Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jacobs Road Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 674 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Extended care

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2014

My daughter has been attending since K and is now in 2 nd grade. She loves her school and is very proud if being a Jaguar. The only concern I have is with the new Principal, she joined in 2013, because she is very protective over the teachers and doesn't hold them accountable. She does not want parent feedback and will be rude and shun you if you try to approach her. This is reflective in the SOL scores which have dropped dramatically. I want to move ASAP now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

I have been thrilled with Jacobs Road so far. My daughter is in special education and my son is not. I work with students regarding positive behavior interventions and supports and it is clear that Jacobs knows all about supporting kids no matter what their behavior positively. Kudos to the principal as I have seen her in action with students in a variety of situations and she was wonderful! Love this school. Keep up the good work Jacobs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

We have had a wonderful experience at Jacobs road elementary. Great teachers and involvement in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

There are stats available at other sites too. Employer has moved us around, been involved in several school systems. Jacob's standards have been consistenly dropping. Not the worst nor the best by any means. Definitely geared towards the slower students and the "squeaky wheels" here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

Stellar School! The new principal is a wonderful addition to what was already a great school. We moved here from out of state last year and not only have the teachers and support staff made it an easy transition for my daughter, but the student body has been very welcoming as well. We love the accelerated classes available and the honor roll assembly celebrations. So pleased with our experience at Jacobs!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

Jacobs is very nurturing of young kids and have great support from teachers,PTA and support staff. We always get informed about activities in school. The PTA can only be as strong as their members so lets go pArents, lets extend our hand in d midst of our busy lives to support our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

My daughter is in 5th grade and has attended Jacobs since 1st grade and we absolutely love this school. They have some fabulous teachers who really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the attention this school has provided both our son and our family in general. Since we transisitioned from Private to Public directly to Jacobs in the 5th grade, we were of course nervous on how things would turn out. They are always keeping you informed of important dates and our son's teacher is absoutely wonderful!!! I would recommend Jacobs Elementary to any family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

Great school with a supportive staff and caring parents. There is some issues with bullying but unfortunately there isn't much the school can do when the parents of said students sit idly by and let their kids run amok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

I have had consistent problems with problems not being addressed with out of control bus activity. There is a huge anti-bullying campaign but there are problems with bullying: (physical as well as verbal) that wont be addressed despite complaints by numerous parents complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

I cannot believe everyone is getting so uptight over one review. If you realize there are issues and challenges, why are you complaining about the review? I only wrote the truth. Why not take that and implement changes. I do volunteer consistently because I do have two kids that attend the school. So everybody needs to calm down and learn to take constructive criticism and make changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

For the parent that commented about the PTA. The PTA is only as good as its volunteers. The reason the PTA has gotten somewhat disorganized is because we only have a few parents that actively support 750 children. The flyers about specific Box Top collections come home in the Wednesday folders. As is always stated, you can send them in any time, but deadlines are given based on the BTFE program. We try to implement new programs to raise money that do not cost the parents any additional monies. At the beginning of the year, a refrigerator sheet was sent home, with all the items we collect to raise money. If you contact anyone on the board, we will be MORE than glad to send home another one. If you would like to volunteer to fill one of the committee positions, we would love to have you. That way, you could take that committee and get it organized! Have you been to a PTA meeting to offer suggestions, comments or volunteer? If you haven't, that may be a good place to start to HELP make improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

Jacobs rd has the best teachers in VA! I have had 4 children attend Jacobs. You don't find dedicated teachers who know and love your kids the way Jacobs teachers do! The PTA is top knotch and put in numerous hours of hard work for the staff and students. Parent involvement has gotten harder over the years but the same great parents always step up to the plate!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

Wow!! I cannot believe some of the things I have read in previous posts. I believe Jacobs is a great school and have never had any issues with administration or teachers. Everyone has always been very welcoming, helpful, and accommodating. What I do have an issue with is parents that complain and do not contribute to the growth of the school or community. I am a parent that is actively involved with the PTA, JAA, and Cub Scouts. For some reason I see the same core group of parents involved in everyone of those activities. I find it hard to believe that if these other parents truly wanted to be involved or want to stimulate change or action you would see some new faces in these groups and you don't. I am well aware that we are all very busy people, and schedules can make attending meetings tough. But if you truly wanted to make a difference you would role your sleeves up and get in there with the rest of the individuals that dedicate their FREE time to assisting and mentoring YOUR children. A big thanks to those that have dedicated their time to the growth and education of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

MY FIRST YEAR AT JACOBS ELEM : This is my first year at Jacobs Elem, and as a parent who knows how much work is involved in the activities/events and dealing with different people and personalities, I am truly impressed by what I have seen at Jacobs Elem School. I have attended different events, volunteered in child s classroom, and field trips. There is a difference between constructive criticism and just being plain negative. My question to the previous posting referencing, "The PTA at Jacobs has really gotten worse over the past two years.They seem to be unorganized. .......", have you addressed this issue/concern at a PTA meeting? With anyone on the PTA Board? As other parents mentioned previously, instead of complaining, let s all make an effort to have the volunteer numbers increase, and work together as a TEAM. Any issues that I have had or having as a parent; I am addressing them with the proper individuals, and not posting it publically . We appreciate all the hard work everyone is doing. "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty. ~Winston Churchill
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Administration this year has really made the school go down to a one star. Rules that won't allow you to enter the school building once school is over, principals state they have contract hours and won't meet with parent 30 minutes after school gets out. Its a shame that the administration does not support the parents. VERY parent involved school and the administration does not support this. Will be very glad when my child is out of this school!! Used to recommend this school but new AP this year has been horrible and the last couple years the new admin has been rude and disrespectful to parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

My child is a 1st grader and her teacher is INCREDIBLE However, administration is not so much. NOT approachable at all to parents, demeans parents at meetings, and does not respect parents at all. was told by principal that the issues on the bus were not her problem as they were "nother buses". Took my daughter off bus and is now parent pick up and same principal complains that so many parents pick up their children. Teachers are great, administration has A LOT to work on...have considered homeschooling child JUST because of administration!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

FANTASTIC supportive dedicated staff!!!! 100% PTA participation year after year further demonstrates our school's unconditional support of both parents and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

Everything from the principals, teacher leadership, help with bullys, LD education is a joke. They stick their head in the sand and place the blame anywhere but on them. I have 2 kids who have been in school for years now and nothing has improved. My kids are unhappy and cry everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

I would just also like to add that the new leadership needs to regroup and focus. I was present at the new principles "parent focus-group meetings" held at the beginning of the year. All of the things they set out to do were not accomplished. I don't think the relationship b/w the principle and assistant principle is harmonious. this needs' to be the first thing to improve if this school is going to be a top school again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students76%
Male students74%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students70%
Female students67%
Male students74%
Black students52%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Science

All Students86%
Female students82%
Male students91%
Black students73%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students83%
Male students74%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial58%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students71%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial67%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students75%
Male students79%
Black students64%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial91%
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students93%
Male students73%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students74%
Female students81%
Male students69%
Black students68%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students87%
Female students84%
Male students89%
Black students81%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial82%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Myla Burgess

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8800 Jacobs Rd.
Chesterfield, VA 23832
Phone: (804) 674-1320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Richmond Christian School
Chesterfield, VA



Freedom Christian Academy
Chesterfield, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT