Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Potomac Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1108 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

I have not had a good experience with this school. I have reached out to the school a few times on a simple request, yet no one has contacted me back. Overall, poor communication...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

To have the student who is in high school now right about this middle school shows you how much I loathe Potomac middle school. I went before the "change of command". Bullying was always present and there were gangs. The students heavily prejudiced and was absolutely ridiculous at the rate they had handout conduct referrals. These kids just didn't know how to act. Principal seem absolutely nonchalant about the school and the concerns of the students and parents. I hated this school. I do not recommend.


Posted May 23, 2013

Showing signs of little improvement since the first principal. My son went to this school and now my daughter. It was a new school when my son was there. Students were misbehaved back then...fights and drugs. Bullying was also present back then. Staff were rude and unfriendly. Discrimination was a big thing in this school starting from the former principal all the way to the students. Now, that there's a new principal and obviously my 2nd kid to go this school, I've seen a tiny improvement. It is better than none at all. Staff are friendlier and helpful. But, I believe they are under-staffed right now....no permanent nurse present. Some of the Kids are still unruly. Fights & drugs are still present. Teachers are okay, though. They always challenge their students academically. Something I like in this school. As for the new principal, she's more into looks and clothing. How the students dress up. Go figure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

This school has taken a nosedive since the "change of command" in administration. The teachers are not supported, the students are running the school, and a staff member told me there had been 24 fights already this year. I emailed the principal about a concern I had with my son's teacher and I was never responded to. When I called the school, the secretary put me through to the wrong teacher. I wish where I lived was in different boundaries. The teachers are the only bright spot in this school; each one I have encountered is amazing and goes over and beyond for every child, but they have way too many unnecessary things on their plate. I don't know how my child will get through the rest of this school year - and it's April!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

I just moved to Potomac Middle School from Irving Middle School about a month ago and I hate it. Some students and the teachers are nice but there is too much drama, drugs and other things involved. I have a very hard time fitting in and have been getting bad grades and I seem to miss a lot of school since I don't like it. I love the teachers but I don't like the school in general. I wish I could move back to WIMS!


Posted August 25, 2012

My son just completed his first year @ this school. considering we had just moved here from across the U.S. and he was starting 6th gr. he had a hard time adjusting, however during a quick conversation in the beginning by a chance encounter w/one of the asst. principals (Mr. King) I was put @ ease. He offered to help keep and eye out on my son, but withing a month he had adjusted and all was well. He had 10 teachers during the school year and all but one was excellent. The principal @ the time (Dr. Stephens) was great. She nipped any problems in the bud, very strict, but I never heard of any fights or bullying. Not to say that there were no incidents of kids trying to start "gangs" or hanging out in the restrooms trying to make it their hangout, but she stopped that nonsence quickly! I hope the new principal (Turner) can follow in her footsteps! The staff here is great, the teachers are tough though, they expect the students to start acting like young adults...with brains, which I am all for, though before I got to know them it was intimidating for both him & myself! Sometimes I felt the school was too strict but I prefer that than to be worried about my sons safety @ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Principal Alfie Turner has been "promoted" to be your Principal next year at Potomac Middle. Watch out. Parents should look at the reviews for Coles Elementary, Principal Turner's former school, in order to prepare themselves. She gruffly reprimanded me IN FRONT OF MY CHILD on one of the first days school during the 2011-2012 year because I didn't understand the procedure for picking up my kindergarten child. Another teacher told me she has a reputation for being very harsh and making teachers cry. Heads up Potomac Middle.


Posted June 8, 2012

As a teacher in this school, I can say that I have never taught in a better place. The staff is incredible and well-versed in their content areas, as well as the middle school child as a whole. The administration is incredible and supports the teachers any way they can, especially with discipline. Without the admin team, the students would be a completely different ballgame. I can say I am proud to be part of the staff where teachers, parents, and students work together as one.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2011

This school is so amazing I'm a six grade student here at potomac middle school and I love it the teachers are nice,and i love all the clubs and activities.....


Posted May 5, 2010

I believe, that Potomac Middle School is a great and safe school where young children learn. I believe that it is so amazing with all the clubs and activities the students are involved in and still get high test scores.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2010

Great school in regards to discipline. The principal does not tolerate foolishness nor does she bend the rules for anyone. Students are presented with the code of conduct policy at the beginning of the school year and are expected to follow it accordingly. I think some of the punishments are a bit harsh but the code of conduct rules are explained along with the consequences during the beginning of each school year. It's unfortunate that some students have difficulty going to school and following the rules (my student included). The academic test scores are above the state average for the 8th grade SOLs and they don't deviate that much from the state average for the 6th and 7th grade SOLs. Edulink allows you to stay in tune with your student(s) progress at any time along with contacting staff if you have any concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

My son has attended this school for 2 years now and I'm really pleased with the ease of communication with teachers via school fusion. So far he has no major complaints either......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

The administration is great but the students are not mature. My classmates get into trouble every day. The teachers need to be more discipline.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2009

I have never dealt with a more incompetent team of administrators. There is too much drama there and no real leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

This school is so much fun and education for anyone who would preferre to have there child to attend.The teachers are all nice and helpful with anyone and love to help u with any problem or conflict in the school.I love potomac Middle School,it rocks!=)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

This school is very bad at communication. It's like being in jail, especially when your parent has to argue with the school's office.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2009

My daughter attended 7th and 8th grade here. Overall I think the school was great and the Principal is outstanding and very communicative with parents. My daughter was well prepared for the advance level classes she now enjoys in high school and she took several advanced placement classes while here (spanish, advanced math and science). There were typical teenager issues, but I felt the principal and staff dealt with things accordingly. My daugher felt the school was too strict but that helped her stay focus on her goals and not get involved with the cliques that are common in middle school aged children. The one complaint I did have was some of the teachers made it obvious they only cared about 'collecting a pay check'. This is sad, but again, this view can be found in all industries, to include teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

The students are all treated like criminals by the administration. The Principal has no interest whatsoever in interacting with parents. The rest of the administration seems better, but the school would be better off with a less negative Principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

This school is really awesome i love to go here. but the only thing that i have a problem with is that there is too much chicken in the lunch menu. Other wise the school has excellent teachers and i really learn a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2008

After two years with Potomac I can honestly say they are a few very dedicated teachers my kids were lucky to have, but agree with the 'guilty to proven innocent' statement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

363 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students76%
Male students62%
Black students60%
Asian students80%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial85%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students66%
Female students69%
Male students62%
Black students58%
Asian students83%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial90%
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students76%
Male students68%
Black students63%
Asian students76%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial89%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students41%
Female students46%
Male students37%
Black students43%
Asian students39%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial55%
White students42%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficient students33%
Proficient in English43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students77%
Male students69%
Black students68%
Asian students88%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial95%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English78%

English: Writing

All Students79%
Female students83%
Male students74%
Black students75%
Asian students91%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial89%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities37%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students69%
Female students74%
Male students63%
Black students64%
Asian students90%
Hispanic64%
Multiracial89%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students75%
Female students74%
Male students76%
Black students69%
Asian students83%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial79%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students99%
Female students100%
Male students98%
Black students97%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English99%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Alfie L. Turner

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3130 Panther Pride Drive
Dumfries, VA 22026
Phone: (703) 221-4996

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rippon Middle School
Woodbridge, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT