Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Dumfries, VA
Students enrolled: 582
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
Absolutely love this school! We moved here 3 years ago. We were embraced immediately by the principal and the front office staff. Mrs. Rocco the front secretary is superb. Super nice, remembers everyone's name and so attentive. They took the time to place my children with the best teachers for them based on their individual needs. We have had the best teachers. My daughters attended Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grade here. The school has an excellent military support community and superb teachers. The school is always striving to better themselves and is a focus school for STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math). I can not say enough about the community this school has. The principal and teachers are always responsive and happy to help with any concerns you may have. My son has been receiving speech therapy at Henderson since he was 3, which has been a wonderful experience. The speech therapist genuinely cares for my son and his progress and has been able to help my son achieve tremendous growth! The school has a great parent volunteer source so teachers are well supported. Love this school!

A. Henderson Elementary School 2

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
It's hard to rate the school better than a two when there is so much drama surrounding this school. Every where you turn, moms are complaining about the school's principal and the negative environment. A rating of a "9" is only the test scores and not the culture of the school. While the academics are strong at Henderson, it lacks a positive environment for both the kids and the parents.


A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2014
- a parent
Excellent administration and staff with caring and supportive parent base. We are a military family and have been in several different school systems, none compare to the education and support that my child has received since attending Henderson. Their dedication to the kids and their advancement in the community is outstanding and the Principal, Ms. Bevans is truly there for the kids. She takes time to know each one of them by name and make them feel special. Ms. Rocco and Ms. Peterson in the front office are AMAZING and are truly one of a kind. The parent support that you will find at this school whether it is thru PTCO involvement, classroom volunteering, or just day to day at the school is unsurpassed. It is a pleasure to be a HUSKY!

A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
The Principal leads with excellence, and as a result every member of the staff strives for excellence too. The school has superb administration, dedicated teachers, special programs such as STEM, and good music, art, PE and drama programs too. Each child is given a chance to reach their potential and provided with the support they need to be the best they can be. Parent involvement is very high with they have many volunteers. The school is a happy, bright, fun place and I am very honored to have my daughter attend such as a prestigious establishment.
1 person found this helpful

A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This school has moved up the ratings ever since Mrs. Bevans became Principal. She is very good, thorough, knowledgeable, dedicated and a true professional. She is always looking at ways of improving and doing better and the students and teachers follow her example. The ESOL and reading programs are superb. I could not ask for better and I look forward to many more years at this school.
1 person found this helpful


A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2014
- a parent
Excellent administration and more excellence to come. Classrooms are engaging, excellent extra-curricular offerings, high quality performing and STEM program, there something for everyone! There's a place for every student and it's an exciting place to be! The faculty and staff feel more like a family, and much emphasis is given to the student. It's a smaller PWC school, so students are given more individual attention than they would receive in a larger school. The principal and teachers are VERY communicative, with very high standards for both students and staff. The parents are very involved with activities with a large volunteer and support to school...often you will find parents, grandparents and community volunteers. The staff can often be found given back to the community with varies programs. All around excellent school!!!!
1 person found this helpful

A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been a student at Henderson since kindergarten and she's now starting 4th grade. Her General Ed and Special Ed teachers have all been wonderful and she loves coming to school every day. Henderson has the excellent Olweus Bullying Program and she has never been bullied. SOL scores for Henderson have been outstanding and I've noticed the school's rating on this website has risen from 6 to 8 since the Principal, Mrs. Bevans, came to the school. She and the Assistant Principal, Mrs. Goddard, are super smart, friendly, innovative and strive to make Henderson the best school for all students.

A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
My child has gone to this school for 5 years, my only complaint is it's not a K-8. I don't want to say goodbye when my child goes to middle school. The support and care my child receives along with the positive learning enviroment is top notch! Thank you Henderson Elementary!


A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
We have enjoyed being a part of Henderson Elementary. Our 5th grade daughter has just blossomed. She loves school, her Teacher and friends. So we are thrilled with our choice to have her attend Henderson.

A. Henderson Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2013
- a community member
this school is an excellent school my youngest sibling is going here and he loved this school and teachers i would reccomend this school to anyone the only thing i do not like about it is some kids get bullied and not many teachers help that well

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

A. Henderson Elementary School
3799 Waterway Dr, Dumfries, VA  22025
(703) 670-2885
Last modified A. Henderson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
A. Henderson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top