Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Merritt Academy

Private | PK-6 | 125 students

We are best known for Character Education program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Fairfax

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $398,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,640.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2011

My son has been at Merritt for almost three year in the preschool program. His teachers have been excellent every year. The administration is open and available to talk whenever I have had a question or issue. During the winter season they are usually open when county is closed so I don't have to miss work. I couldn't be more pleased with the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2010

My daughter attends Merritt and has been in the school for 1 year. While she's only 2 1/2 years old the amount of knowledge she's gained this past year is amazing. The younger students aren't in the typical daycare setting, it's actual school and she loves it. The faculty and staff are friendly and truly care about student achievement and the overall academic environment. Weekly newsletters keep you informed of all that happens in the school and the active PTO makes the school so much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

We have two daughters at Merritt Academy; both our girls and us love the teachers and the administration. Any problems that have cropped up are addressed professionally and efficiently by the administration. I highly recommend Merritt -- especially the infant / preschool programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

We are very satisfied. Our daughters have been attending Merritt for eight years. It has been an outstandingly rewarding experience for the entire family. Merritt provides a well-rounded academic and character education. Our daughters are thriving and very happy due to a combined team of professionals at Merritt who partner with us as parents. Our children have performed very well on the IOWA, SCAT and SBT tests. We attribute these successes in large part to the valuable Merritt education. Our children love school and have developed into very confident, caring, and respectful individuals. The values taught, demonstrated, and built into the core of all aspects of the school are unique and priceless. Merritt has many special programs and milestones at each developmental stage. The intergenerational program is very unique and not provided anywhere else. The arts are a wonderful part of the school. Merritt provides a well-rounded, affordable education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

I have two children at Merritt who have been going to this school for 4 years now. We are very happy with this school: academically (both children rate much higher than the national average according to the IOWA test performed annually and one of them is in the honor's reading program) and socially, both kids have great friends and are constantly involved in different challenging activities. The school listens to the parents' concerns and is very open to any ideas or suggestions. I recommend this school to any parents who want a quality education without paying the exhorbitant tuition seen at other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

Merritt has been a wonderful, enriching experience for my son. He has been able to grow socially, developmentally and intellectually since K4 and he is now in 4th grade. You have direct access to the leaders of the school and the teachers really care about your child as if they were their own. They are also very aware of food allergies which alleviates worries for parents. Merritt is a great place and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great, positive and academically challenging school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

Merritt Academy has provided a wonderful learning environment for its students. My son has attended Merritt for two years. Through several school-wide transitions, the children seem to be a priority in every area. As in most private schools, there are many of my peers (parents) who think that because they PAY for tuition, that they should have have their way! This is an unrealistic expectation and frankly is a problem. Those who have something negative to say are those parents who want their children to be treated differently or special, although all of the children are special. It's unbelievable that people can ignore the phenomenal education that children are receiving and can so easily focus on the negative. We will remain at Merritt and look forward to more and more experiences that our child can treasure throughout his life, like the ones that he has had thus far!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

Merritt went through rough times a few years back, but I feel it has made a strong comeback. It is a good value. Merritt has an excellent team of middle school teachers in place and I think that both the new director and the principal are doing a great job. Unlike public junior high schools, there is no marijuana at Merritt and the school is bully-free. Although Merritt has very small enrollment, they don't allow bullies to return the following year (even if the bully has 3 younger siblings). Merritt is also a great place to be a big fish in a small pond. My daughter (a very good soccer player) was a great soccer player at Merritt. Only playing for Meritt could she have scored 7 goals in a game. Merritt has been great for my children's self-esteem and the small classes are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I love my school so much. I've been going there for about 7 years and will continue until I graduate. It focuses on character and academics mostly and I get lots of education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2009

Potential parents beware!!! As a former Merritt student parent, I would strongly urge you to do your homework before sending your grade school child (ren) there. I would agree with other comments posted that the Preschool program is good but the grade school is another story. Lack of communication, poor administration, no stability with teachers, and not enough students. The decisions made by the administrators don't seem to be in the best interests of 'ALL' students. The focus is no longer on students and families which the school prides itself on. For a school of character I don't feel as the actions/decisions support the mission.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

