Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lanier Middle School 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a teacher
I've been a teacher here for 6 of my 20 years of teaching. I don't ever want to leave. The staff and admin are the best I've ever worked with, and the students are awesome. The afterschool program is like none I've ever seen ANYWHERE - we have so many choices for students, there is no reason they can't find something they can enjoy! I love that we have different teams that address ESOL, SpEd, Avid, etc. As a professional, I'm home here. If my son could attend here, he would.

Lanier Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
The teachers at this school teach very well and help their students stay on task. It is a wonderful school, and all the students are friendly and talented! As long as you stay on task and try your best, you will succeed in this school.


Lanier Middle School 4

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
As a military family we chose to live in Northern Virginia among many options due to the quality of the schools. LMS proved to be very good ('11-'13)--with caveats. Strengths = diversity & quality of options in core, elective and extra-circular classes and activities. We were very happy with our son's 7th grade experience. He was appropriately challenged in all of his classes & truly enjoyed playing in the band. We felt like his teachers did an outstanding job helping him & his classmates transition from elementary school. We were not as pleased with his 8th grade year. After a successful 1st semester, we thoroughly briefed all of his teachers that he would require a watchful eye during my upcoming deployment. We expected some fluctuation in his grades. We did not expect to find out that our perma-honor roll student was failing several advanced classes on his midterm report (that's a red flag!). After conferring with the appropriate teachers & having our son draft his own "recovery plan", we expected more regular updates--and were completely surprised when he "relapsed" without further warning. Bottom line: great options, but in a big school, parents must stay on top!

Lanier Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers who work with your kids in person, via email correspondence, and through volunteer time after school. The Music/Band program is phenomenal for a public school.

Lanier Middle School
no rating

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
I think Lanier is a really good school. The principal is really involved and cares about the kids,the teachers and the parents


Lanier Middle School 5

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
The teachers really do care about their students!

Lanier Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are so nice and helpful and they listen, i like it much bettr then my elementry but my elementry school was great, dont get me wrong! but lanier is great! I love it soooo much!

Lanier Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a student
Lanier is a great clean Middle School! The Teachers are VERY nice and they help you a lot to remeber stuff!! I have improved a lot on my math.


Lanier Middle School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
My son has improved his grades in a lot of subjects! I would reconmend this to somebody.

Lanier Middle School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Great technology and staff.. overall I love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lanier Middle School
3801 Jermantown Rd, Fairfax, VA  22030
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (703) 934-2400
Last modified Lanier Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top