Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Lukes School

Private | PK-9 | 85 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Culpeper

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $772.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2012

St. Luke's offers the kind of positive attention students just don't get a a larger school. It is an important part of the regional educational community.


Posted July 27, 2010

St. Luke's is definitely a treasure in Culpeper community. For the Christian family who wants their child's education to invlolve critical thinking, hands-on activities, movement, creativity and a teacher who can teach to more than one learning style, then this is the best option in town. Your child can get the best education in a safe Christian environment. My experience with St. Luke's is that ther are happy to hear suggestions from parents and when appropriate will seek ways to implement them. Many other Christian schools are uninterested in making improvements. Thank you St. Luke's for providing an unduplicated, high-quality and FUN education for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Love and teachers who care are what you will receive at St. Luke's ! St. Luke's is a safe environment where students are able to grow and learn. What a treasure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

St. Luke's is the best kept secret in Culpeper. WE love the school. Our daughter is free to learn, no negative distractions. It is a small school with a big heart. The best teachers that any child or parent could hope for. We have been a part of this school for seven years and still love it. It is like family to us. There are alot of exciting things happening at St. Lukes each and every day. Our daughter has received the best education. Her foundation is strong and she will take this with her through all of her life's journies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I am the parent of a 3rd grader and a Junior Kindergartener. This is our fifth year at St. Luke's Lutheran School, and we could not be happier. The administration and faculty are open and caring. They want feedback from parents and are always available to answer any and all questions. My husband and I both feel that our children are getting an excellent education. We like the smaller class sizes, and the family feeling that the school has. Our children know that everyone here cares about them and wants only what is best for them. No place is perfect, but for our money, in this day and age, St. Luke's is pretty close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2008

My daughter attended St. Luke's from first through ninth grade and it was a wonderful experience. She is now teaching at the collegiate level and commented just last week on how much she appreciated all she got from her years at St. Luke's. She continues to have close contact with many of the faculty members and values the relationships that were fostered, especially in her middle school years. She says her abilities in writing and critical thinking came from her St. Luke's education. We valued the fact that St. Luke's saw our child as a unique individual. The faculty was a wonderful partner in helping us raise a daugther we are proud of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Do you want an education where you are expected drop your child at one door and then pick them up at another door with the Headmaster not wanting parents to come into the school without a specific purpose? Do you want to wonder what your child is accomplishing- because you better not ask questions of anyone or your child will be treated with differently? Then this is the place for you. As a past parent, I can assure you this school has problems. From unqualified teachers who teach the same children from year to year to a Headmaster who refused to listen to parents concerns, this school is no place for a child who is extremely bright or in need of special education services.This school seems to cater to the middle of the road children who would do okay at most any school.And be prepared to pay $$$$ for the extras!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2006

St. Luke's is an exceptional place for kids. The faculty really gets to know them in order to help them achieve to their ability. The extracurricular offerings (sports, drama, Lego league, etc.) help give the kids opportunities to be involved beyond academics. I feel very much a part of a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2005

The environment at St. Luke's is great. The children are valued for their individual talents, and encouraged every step of the way. The teaching staff is fantastic. We have two children there, one in elementary and one in the intermediate school, and are happy with both programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Evangelical lutheran church in america
Associations
  • ELEA
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1211 E Grandview Ave
Culpeper, VA 22701
Phone: (540) 825-8890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT