Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
735 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

In response to the parent who posted on November 8, let the record show we love our military service families and our veterans! In fact, we began announcing the schedule change on March 4 of the previous year ( JP Weekly Update), and when Veteran's Day came around, we had special intentions at Mass, followed by a student-led assembly in tribute to our veterans. We also have a club on campus dedicated to supporting our military, and just last week more than 280 Christmas cards were signed by students during their lunch periods for delivery this coming weekend to a veteran's retirement home! Oh, and a group was at Arlington National Cemetery on Saturday morning to lay Christmas wreaths on tombs. - Of course, regardless of all we do here, we support family decisions and realize some may wish to celebrate together off-campus. These type of excused absences are completely supported by teachers and the administration. Our thanks to your family for being among those who have served and sacrificed for our country!
December 14, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
52 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 102 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School 5

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
An outstanding school on so many levels. The academics lead the way - Your student will be better prepared to succeed in college (and life). Academics, sports, the arts, and other extracurricular activities are plentiful and inclusive. It's a pleasure watching the staff, including the Dominican Sisters, interact with the students. The administration has fostered a very nurturing environment. Parents and younger siblings are made to feel welcome and included in the JP family. The student body is very diverse and hail from all the northern VA counties - There is a large military population and the school is VERY patriotic. A differentiator is the school's bio-ethics program where students (and parents) learn to understand many moral challenges society faces. School spirit is second-to-none with JP competing successfully in most major sports. JP has won several state championships in Track & Field and made the playoffs several times in football, basketball, lacrosse, soccer, and field hockey. And seven new turf athletic fields will make JP's sports complex the best facilities in northern Virginia in 2018. The football field and track received lights last year. The food is delicious and made fresh on-site by a professional chef and staff. Clean, safe and academically focused, Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School is a dream institution for parents. ~We have three students that have attended JP.

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Sister Mary Jordan, You are simply the best. You truly Sheppard our children and provided the positive attitude needed to run such a dynamic school. Best and God Bless You.


Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 06, 2016
- a parent
Fantastic culture that emphases honesty, integrity and fairness. It just seems to come natural for these students.

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
Assistant Principle for Student Life, Mr. Shawn McNaulty is Omni-present at the school and has been and continues to be a blessing to my kids. From almost their day of school until present they have had a leader and mentor available to them without hesitation who is also a father of current, past and certainly future John Paul student(s).

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
Across the board our experiences with the teachers at Saint John Paul the Great have been exceptional. These teachers are hear by choice, and many could be earning more at other Catholic schools or in the public system. They want to teach at John Paul. Some are a second career and many have graduate degrees. Our kids calculus teacher taught at the Naval Academy and another math teacher taught at West Point. Another teacher is a retired FBI agent and is teaching by choice and was selected by the students and staff as the best teacher in the school last year. The quality of the teaching far exceeds what we have seen in Prince William and Fairfax County schools.


Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
My kids have homework most every night. On occasion they have stayed up late. They are challenged and the AP courses are appropriately tough and the Bioethics curriculum is new and challenging especially in the light of popular culture. If there were less homework, I would be concerned. My kids have enough time to play year around sports and do community service and volunteer and even work a small amount and still complete their homework and chores.

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
Saint John Paul the Great is not an easy undertaking for all kids. The school is set up to challenge each student mentally, socially and physically. Most all students respond and it is seen in the students. This year more than a dozen students either received Military Academy appointments or full-ride ROTC scholarships and you don't do that without some level of self determination and a certain amount of persistence. The majority of the student body are driven and capable and seemingly the students feed off of each other as they grow in Christ and in an understanding of our Catholic faith which is so necessary to successfully enter the workforce or college.

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
From the top down, the leadership and teachers of Saint John Paul the Great is in tune with demonstrating respect in all things. My kids see this and respect the teachers and staff for it. And in turn my kids are showing themselves respectful to authority by willingly doing homework and by taking on extra projects and activities. My kids respect their high school experience without question and they respect the commitment shown by the school administration.


Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
My children are presented with the truth, often the hard truth, about the conditions today in our community, our country and our world. Saint John Paul the Great has helped develop out children into compassionate and caring young adults who display appropriate empathy at the appropriate times. The entire school leadership, and especially the Bioethics Program, are top notch and are preparing our children to become caring leaders with integrity. The teachers display this daily and the smaller classroom sizes fosters relationships and trust between our kids and their teachers.

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a parent
Without question Saint John Paul the Great has equipped our children with a Biblical, Catholic faith based understanding of honesty, integrity and fairness. This is easily seen and felt when at the school and when talking to the students and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School
17700 Dominican Dr, Dumfries, VA  22026
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 102 reviews. (703) 445-0300
Last modified Saint John Paul the Great Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top