Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
197 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Andrew the Apostle School 5

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
Small student to teacher ratio (averaging 19 kids per class) gives both advanced students and non-traditional learners the one-on-one attention and opportunities they need to reach their full potential. The school fosters a caring environment which feels more like an extended-family. The award-winning teachers and staff mentor students to win state-wide competitions in Battle of the Books, Math Counts, and Robotics Club. Students at St. Andrews have a very high acceptance rate to prestigious high schools, where they continue to excel.

St. Andrew the Apostle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
The students are working years above grade level, yet there is such a stress-free environment. Effective teaching and fantastic students make this possible.


St. Andrew the Apostle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
St. Andrew's has a program of unmatched academic excellence. Students are gently guided toward this end, but teachers and other students work with students who work more slowly so that all students can succeed at their own pace.

St. Andrew the Apostle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 08, 2016
- a parent
The school feels like one big family. The older children look out for the younger ones in a way I've never before seen in a school. Older children are often paired with younger ones and students of all ages are grouped into "houses" where they work together on community projects. All the students in the school know and work together with all the other students. It's a very inclusive atmosphere.

St. Andrew the Apostle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Amazing, amazing school where all teachers assign grades honestly based on student merit, not on favoritism.


St. Andrew the Apostle School 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Amazing school! We transferred here from another private school and I am so happy we did. My child graduated St Andrews this past year, and it prepared her for all honors courses at an elite private school. The teachers, principal, administrators, fathers, and everyone in this community made us feel part of a big family. This is a school where the staff cares not about a paycheck, but about instilling a good education and values, and makes your child thrive in this environment. Of course, if there was a sports program, that would make put the icing on the cake, but I wouldn't change coming here for anything. This is a rare place where role models are the norm, not the exception.

St. Andrew the Apostle School 5

Posted May 11, 2014
- a parent
I have 8 kids ranging in age from 12 to 7 months old. Catholic School is very important to my family. I love that St. Andrew The Apostle School has a strong faith based education. The teachers each put the students first in everything they do. They are great role models besides teachers. The staff is very pleasant and helpful each day. Anytime you call the school you talk to a live person, not an automated voice. The Principal works each day to ensure that the school environment is a safe and productive place. The church Pastor and staff are very supportive of the school. I would not hesitate to recommend this school to anyone who values their faith and their child's education.

St. Andrew the Apostle School 5

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
After transferring from the local public school system to St. Andrews, our experience has been beyond positive. We are thrilled with the academics and are continually impressed by the faculty's ability to teach across curriculum. No learning opportunity is ignored. Student's happiness and well being are top priorities and the thoughtfulness of faculty and staff is felt by students and parents alike. The small environment has been wonderful at meeting each child's strengths and areas of concern. Safety was an important issue with us when we transferred and I feel confident in the school's ability to handle a crisis. I noticed an earlier review that stated students attend mass twice a week, but in the time that we have been there, mass is once a week. I'm thankful we were able to find this gem of a school.


St. Andrew the Apostle School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
I have two younger children at St. Andrew and I am a very happy parent. My children are thriving in this school due to the challenging curriculum, the dedicated staff and teachers, and the very loving environment. This is a small school (only one class per grade) where all the teachers and staff, even those that do not teach your child, will actually know your children, what grade they attend and their siblings. I love this. The older students have an almost sisterly/brotherly bond amongst classmates because they have grown together. Saint Andrew's students are very respectful and are taught to be kind. I volunteer often (which is very welcomed) and have yet to see one instance of bullying. There is a lot of parent involvement and a lot of wonderful families made us feel welcome. I highly recommend this wonderful school to anyone considering private education for their children.

St. Andrew the Apostle School 5

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
We selected St. Andrew s and couldn't be happier! After moving from out of state to Northern Virginia and looking at MANY schools, we chose St. Andrew s. We were looking for a greater academic challenge for our children as well as a safe, faith-filled and nurturing environment. At St. Andrew s we have found just that and more. From the moment we contacted the school, we felt welcome. Throughout the application process, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They worked around our traveling schedule to have the principal give us a personal school tour. During our tour, we experienced St. Andrew s first-hand and also learned that the school has a full-time nurse, which was very important to us. Today, our children attend St. Andrew s, and they are thriving. They are happy, and we are happy! They are receiving the personal attention we were looking for. Areas where they were already strong are even stronger and others that needed some improvement have improved beyond what we thought possible in such a short amount of time. Every school member faculty, staff, students and parents cares, and it shows. It feels great to be a part of St. Andrew s! We highly recommend it.

Nearby schools

St. Andrew the Apostle School
6720 B Union Mill Road, Clifton, VA  20124
(703) 817-1774
Last modified St. Andrew the Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top