Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silverbrook Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Mauro is a fantastic Kindergarten teacher. Fun, kind-hearted and truly devoted to her students.

Silverbrook Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
So far, we have loved all of the teachers that we have had. They work hard to develop coursework that challenges the students and helps them to grow.


Silverbrook Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
I don't think there should be any homework given to children under 4th grade so any homework is too much in my book.

Silverbrook Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The work is challenging in this school and the teachers encourage the children to work to their full potential.

Silverbrook Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has developed a high level of self respect, a respect of property and a respect for others while at Silverbrook


Silverbrook Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
There is zero tolerance for bullying at Silverbrook. Staff and teachers set an excellent example and work to encourage inclusion.

Silverbrook Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
The teachers encourage honesty, integrity and fairness and the school code follows those guidelines. They encourage students to meet and exceed the code with SOAR cards.

Silverbrook Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2016
- a parent
Silverbrook is a terrific school. The teachers are deeply committed and involved, frequently attending after school events and supporting the children. The PTO is wonderful and inviting and very active in the school. Every person that you meet at Silverbrook from the office staff, to the teachers, to the lunch room workers are friendly and inviting. The building is impeccably maintained and always spotless. The SACC before and after care is AMAZING!!!! If we pick my daughter up early, she begs to stay in SACC because of the fantastic activities that they provide. There are wonderful after school clubs (we loved Mad Science!). And the families in this area are so friendly and welcoming. We have met such great people through the school. It is very scholastically focused which is true of all of Fairfax County and the class sizes are large (also true in general for the higher income schools in Fairfax county) but the school manages the class sizes very well. We are so happy that our children attend Silverbrook and look forward to many years there.


Silverbrook Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a parent
Pros: Excellent advanced academic program. A wide variety of clubs and programs available. Teachers , administrators, parents and students all seem very engaged. Cons: The foreign language education is very limited (only Spanish and only offered once or twice a week, though they seem to be experimenting with how to implement this). Additionally, the advanced academic programs do not start until 3rd grade (this is Fairfax county-wide, not a Silverbrook specific issue). Overall quite happy with the school.

Silverbrook Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
We've had a good experience with Silverbrook. My 2nd grader has had a string of truly outstanding teachers. My older son attended for 5th & 6th grade. His teachers ranged from average to very good, and the average one transferred. Our school bus drivers have been fantastic: safe, alert, friendly, reliable. The building is friendly but safety-minded. There are a variety of activities sponsored by the PTA. I've been very satisfied with communication.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silverbrook Elementary School
9350 Crosspointe Dr, Fairfax Station, VA  22039
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (703) 690-5100
Last modified Silverbrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top