I have four children and 3 goes to Merritt Academy. We pay too much for the academic learning they got. We decided not to continue with Merritt; due to the poor adminstration and their poor quality of their academic standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

My child is in pre-school. He has academically developed so much ever since he started going to this school. The teachers work very hard with every kid in his classroom, even the problematic child and are not afraid of giving the parents their honest opinions even if they are bad news to parents. They strictly follow their set lesson plans and yet give the kids enough time to play, and teachers show affections to every kid. I really appreciate their honesty and their effort to guide my kid to grow into a well-mannered and well-educated person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

Merritt Academy has an excellent academic experience and is doing much to respond to parents needs -- but you never make everyone happy. For example, Merritt groups readers in different categories, the best readers together, the medium readers together, etc. Parents complained that the kids in the slower reading group felt 'bad'. These types of issues vex school administrators. I personally send my child to private school to excel -- and she currently scores two grades ahead in the VA state testing and on her Iowas. That's what I'm paying for. I'm also paying for a nurturing environment with positive discipline, attentive teachers and a responsive administration. It's a small school and they seem to be responding very well to me on these issues. My daughter is happy, doesn't want to leave school and is achieving great things. She has great friends and she is in great hands every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

Our child, a first grader, has attended Merritt since she was two. The pre-school is top-notch, most of the teachers have been there for years, they're very good. Kindergarten, and so far first grade, are equally well-recommended, and we've been very pleased with our child's development. I'd favorably compare her education with our public school, as well as the nearby private options, nearly all of which are significantly more expensive. The grade school has seen some problems with staffing and some boneheaded decisions by the administration. But, at this point, at least through the fifth grade, that seems to have settled down and the school is in a good groove. Perhaps its a sign of the times, but the administration is definitely working hard with parents, moreso that prior years. We've known several parents who tried other options and came back. Most of all, my daughter is happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

Our two children attended Merritt Academy for many years. Unfortunately, we echo the comments posted on September 9th, 2008. They are exactly correct. We have removed our children from the school. The school administration has evolved over the last several years from excellent to nearly dysfunctional. Parents have engaged in open dialogue with the administration to address the major issues, but neither the principal nor the senior staff are willing to correct the school's shortcomings. Until these individuals are replaced, I would recommend to prospective parents that they look elsewhere for their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

With the change in leadership at the beginning of the 2007-2008 school year Merritt had real problems both academically and environmentally. Teachers were changed in the middle of the year, sometimes without warning, and in one case students were not allowed to say goodbye to their teacher, causing confusion and fear . The school has hired inexperienced young teachers and failed to provide the mentoring to teach them how to control a classroom and teach effectively. Teachers resort to yelling at children. Academics past second grade have been weak, failing to prepare students even to go to the public school classroom. Teachers are moved from grade to grade rather than being dismissed. OK for Kindergarten through second grade, but not higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

Poor experience, high teacher turn over and administration turnover. My son would be entering the 6th grade and each teacher from pre-k through the 3rd grade are no longer with the school. They are on their 3rd principle in 6 years. Only 11% of the staff have advanced degrees and teachers like to yell togain control of a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2006

Our son has had a wonderful K4 and Kindergarten experience, both academically and socially. As a parent I am especially delighted by the early curriculum in reading and written language. The printing demands for a 4 year old in K4 were developmentally advanced, especially for a boy. His teachers have all been fabulous and incredibly dedicated. The new program presented by the guidance counselor teaches empathy and helps children to express their own feelings. It is a wonderful new addition to the curriculum. Merritt Academy has given my son an outstanding foundation for continued love of learning. Thank you to the Merritt staff and Merritt Academy's wonderfully supportive and dedicated families!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Italian
Korean
Russian
Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carol Edelstein, Executive Director
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (703) 591-1431

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • :imited bus transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Cooking club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French
  • Girls on the run
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Merritt Academy blends rigorous academics with a Nationally-recognized character education program, nuturing the whole student. Our school is built upon three pillars: Academic Excellence – We provide a challenging academic program to all our students Character Education – We emphasize Christian-based values throughout our school to help build character in all our students Service to Families – We are committed to serving our families, earning their trust by being responsive, flexible, and supportive
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$19000 - $19000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9211 Arlington Boulevard
Fairfax, VA 22031
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 273-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Appletree School
Fairfax, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT