Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

43 reviews of this school


Merritt Academy 5

Posted May 17, 2015
- a parent
The exsperience ever! We love so much Merritt Academy and all teachers team, we will miss so much this scool. Thank you so much Merrit

Merritt Academy 5

Posted May 16, 2015
- a parent
Theachers are dedicated, well educated, responsive to parents questions. Our daughter felt happy and welcomed from the first day. Merritt provides an exceptional education


Merritt Academy 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
Merritt is always evolving and stay ahead of the curve in their curriculum. Kindergarten-6th: They stand out from other private schools because of the amount exposure they give to children through their STEM initiative, community awareness (through senior home visits and a plethora of field trip opportunity [at least 5-6 per year]), special celebrations throughout the year that support their academics called Hallmarks. Preschool: Is the very well run and organized. Although the previous Director left, the new Directors are supportive and ready to help families. The teachers appear happy and content with their jobs. The program is so focused on the children's best interest. My children never want to leave! It has been a great experience. I would recommend this school to any family. It is a place where children can grow up in through middle school years.

Merritt Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2015
- a teacher
Hello- I wanted to briefly address some of the concerns raised in the March 31, 2015 review. Regarding the qualifications of our staff, Merritt Academy strictly meets or exceeds state regulations for preschool teachers, and every member of our elementary/middle school faculty holds a BA, with many holding a MA degree as well. Our average class size in our K-6 classrooms is 13 students, which is well below FCPS's reported average class sizes for 2014-15 of between 21.8 and 23.1. Our preschool classes are staffed at or below the required student to teacher ratios for the Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS). Our Administrators, including our Executive Director, Preschool Co-Directors and School Principal all maintain an open-door policy, where we seek to address parent questions, comments or concerns in a timely and complete manner, and to partner with parents in seeking resolution. We welcome the opportunity to answer any questions you may have and look forward to sharing our school with you and your family. Sincerely, Amy Pernick Director of Admissions amyp@merrittacademy.org

Merritt Academy 1

Posted March 31, 2015
- a parent
If you are looking for poor administration, high turnover, unqualified teachers, this is it. Good teachers are gone. Period. Classroom are getting bigger due to mid year enrollments. If the class size is same as public school, what's the point??


Merritt Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
As a new Merritt Academy family, the teachers and administrators have gone above and beyond to help me and my child feel comfortable and welcomed from the day we registered. Each morning when I drop him off, I feel completely secure in knowing that he will be well cared for, and engaged in fun, stimulating activities far beyond what I am able to offer at home. I also appreciate the detailed communications and photos that his classroom teacher posts, which help me stay "in the loop." One of the things I most appreciate about the school is the sense of community that is fostered here- everyone already knows my child and says "hi" when I walk him onto campus every morning, he has already bonded with his teachers and the administrators were accessible and helpful when I had a question. I am so grateful to have found a school that feels like home, and I look forward to a great year, and hopefully many more!

Merritt Academy 1

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
We saw tremendous racial bias against minority students and that's not something we expected from a elementary school. Disturbingly, 99% of the teachers (and principal) pay more attention to Caucasian students and even favoritism in the classroom and stage performances. If you are a minority and do not planning to speak up (if you do, they don't like it, and will avoid you in the hall way), you don't belong here. Find a school in somewhere, where you will be treated fairly. We needed to pull out our son and put in another school. Now, he is very happy and treated same as everybody else. By the way, Executive Director is full of herself.

Merritt Academy 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a community member
Our granddaughter has attended Merritt for two years although she is only five years old she is in the first grade Merritt offers a challenging curriculum and a gifted program that they tailor to fit the students needs and capabilities Their teachers are dedicated ,well educated and responsive to parents and even grandparents inquires and concerns. Merritt offers numerous clubs and activities such as chess, music ,dance ,foreign language,art and basketball to name only a few . In short Merritt provides a exceptional education .


Merritt Academy 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
BIG MISTAKE!!! I am very disappointed with the parking arrangement. They should do something to improve this area. All parents need to go to work after dropping off their children. Parking should be easy for them. I am not sure if I want to continue here. I can't be late for work everyday.

Merritt Academy 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
PARKING is the worst thing I am dealing with here. I am a new parent to this school and I did not know parking is that hectic. If I knew it before, I would not enroll my child for sure. They said "quick pick-up", but not that quick. Cars are line up and taking forever. Quick-drop-off?? Funny thing. If you are early (08:25??) they direct the child to go to playground which is up on the hill and need to take stairs. They are not allowed to go to classroom until 8:30. Children are on their own to go to play ground or go to the classroom by themselves. Not personally accompanied by a teacher. Young kids should be accompanied by someone. My daughter is not familiar with school campus and doesn't know how to enter the code to open the doors. I need to park illegally on the street and walk (about one block) my DD to classroom to make sure she is safe. I can't imagine in winter time walking one block and leave my child at playground (she hates cold and easily get sick). I wish they allow children to stay in the classroom if they do not want to go to playground.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Merritt Academy
9211 Arlington Boulevard, Fairfax, VA  22031
(703) 273-8000
Last modified Merritt Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Merritt Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top