Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Dumfries, VA
Students enrolled: 724
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Montclair Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Every one of them has been personally selected by our principal to assure they will grow and thrive at our school. The teachers all care for the children and work very closely with the parents.

Montclair Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Depending on the personality of your child you may have different opinions. For a child who likes school this may be not enough. For those who's child gets frustrated easily and shuts off the minute they leave the school building this may be too much. Teachers are willing to work with special needs and home life difficulties. Time is often provided at school for the child to complete work that was not accomplished at home.


Montclair Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Students are encouraged to achieve and to help others to achieve as well. Achievements are recognized and friendly competition is encouraged. Our students like the taste of success.

Montclair Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
anti-bully programs are put in place and respect for all people and their abilities are utilized. Disrespect is addressed quickly and corrected. Respect is rewarded and praised.

Montclair Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Sharing, working together, community outreach programs, understanding and openness of other children's special needs all combine to make a very considerate school environment.


Montclair Elementary School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
My child has attended Montclair Elementary for 4 years and is beginning the 4th grade. We have had exemplary teachers. Any learning difficulties have been actively addressed and assistance provided when necessary. The Principal, Mrs. Tawnya Soltis is a hands on approach leader. The school has a very open arms atmosphere. Any behavioral issues or concerns were addressed privately and satisfactorily. A positive reinforcement and rewards system make this a very pleasant school to attend.

Montclair Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Any incidents are dealt with privately and immediately. Children are encouraged through positive reinforcement and a rewards system to exhibit good behavioral qualities.

Montclair Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2015
- a parent
My two daughters attend here and we couldn't be happier. Three years and 4 fantastic teachers. The principal has a knack for hiring the best teachers. There is a great volunteer base as well. The school is warm and welcoming and my girls have truly excelled. We love Montclair Elementary School!
1 person found this helpful


Montclair Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
My Two daugters love their school and all the teachers very nice The principal (Mrs Soltis), She remember all the name of student then parents too. this is awsome school in my area. Thanks for all the teachers and staff there.

Montclair Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
Montclair is a great school . The principal mrs. Solstice and the vice principal are so supportive and engaging!!! Everybody cares so much about the students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montclair Elementary School
4920 Tallowwood Dr, Dumfries, VA  22025
(703) 730-1072
Last modified Montclair Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Montclair Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top