Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Providence Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 927 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2014

The school is awesome, great staff , the teacher are so helpful , my son takes classes in special education and general , booths are great. I don't have complaint at all, my kids loves the teacher and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2014

PES has proven to be a blessing. The administration, teachers, and parents are all extremely involved as a team to ensure their students success. No complaints at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2014

I have lots of positive comments, that can be shared by other reviewers. PES is a fantastic school as it challenges the students daily, and works well to encourage parents involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

We are extremely fond of the teachers here. Many of the positives have already been listed out. Highly recommend!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

I've found the academics and social aspects of this school to have a very fair balance to keep kids motivated and craving to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

This is also my daughters first year at Providence, and let me tell you it has change our lives! We love this school in any aspect, teachers and staff are the most nicest people can meet. Last year we had a terrible time at Braddock in Annandale, this year my daughter is so happy that she doesn't want to come home! Most of all, she calles her teacher "a pretty angel" and she is loving the learning time and loves her friends. They are great with children with disabilites, they really do care for the walfere of our children! I hope to have many more years of peace of mind. And to watch my child to go to school happy, and ready to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2013

This is my son's first year at Providence, and he is having a terrific experience. His teacher is a lovely person, first and foremost, and she finds new ways to challenge him every week. He has made great friends, and the kids seem to be respectful and happy. The PTA sponsors fun family events, and parents seem to be very involved. We love Providence so far, and have nothing but good things to say about the principal. He has been available several times when we needed to talk, and my son tells me that he visits his classes all the time. For what it is worth, my kid hasn't had a day out of school for illness all year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

Worst school ever!!! We will be done with PES after Kindergarten. Our teacher was good this year, but the administration is abysmal at best. Our child had bronchitis, strep, lice and every cold virus you could possibly get in a two month period at this place and by the end of the 1st semester we were being harassed over absences. Get a clue folks, if you force sick kids to come to school then EVERYONE gets sick. This has cost me a ton of lost time at work and worst , our child now hates school because she is miserably sick on an almost daily basis. If you can afford it, check out one of the wonderful private or parochial schools in the area. That's what we'll be doing next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

This school has been perfect for both of my kids with very different situations. I pulled my boys out of private school after 3 years there. My older son (4th) has difficulties with attention, anxiety and staying on task. My younger son was shy and not reading at all when he started K there. They worked with me and came up with many tools to help my son and truly made us feel like his success was important to them (not just by words, but actions and accommodations). From the teacher to the administration, they have all been amazing. Both of my older son's teachers have Master's degrees and patience, a great combo. My younger son has blossomed. Not only is he very social, he's adding, subtracting and reading on his own. His progress was astounding and tells me everyday that he has the nicest teacher in the world. Additionally, any concerns I've had along the way were addressed immediately. We haven't had any problems with other students either. They are very kind and help each other, which is encouraged. So glad we switched, the anxiety was relieved in just weeks of attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

Even though my daughter was a kindergartner in this school for just one semester (then we moved), I really think this is a great school. The teachers are kind and helpful. They have a lot of activity to get parents involved. They send me their monthly publication to keep me updated for their events (They do have a lot of events). As a kindergartner, no graded homework. But my daughter took home a "homework" every Tuesday and turned it in every Friday. It's a fun place for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

We have four children enrolled at Providence & I am most impressed by the teachers. They are well-educated, enthusiastic & approachable. They clearly reflect the attitude of the school's principal, Jesse Kraft. He's a shining star! He's very out-going & works hard. We're very pleased with Providence. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

It is a such a nice school. Priciple has lot of energy. Teaching staff and office staff are so cooperative. My both kids are going in the school. Yes, rating is not good but I don't have any complain about study.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I have lots of positive comments, that most of reviewer has already spoke about. Two very important point that I want to mention (already been said in prior reviews), is that, they really do not challange their student curriculum wise, thay do not give enough home works, I have compared home works with other ES , same grade, PES has a very low grade. The second aspect is that majority of their office staff are rude. Few of them are exceptionaly good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Providence has provided both of our children an excellent eduction! The teaching staff along with the support and admin staff has always been extremely helpful and willing to do whatever is necessary to ensure a positive environment. We count ourselves lucky to have such an open, positive and community oriented school in our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I came from Singapore, and have stayed at Fairfax for only six months. From what we have experienced in the last 6 months, we want to say that this is a great school, and the teachers are very caring and inspiring. Thanks for all your hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

Great teachers and great resources as far as arts, reading, special education. My only complaint is the office staff- they are often rude and not friendly or helpful. The principal is fabulous but her administrative staff in the office could use a crash course in good customer service. This has been my only complaint for the 3 years that my child has attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

I have lived in many places. This is the first school that has taken my three children at their individual levels and challenged them where they are at. My first grader was doing 3rd grade work! The teachers and principle are extremely responsive and wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

Providence Elementary is a terrific school. The staff is very warm with all the children and supportive of fun get-together events throughout the year. The principal is very responsive to parent needs and concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

The teachers were great--helpful and supportive. Great PTA. My only concern is that my 6th grader was not challenged enough as far as the curriculum was concerned. Administration was difficult to contact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

Wonderful school with low pupil teacher ratio. Hard working principal and staff. Many extra teachers for specialize instruction. Full day kindergarten with full time aide. Low ratio first grade. New building with fabulous learning labs.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students74%
Female students78%
Male students70%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students69%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities63%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students70%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students63%
Female students54%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students69%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students90%
Female students92%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students67%
Female students72%
Male students62%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students71%
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities41%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students69%
Female students67%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students64%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students77%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students39%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students78%
Female students80%
Male students75%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students71%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students71%
Female students71%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students75%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students76%
Female students80%
Male students73%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English84%

Science

All Students71%
Female students69%
Male students72%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students49%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students83%
Male students87%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students57%
Proficient in English93%

Math

All Students91%
Female students85%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jesse Kraft

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3616 Jermantown Rd
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 460-4400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT