fresh air! My daughter has ADD and when she was in public school we felt as though she was lost in the shuffle. When we put her in HCA in middle school, as a parent, I felt that I was included in her education again. I am able to discuss any questions at any time with her teachers. I feel that it is a partnership between our family and HCA to make sure that my daughter gets the best education possible. Any time that I have either needed to speak either with teachers or the administration I was always made to feel welcome and they have always made time for me. My daughter is doing wonderfully and I would never consider putting her back into public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

Do you want to know if it is worth sending your kids to a private christian school? You need to talk to the students and the parents and ask them about their experiences. We have 3 boys, 8, 6 and 2 years old. We can help answer questions you may have about this wonderful school! We are so blessed to have found this school and we will never go back to public school again! foster@bww.com
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2004

Academics are well-achieved, but the most striking thing I find at this school is the character in the kids. These teachers love these kids! They diligently and consistently work on the children's attitude and character. What a Blessing to see this in a school setting! My first experience seeing this came when my daughter went to test at the school for her first year and her friend came along and waited with me out on the playground. She was very shy, but several children came gently to her and introduced themselves and asked if she wanted to play. Surprisingly, as it was not her usual response to something like this, she went ahead and they were extremely kind and sensitive to her. Wow! It's been three years now and it's only gotten better!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Clarinda Cole
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7777 Cogbill Road
Chesterfield, VA 23832
Phone: (804) 271-1818

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Freedom Christian Academy
Chesterfield, VA



Manchester High School
Midlothian, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT