Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
Through participation in the center based gifted program at this school my child has been challenged and absolutely pushed to be more persistent in their efforts. They also encourage these qualities in all students as even the kids who wouldn't normally receive recognition because they may not necessarily the top of the class have been rewarded for their persistence!!!

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
Fabulous counselor works with kids individually or in groups and great programs to help kids to develop these skills.


Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
They encourage the ROAR qualities in their students (they are the Lions) Respectful, Organized, Achieving, and Responsibility . They give awards out every nine weeks to students who display these qualities!!

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School 4

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter started at MCES this past year and we have had wonderful experiences at the school. The administration and staff are very caring and work so hard to help all the students all the time!! In fact, this year for the first time in a while... The school made the progress on its test scores as prescibed by the state and actuall exceeded the expectations!! (The school suffered a little bit in recent history but now has a fabulous staff who are doing great work) I see no reason for this school to be rated as low as this! The teachers are engaging and they are really working towards that strong community feeling. They give so much support to parents and students. We have had a wonderful experience! They are certainly on the rise!!!

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter started kindergarten at this school in 2012 and is wrapping up 2nd grade. Our son is finishing kindergarten this year at MCES. We have been extremely impressed by the teachers and administration and their passion for the students. They are frequently have special events and incentives for learning for the kids. We feel both of our children have received individualized attention to meet their academic needs. We have been impressed by how the teachers have uniquely challenged each of our children to grow academically. We understand the previous principal (before our children started) created some discord in the school and there were a lot of behavioral issues which had a negative impact on academics, but we have been nothing but thrilled with Mrs. Lenz, the current principal, and her approach and enthusiasm towards the students. She has been very responsive to any concern I have brought to her. At Kindergarten registration for both of my children, she was present and took their picture so she could have their name memorized by the time school began. She has called them by name ever since. The school was just on the news for celebrating their one million minutes of student reading challenge - where students were challenged to read outside of the classroom for a grand total of one million minutes and they exceeded their goal! I am so thankful that my children have a passion for learning because of the teachers and administration at MCES!


Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
I feel the homework is age appropriate and helps to reinforce what is learned in the classroom and also is helpful as a parent to know what they are doing in class.

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
All the teachers have been great to inspire a best effort from my children in regards to their coursework. They are encouraging but don't compromise the standard.

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
It is one of their core values _ ROAR (a lion is their mascot) = Responsible, Achieving, Organized, and Respectful. Students are recognized weekly by classroom and quarterly in awards assemblies for these qualities.


Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
They are very big on zero tolerance to bullying. All of the teachers my kids had were strong on caring for one another in the classroom.

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
We have been notified of any issues of dishonesty by our children by the teacher. Any dispute or issue (which is rare) between our children and other students in the classroom or on the bus was dealt with quickly and fairly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marguerite F Christian Elementary School
14801 Woods Edge Rd., Colonial Heights, VA  23834
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (804) 530-5733
Last modified Marguerite F Christian Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top