Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairhill Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 628 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2014

This is the best elementary school ever! I went here for seven years and loved every year. I learned so much and it has helped me quite a bit because right now I am in middle school. All of the teachers make learning so fun! I have also been in SACC (School Aged Child Care) for seven years and it was wonderful. I loved the variety of activities and the fact that they have a designated portion od the day for homework and snacks.


Posted November 20, 2012

Fairhill ES has got to be one of the best schools in the country. Here's why. The principal and vice principal are intimately involved in al the student body activities. These include greeting children every day, at lunchtime and at all extracurricular activities. The culture of respect is very strong and the teachers are extraordinarily patient, understanding and helpful. The special education staff functions very effectively as a team to successfully connect with special children and tailor effective programs for their development. The fitness, music and art programs are motivating and fun. The PTA is strong and well supported, several events held annually have become popular local traditions. The School Aged Child Care at Fairhill, outside of regular school hours, excels ate prompting students homework, crafts, performing arts and cheer leading. Our family is extremely pleased with this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

I can't say enough good things about Fairhill! All teachers I've met in our 4 years there have been committed and foster a genuine culture of respect. Principal is friendly and accessible, she greets the kids personally most every day! I love that. We are in the AA track now, and that is going really well, all three specialty teachers that have been hired are getting great reviews. THe staff do a number of activities with the kids outside school as well. Evening events are always well attended, and my DD loves seeing her teachers there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

The faculty really go out of their way to make this a tremendous schhol. They volunteer their time and energy for extracurricular activities such as fitness classes before school, and track practice after school. My children have thrived here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

Fairhill introduced GT Center Level IV Advanced Curriculum in 2007. My older son has participated in the program and have been amazed at the quality of teaching and curriculum. In 1st and 2nd grade, he also got to participate in GT enrichment courses that were excellent. The GT Specialist Ashley Hickcox is amazingly committed to the kids and she is a wonderful teacher. Aside from the GT curriculum, Fairhill is an excellent environment that does not tolerate bullying and reinforces diversity and tolerance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Fairhill Elementary School teaches our children not only academics but genuine manners and responsibility for self, community and our world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Fairhill Elementary school has high expectations for our children. They know that they are going to school to learn about becoming great global citizens, as well as high achievers in academics. Fairhill teachers our children respect for self, others, and property. They love going to school each day and are constantly recognized for the positive way they behave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

This school has a small school feel and intimacy. The principal knows a lot of children by name. This is a very caring environment! Also we have been very impressed about the teaching quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

We loved our son's kindergarten teacher. And first grade is off to a successful start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

This is a great school. My daughter goes to this school and we are very happy. The teachers are wonderful .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

We shopped around quite a bit and settled within the Fairhill boundaries because of how much we liked the school. The staff is well qualified; not just the teachers but also the assistants and office support. My children and I love the cultural diversity as well as the way special needs students are integrated with general education kids. A great way to teach tolerance and adaptability. A very welcoming community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

This is my son's second year at Fairhill (he is is first grade). So far I have been very happy with the school, teacher and principle. I like the fact that is a smaller school and I love the diversity of the students. I also really like the offering of FLEX programs and that the 1st and 2nd graders are starting to learn Chinese as part of their regular curriculum. I look forward to putting my twins in the school for kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

I had all my kids to start their elementary education at thi sgreat school. I am very satisfied and happy with the teachers and the administration especially the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2007

My daughter goes to Kindergarten at Fairhill. The school is ok, not the greatest but not bad either. We have been very happy with the staff and teachers. Principle and the Vice principle are very receptive. My daughter has severe allergies and they have done excellent job in preparing themselves and the class teacher for her needs. Full marks too them. One of our bigger disappointments have been that there is extremely little parent involvement. I think other than that its been a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students88%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students81%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students78%
Female students75%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students96%
Female students93%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students88%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students88%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities82%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students88%
Female students86%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students86%
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students93%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students95%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English94%

English: Writing

All Students81%
Female students85%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Math

All Students87%
Female students86%
Male students88%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English89%

Science

All Students73%
Female students83%
Male students65%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students26%
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students89%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students72%
Proficient in English98%

Math

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students96%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3001 Chichester Ln
Fairfax, VA 22031
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 208-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Merritt Academy
Fairfax, VA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT