Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Fairfax, VA
Students enrolled: 1,172

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lanier Middle School 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a community member
The teachers at this school teach very well and help their students stay on task. It is a wonderful school, and all the students are friendly and talented! As long as you stay on task and try your best, you will succeed in this school.

Lanier Middle School 4

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
As a military family we chose to live in Northern Virginia among many options due to the quality of the schools. LMS proved to be very good ('11-'13)--with caveats. Strengths = diversity & quality of options in core, elective and extra-circular classes and activities. We were very happy with our son's 7th grade experience. He was appropriately challenged in all of his classes & truly enjoyed playing in the band. We felt like his teachers did an outstanding job helping him & his classmates transition from elementary school. We were not as pleased with his 8th grade year. After a successful 1st semester, we thoroughly briefed all of his teachers that he would require a watchful eye during my upcoming deployment. We expected some fluctuation in his grades. We did not expect to find out that our perma-honor roll student was failing several advanced classes on his midterm report (that's a red flag!). After conferring with the appropriate teachers & having our son draft his own "recovery plan", we expected more regular updates--and were completely surprised when he "relapsed" without further warning. Bottom line: great options, but in a big school, parents must stay on top!


Lanier Middle School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers who work with your kids in person, via email correspondence, and through volunteer time after school. The Music/Band program is phenomenal for a public school.

Lanier Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 15, 2010
- a parent
I think Lanier is a really good school. The principal is really involved and cares about the kids,the teachers and the parents

Lanier Middle School 1

Posted February 01, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lanier Middle School 5

Posted January 30, 2010
- a parent
The teachers really do care about their students!

Lanier Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are so nice and helpful and they listen, i like it much bettr then my elementry but my elementry school was great, dont get me wrong! but lanier is great! I love it soooo much!

Lanier Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a student
Lanier is a great clean Middle School! The Teachers are VERY nice and they help you a lot to remeber stuff!! I have improved a lot on my math.


Lanier Middle School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lanier Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
My son has improved his grades in a lot of subjects! I would reconmend this to somebody.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lanier Middle School
3801 Jermantown Rd, Fairfax, VA  22030
(703) 934-2400
Last modified Lanier Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lanier Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top