Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Dumfries, VA
Students enrolled: 1,635
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Potomac High School 5

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
This school is a diamond in disguise. It's unfortunate the past reputation of this school perpetuates through the rumor mill. The principal shows great leadership and is regularly seen around the school and at after school activities (the same for many of the teachers and administrative staff). We are a military family and this was our teen's 1st year here (junior). Our teen is in the Cambridge program which has a very challenging curriculum and we feel our teen is very well prepared for any college. The class sizes are smaller and our teen has been treated and expected to perform as a college student. The counselors and administration have gone beyond the call of duty and have been very responsive to our concerns (prior credits/test scores, graduation requirements, etc) . The teachers are top notch, care about students' education, and are involved with supporting clubs & extra curricular activities; even concession stand duty for the booster club. It's unfortunate many parents aren't as involved; many work in the DC metro area and have long commutes and bad traffic). It appears the majority of the students come from working class homes where both parents work outside the home.

Potomac High School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Excellent facilities, great JROTC program, great classes, very clean, good teachers. The Principal plays an active role in all actitives. My daughter is happy, and I am happy. Great school!!!


Potomac High School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a parent
My son is a senior this year and his overall experience at Potomac has been great and the same was for my daughter who attended Potomac and now she is a sophomore at Virginia Tech. Being involved in many sport and other civic activities makes the difference. There are excellent teachers who volunteer for after school activities and go beyond their way to teach and support the students. The new Principal is on top of all activities, his enthusiasm has reflected in many aspects of the school. Another important thing is the parents' involvement which will make a difference in this or any other school.

Potomac High School 5

Posted February 19, 2014
- a teacher
Potomac is an excellent school with a diverse student body. The size of this school is one of its greatest strengths, and students get more attention than at other schools in the area.

Potomac High School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a teacher
Potomac is a extremely diverse school which offers great academics, athletics and community service. Many of our graduates have gone on to successful careers in academics, medicine, business and the military.


Potomac High School 4

Posted January 27, 2014
- a teacher
The late 90s early 00s reputation of Potomac is not only unfairly casting its shadow on the success of our school, it has blinded many to the statistical results we have achieved. Thanks to Prince William County's outdated specialty school programs, many families have sent their kids to the "bigger" neighboring high schools where they just become one of the crowd. What I see at Potomac is nothing short of amazing given our diversity and hamstrung budget capabilities thanks to the horrible site based management strategy still dominating from the previous old boy network of former supervisor Kelly. Watch out $$$ schools of PWCS. We are on our way to actually earn our academic success through the dedication of the greatest staff in PWC and the leadership of the best principal I have worked under during my 10 year tenure. The fifth star is the one we will always be striving for.

Potomac High School 4

Posted January 27, 2014
- a teacher
There have been major changes to this school in the past few years (for the better). Administration is becoming more consistent with student discipline. I think the staff would benefit from more team building as an entire staff. Overall a great place to work, good students and admin is working hard to support the teachers however they can.

Potomac High School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
We have been very pleased with Potomac HS. The new principal and recent renovations have made all the difference for the school and Students. The Principal attends all PTSO, student meeting and all school activities, The Cambridge Programme is a challenging program that prepares students for college much better than the traditional method of teaching. There are several new programs coming to the school. Pleased our son is a student here! Submitted by a parent


Potomac High School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
Great all around High School in Prince William County public school system. My son is now a Jr. who love the small room teacher to student ratio.

Potomac High School 5

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
Excellent facilities, great JROTC program, great advance classes, very clean, good teachers. The best HS in the county.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Potomac High School
3401 Panther Pride Drive, Dumfries, VA  22026
(703) 441-4200
Last modified Potomac High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Potomac High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top