Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

O B Gates Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 796 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

648 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

My daughter attended this school! Wonderful faculty and staff. Tons of parental involvement. Worked to make sure my child improved academically, but were also concerned about her social and emotional growth as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

This school is a nightmare. The teachers belittle their students. You can clearly tell that you are judged by the address you live at. The principal is stuck up for no reason and could care less about the children. Keep your children away from this school! The staff is nothing but Unorganized and stuck up individuals! Rude and mean!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This school is located off of Courthouse Road in Chesterfield, Virginia. Students Kindergarten through fifth grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

Our family has been at Gates for five years. We have been really pleased with the overall quality of education. For the most part, we loved all of our teachers. Even the ones that weren't exceptional were still good teachers. We have seen amazing improvements at the school in recent years and are especially impressed by the new Scholastic Book Room. Thank you to the PTA and everyone who made the Book Room possible! I've found that by treating the staff in the front office reasonably and respectfully, they warmed up to me rather quickly. Consequently, they are always helpful and pleasant when I go into the office.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2013

OB Gates has been an awesome experience for both my kids. The staff is very helpful and always has a smile on their face when I walk into the office. I cannot say enough about the teachers and how much my children have learned the past few years. Whenever I need information or when I need to speak with the teachers they are very accommodating for my busy schedule. Both my kids come home with all the information needed for me to know what is going on. I feel very confident that my children are in a very safe environment and that they are getting a high quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

Wow, my child came home last week and said my teacher told me to SHUT UP. What ever happened to be quite , please. There was another teacher in the room who reminded the teacher that she should not tell a student to shut up and she got very offensive with the other teacher. I asked my child what he/she was doing and the reply was I was humming while I was reading to myself . Apparently, none of the other kids complained nor the other teacher. Couldn't have been but so loud. If it was wrong, she could have said be quite. But no, it was a loud SHUT UP. What has happened to Gates. This is only one of a bunch of changes I have seen at O B Gates. I hate even visiting for a party or any programs that hey kids are involved at PTA meetings. I heard one parent complained and because they gave their name, that this parent is being treated very rudely whenever in the school. Maybe the staff, the principal and some of the teachers need to go back to the way it was when everyone loved Gates. A large amount of parents are fed up. I hope to either move or ask for a transfer for next year.


Posted March 28, 2012

O B Gates School has definitely changed. I agree that there is one office worker who sits out front in the office is very rude. I think the new principal is rude and is not effective at all. Going from assistant principal to principal has changed her completely. The teachers don't communicate with the parents as they should. It was once a truly exceptional school. Now I would not recommend to anyone. Whether you call to ask a question or go by the office, it appears that you are really bothering them and so the looks and rudeness begins. I agree that alot of people are lableled according to their address. Guess what the children are all children no matter were the parents live or work.


Posted March 17, 2012

I agree with the other parent not sure who is posting reviews but its not true parents. Awful school. Rude and disrespectful principal and office staff. They behave as though they are better than the rest. Horrible experiences with new principal. She abuses her power and she is not an advocate for students or parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2011

My grandson goes to Gates and it seems to be a good school with good teachers.


Posted January 10, 2011

low morale - poor leasdership-lack of comminication between staff and parents not a happy place- have witnessed teachers and aides verbally belittling students - what a disappointment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2010

I don't know who is posting these reviews. It must be staff due to the whole time my child has been there, the office staff has been rude and if you are not from the wealthier beach road areas, they look down on you. One office secretart never speaks to yo unless you are rich or friends with her. You go to the principal if you have problem, and she says she will address it but then make you feel like you are bothering her. I have spoken to several parents who have said the same things. My child's teachers have been great but two of the office staff need to be replaced and the principal needs to be reminded about what her job is. I am very disgusted by this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

After attending parent conference for both of my children, I know that the teachers are paying individual attention to my children. This is hard to do with so many students in each class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

Ms. Kirk, Ms. Beyer, Ms. Blackburn, Ms. Glynn, Mr. Runak, Ms. Foster, Ms. Woodcock - all are wonderful educators making a difference in our children's lives. Likewise, the office, janitorial and cafeteria staff members do a wonderful job and are integral to opening the doors each and every day. Thank You!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

The school and staff are wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2010

The best school in the U.S.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2010

Excellent School. Maintains a healthy environment for learning. The teachers are top notch. Very well organized and clean. My son loves his teacher and is very happy at O.B. Gates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

My child's teacher this year is organized, focused, and has vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

Mrs. Cundy's class rocks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

My son loves the teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2010

Mrs. McMillian's class rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

126 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students85%
Male students80%
Black students84%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students87%
Female students86%
Male students88%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students94%
Female students92%
Male students96%
Black students89%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students77%
Male students70%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students83%
Female students83%
Male students83%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students88%
Male students77%
Black students72%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students70%
Female students78%
Male students60%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students74%
Female students74%
Male students74%
Black students59%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students83%
Female students81%
Male students86%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities60%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10001 Courthouse Rd.
Chesterfield, VA 23832
Phone: (804) 768-6195

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Chesterfield Tech
Chesterfield, VA





Freedom Christian Academy
Chesterfield, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT