Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Swans Creek Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 666 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 6, 2013

This is a great school my daaughter went to swans creek and now my son that is in 3rd grade, They both love it and learned lots. I really like the teachers and the administrative staff I got possitive feed back and support with any concern that I had. They really care for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

Both of my children went to this school for 6 years each, so I have 8 years of experience with this amazing school. The administration and staff are very caring, professional and responsive. The building is only 12 years old and recently went through an expansion and was updated with new technology. I absolutely love Swans Creek Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

I have had 3 of my 4 children go through Swans Creek. I love this school. They are professional and caring for their students. Most of the staff choose to stay at Swans Creek for many years due to loving working there. That says a lot. They have an awesome PTA and activities for the students and the community as a whole. I highly recommend this school. The administrative staff is awesome and they really care about the kids. You will not find a better school. They have also made YPT and even the VA Governor's Award for educational excellence in the past 4 years. This is really a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2013

My daughter spent 6 years at Swans Creek and I can't rave enough about this school! They are all professional from the staff in the office to all of the WONDERFUL teachers there! I thoroughly miss Swans Creek! Thank you for making the first 6 years of schooling for my daughter to be absolutely wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2013

This is a great school! My children are enjoying their classes, feel challenged and safe, and interact with a diverse population of peers. Teachers and administration are up to date on technology and encourage peer interaction. The office staff and administration is friendly and often seen encouraging and interacting with students and calling them by name. There are also many family activities throughout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

My child has been in Swans Creek Elementary school since she was in Kindergarten. She will be going into the 3rd grade this year. The principles have been nothing short of wonderful. Everytime I go to visit, I am greeted with a smile by most of the office. I was not too impressed with my daughters 2nd grade year, teacher wise. I only met her one time and that was for back to school night. I dont feel she really went out of her way to get to know her children's parent either. That is why I only gave 4 stars. I love the fact that the children have to do extra reading and math work every month that counts for a grade. Swans Creek helped to foster my child's love of learning. She loved going to school every day there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

We are a military family and we have 3 kids attending S.C. This is the 4th elementary school we have attended. I'm very impressed with the proactive teaching methods. Love that they have extra teachers that work with the homeroom teacher on math and reading, the school counseler and librarian are also active participants in the classroom. The art and music programs are really fun and they bring home great projects that belong in frames and not just on the fridge. The P.E. program teaches the kids about achieving a healthy lifetyle and getting them ready for physical tests that are required in higher grade levels. I do work with my kids on their school work and follow the teachers recommendations of extra home activities. "No child left behind" is a joint effort of parents and schools. I appreciate that they have programs to challenge the kids(they are in gifted program) even though there are different learning levels present in each class. Swans Creek supplies our kids a well rounded learning experience. When we have to move again we will all miss this school. We are having a great experience here and my kids love it. Family involvement in school life is critical,it works for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

I would not recommend anyone sending their child to this school. The staff is very rude and the principle and assistant principle should not be running any schools. They do not care about the welfare of your child education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The administration at Swan's Creek is very poor. Our child was threatened by another student and the incident involved a firearm and the school in my opinion took minimal disciplinary action. There are much better schools on the western part of the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I have had at least one child in this school since it opened. I've never had a problem with the Principal, the administration, or the office staff. In fact the Principal has been extremely professional every time I've ever seen or interacted with him. The PTA is very active, and has lots of events and extra activities that the kids love.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

this is very good school but we are not satified with principal be cause he was so roud some time he did not have good smile .and good behvear
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I have a third grader at Swans Creek this year. I think that there is alot of responsibility for the parents to make sure your child is up to date and doesn't fall behind, and for a working parent, it is sometimes difficult to balance. Don't get me wrong, I am all for parent interaction, but sometimes it makes you wonder if your child is getting anything at school. Also I don't see too much parent/teacher interaction aside from parent conferences. Who knows, it could just pertain to my situation only. On the up side, this school's safety program is the best I have seen, most of the teachers are wonderful and the office staff is so very helpful. All in all, I am pleased with the school but there is always room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2007

Swans Creek has some fantastic teachers! My child was in kindergarten with a new teacher last year and feel that it was the best fit for her. The administration is below average and doesnt treat people or teachers fairly. I would be very cautious when entering this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

I have 2 children at Swans Creek and have nothing but wonderful things to say about the school. My children's teachers have always been very supportive, attentive and communication has been excellent. Most teachers use weekly emails to communicate with the parents (usually a group email saying what the class has been up to and what the next week will hold). The PTA is very active and the social events that they put together are fun and successful, the kids have a great time. My children have had a couple issues with being 'bullied' a bit and the schools zero tolerance for bullying has quickly put those issues to an end. We haven't hit the older grades yet, when we do I'll resubmit a review... But I do hear that some teachers give out quite a bit of homework in the older grades. I'll let you know when we get there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

Swans Creek is an exceptional school with incredible opportunities. In addition to the great academic programs, they have an in-house gifted program and a very active PTA. The PTA sponsors many events as a service to the school and the community, including a annual after-school 8-week Enrichment Program providing classes for almost 200 students. The principal and vice principal are involved, approachable and welcoming. All the teachers have high standards and help the kids achieve those standards. The entire school does everything possible to help the students maintain high achievements. Swans Creek has earned the county's School of Excellence Award for several consecutive years. I must add the custodial staff and cafeteria staff are top notch too! I would highly recommend Swans Creek as the school of choice for Prince William County. Check it out, you won't be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2006

Swans Creek is a very good school. One of my kids has attended for over4 years. It can be very hard/demanding in some grades depending on the teacher. You can not ignore notes or interim reports that inform you on your childs progress or your child will be left behind. All teachers e-mail you. You Must Be Involved, it's your kid. Lots of activities-math club, enrichment classes etc. The school is very racially diverse. A great school. The office staff don't make the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

If a kid falls behind at this school beware. The teachers dont communicate effectively with the parents and if you are not in constant contact with the teacher you will not know how your child is doing until you actually receive a report card. It was like pulling teeth to have my childs teacher let me know what my kid is or not doing on a weekly basis. She felt that the child should be responsible enough to communicate what he or she was doing at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

Ihave two children going to Swans Creek. I have found the teachers are great. P.T.aA has great activities,and good envolment with parents. the office staff are rude and with the help of the principals they love to gossip. My problem lies with the principal doesn't stand at his word,stubbles on his words, and doesn't make decisions in a timely manner. I beg to differ 'no child is left behind' in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

My children had a good education at Swans Creek. It has a gifted program, full day kinder. Music program is very active, with choir option for 4th graders and up and band for 5th. Good art program also. Very active PTA providing extra curricular activities and many social events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

I think that Swans Creek offers a lot to it's students. It offers START and SYGNET programs. It has an after school Enrichement program offering classes taught by parent volunteers. There is an annual parent teacher softball game. They offer counseling groups. The older kids get to help the younger by being reading buddies. My son loves the school. Parent involvement could be better. It is usually the same parents at all the events.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

104 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students74%
Male students65%
Black students68%
Asian students43%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students62%
Female students55%
Male students69%
Black students53%
Asian students57%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient students61%
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students82%
Female students80%
Male students83%
Black students74%
Asian students80%
Hispanic82%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students64%
Female students62%
Male students66%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English61%

Math

All Students79%
Female students78%
Male students81%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students90%
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students69%
Black students65%
Asian students79%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial80%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English83%

English: Writing

All Students61%
Female students71%
Male students50%
Black students51%
Asian students64%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students51%
Proficient in English66%

Math

All Students81%
Female students84%
Male students77%
Black students73%
Asian students92%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial90%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English85%

Science

All Students79%
Female students85%
Male students72%
Black students75%
Asian students71%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial80%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students67%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17700 Wayside Dr
Dumfries, VA 22026
Phone: (703) 445-0930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT