Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daniels Run Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 770 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

The teachers, staff, and administrators are excellent . They really care for the students and have best intentions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2014

As a military family, we chose Northern Virginia among many options due to the reputation of the schools. DRES absolutely met our expectations. Our son attended 4th & 5th grade ('11-'13) & felt like one of the long-tenured members of the community from his first day. The Administration, Faculty, Staff and Parents have an excellent working relationship. While I can't speak for every family, we felt like our son was in a nurturing environment where he could grow as a student and as a person. His 5th grade teacher- who was very new - did an AMAZING job looking after him during my deployment, keeping us informed of how he was doing when mom and dad weren't around. The breadth and depth of academic and extra-circular activities are remarkable, and we are thankful to have had the opportunity to be part of the DRES community. Our only complaint is that there isn't an option for after-school programs on Mondays, which is a problem for working parents because school lets out very early on Monday. Fortunately we had enough flexibility in our schedules to account for this, but it is something of which you should be aware if your are moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

My daughter just finished her first year as a Fourth Grader at Daniels Run. She immediately felt like she was part of the community. The new administration this year was great. The Principal and Assistant Principal quickly learned student's names, dressed up crazy for spirit days, and were committed to helping each student learn. The teachers are a caring team who work together to make things happen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

My son has attended Daniels Run since 2008. He's loved this school from the moment he stepped through the doors. He's had excellent teachers, a wonderful supportive staff, and everyone treats him well. All of the teachers at Daniels Run are amazing, and that includes all the resource teachers (Physical Education, Art, Languages). The staff in the office is welcoming and helpful. They go out of their way to make things work. The Principal and Vice Principal are innovative and engaged. They stress student involvement, parent involvement, and responsibility. I was lucky to move into an area that gave my child such a wonderful start to his education. I'm a proud DRE parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2013

I really had a bad experience with my oldest son, a lot of issues, he was attending this school x3 years it was awful they used to call me every single day complaining about my child, last time I had a meeting they wanted me to take my child to evaluate him for ADHD of course as apparent was so bad I decided to move my two kids to other school St Leo is the Great school Religion Math and Science are better I'm really doing something fabulous, they are happy they feel safe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

My daughter has attended Daniels Run since 2008. During that time, she has received the first-class education afforded by Fairfax County Public Schools in a state of the art building that is owned and maintained by the City of Fairfax. The office staff is exceptional. Although DR is a larger school, I have always felt welcome and included as a parent. The leadership is forward-thinking. This year they launched a blog and a facebook page. Our daughter was offered a space in the GT program at Mosby Woods, but she refused to leave her school. All school events are highly attended--from International Night to the Fall Ball, parents are involved and supportive. DR is a great community of learning and friendship!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2012

My daughter is currently attending Daniel Run Elementary. The teachers are wonderful. The teachers are well-organized, pro-active and excellent in communicating up-to-date information with the parents. The administrative staff are also very knowledgeable and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

My son attended Daniels Run K-4 ... overall, we had a positive experience and absolutely loved the teachers. We struggled with 4th grade, as the teacher was new and inexperienced. We were fortunate, however, that the new teacher's mentor teacher was my son's amazing 3rd grade teacher! We made the hard decision to leave DRE, as my son was accepted into the AAP program for 5th & 6th. DRE is a beautiful school, updated, always very clean. The teachers care about their students and take the time to follow up with parents with areas of concern. We couldn't have been happier and Daniels Run! Well run school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Great school, and great Principal. The Principal ,Mrs.M. is so patient and organized. She really knows what she's doing. The school runs so smoothly and everyone is so happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My child attended this school from K-5th grade. We were honestly not happy with the school, the teachers and the amount of attention given to students to help them learn and excel. My child struggled with math and history the entire time. The teacher's solution was to always say they need to work more at home. My child is now attending another school in the same county, which has much higher test scores, and is already comprehending more. It was very frustrating to speak with the teachers and explain that your child is struggling, and then to be told they must do more at home. They need to focus more in class so the children are able to comprehend and complete the homework assignments without so much stress and frustration. I would also like to see more communication between teachers and parents when a child is obviously struggling in a subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

An overall wonderful school with caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

WoW!! What an amazing school. We move around so much and usually stick with a private school. After 2years of private I finally made the switch and what a huge difference. Both my kids are doing so well. They have become more confident and can't wait to get to school the next day. This school is also part of Bayscaping Project which is amazing when you listen to your forth grader explain it. We are going on our second year and it's great going into a school where you actually feel welcomed. If you are active in your child's education, trust me this is one school you will LOVE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2004

Daniels Run Elementary is a wonderful school. The teachers are very involved with the students and the parents. Parents are always welcomed to be involved in most of the school activities. And the school has a very good curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students63%
Female students64%
Male students63%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities80%
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students52%
Female students52%
Male students51%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficient students29%
Proficient in English69%

Science

All Students93%
Female students89%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students77%
Male students66%
Black students90%
Asian students54%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students62%
Female students66%
Male students58%
Black students70%
Asian students69%
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient students41%
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students82%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students83%
Female students91%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students88%
Female students94%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students73%
Female students75%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students82%
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students86%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students80%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students81%
Female students83%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3705 Old Lee Hwy
Fairfax, VA 22030
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 279-8400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Appletree School
Fairfax, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT