Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Good Shepherd Christian Academy & Little Flock Preschool

Private | PK-2 | 146 students

We are best known for accelerated reading program.

 
 

Living in Fairfax

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $418,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

My son is in the new K2 program which I am completely impressed by. The teacher is amazing and very kind and warm. My son comes home telling me the bible stories that he learned through out that week. He now knows all his shapes, colors, alphabets and numbers with recognition. He also can color within the lines, trace letters and numbers. I saw a tremendous improvement in his development since day 1 of school. He also knows 1-10 and all the colors in Arabic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

My daughter is a 6th grade homeschool student. She comes in to take several electives and 6th grade English class daily. The teachers are terrific. They consistently show that they love teaching and that they care for the kids. My daughter has been able to attend several field trips and events as well. She has been included and welcomed into her class and we are thankful for the school and staff's flexibility and support. The students I've seen always seem happy and enthusiastic about attending GSCA. This is a great school offering a safe learning environment for all students. Also, the academics are solid. This includes the foreign language classes. My daughter has learned many things in her Spanish class that my older daughter (a 9th grader in HS Spanish 1) has not learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

My children have been at this school for some time now. I have seen many changes that were great and some, not so great. They are very friendly and kind. Nice warm atmosphere for my children. My concern is the training of the teachers as students leave preschool, and leadership of the principal- she seems like a figure head. The program is challenging which is a plus and my children are doing very well academically. I am bothered that anyone can come in without proper training/schooling and be called a "teacher". Very bizarre.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

EXCELLENT SCHOOL and BRILLIANT STAFF! My daughter has been with Little Flock Christian since the 1st grade. The caliber of teachers is phenomenal and the curriculum is fantastic. I've changed jobs and commute from Maryland just so my child can attend this school. This should speak volumes to every parent considering a school. If that doesn't do it my child was studying for the spelling bee and I solicited an older cousin to assist. She couldn't pronounce the words my daughter needed to spell and she was in the 6th grade. Unbelievable! I would suggest this school to every parent who wants their child(ren) to excel in academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

My son started at Little Flock Christian School last school year when he was in K3 and now he is in K4. The love teachers have for God and for the children is amazing. When my son came home one day singing Christian songs and so excited to tell me the bible story he learned in school, that was priceless to me. The staff makes you feel like you are part of the family. I will recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2011

This is a wonderful school with a warm christian family environment.. In the school christian values are balanced with strong academics. My daughter is in Kindergarden; she is shy by nature and the school has really taught her to be self confident and not to fear changes. My son is in the K-3 preschool and he absolutely loves it . The teachers are really interested in the growth and advancement of their children on all levels. The headmaster, the principle and the staff are great as well. I The school offers before and after care for working parents as we are and the after care programs are such an asset. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

We have been extremely happy with our daughter's progress in the K4 program at Little Flock. The quality of education and opportunities for the children to grow is second to none. Our son will be enrolled in the summer camp and then the K3 program this summer / fall and I wouldn't think of putting him anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

My son's self-confidence has skyrocketed since attending Little Flock. He started over the summer in the summer camp program and has flourished this year in K3. His teacher is loving and has a true desire to give him all the tools he needs to learn and love God. I feel very comfortable leaving him each day because I know the environment is safe and nourishing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

This school is truly amazing. I can truly feel the blessing of God upon this place. When I drop my kids off there, I know that they will receive excellent academic education, given by the most loving and nurturing set of teachers I have ever seen. I love this school and I tell everyone I know about it. I just hope they are given permission to add more grades and more classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I love a lot of aspects of this school. My son is entering K5 next year and is already reading and writing (in cursive)! I love the Christian environment, how warm and compassionate the teachers are, and the strong academic program. It is still a relatively new school, so the upper elementary grades have smaller class sizes than you would find in most other schools. The school, although small, offers a suprisingly large amount of 'specials.' Foreign language starting at age 3, computer class at age 4, art, soccer after-school program, dance, drama and general after-care for parents who need it. I researched a lot of schools before selecting this one and never came across a school that offers all of these things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

This school is highly recommended. Great academic curriculum and students are taught to read books and write script at the age of 4. Staff and teachers are very warm, pleasant and enjoy working for the school and the students. You can drop your child and go to work peacefully knowing your child is in very good hands without a doubt. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2009

I have two children and Little Flock and am so happy. Their teachers are so loving and genuinely care about each child. Teachers work with parents to assure each child is successful and are creative in their suggestions to enhance learning. My kids are receiving an excellent education and learning foreign language starting at 3 years old. It's fun, loving and preparing them so well for the future. I love that they are pointed back to God throughout their day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

I have two daughters at LFCS and it has been a wonderful experience for our family. It's a warm and loving atmosphere and my girls are way ahead of their peers academically. I can't imagine them being anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballet

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Danielle Miller
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (571) 234-4589

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • A Beka curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Karate
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Karate
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11911 Braddock Rd
Fairfax, VA 22030
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 591-1216

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT