Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Laurel Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2015
- a parent
My son attended kindergarten through 6th grade. Great teachers every year and we felt his needs were met at all the different stages of his development.

Laurel Ridge Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
There has been a ton of turnover in the administration (and the staff as a whole) in this building and you can tell there is tension between some of the staff. Quite a few of them are downright unprofessional. Unfortunately, many of the competent teachers seem to be the ones that leave. I have had 2 children go through this school and just feel like it could be so much more than it is. I'm hoping the new administration can get things turned around. Let's keep our fingers crossed and hope for the best!


Laurel Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
We area military family who just moved to the area at the start of the school year. I miss SO many things about the past place we lived, but definitely not the schools! FCPS are great overall and LRES is definitely one of the finer ones. My children's transition to their new school could not have been easier. They are so happy! My only complaint about the school is the larger class size (usually between 26 and 31), but that is not an issue unique to LRES. Fortunately there is tons of support staff within LRES and I believe they are addressing the issue as much as their budget allows. Hoping the county addresses class size in the near future.

Laurel Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted January 22, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went to this school and was in the Spanish immersion program. Every one of her teachers was great except for a certain 4th grade math teacher who was absolutely horrible. She had no patience for students who didn't quite get what she was teaching. She was very unorganized and the material on her review quizzes were taken from the air without telling the children what to study. She was not a nice person at all.

Laurel Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
I have two kids going to LRES. One is in spanish-immersion and the program is good although some teachers are better than others. My other child has had some learning issues. We have had two teachers there that were terrible yet the administration and counselor supported their colleagues rather than the student. One of the vice-principals was a good advocate but there has been a lot of turnover in the principal position. They spend a lot of time focusing on teaching to the SOL tests. The parent-teacher activities at the school are very good.


Laurel Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2011
- a parent
We are military and moved to the area three years ago. Our two kids LOVED Laurel Ridge, and we have been thrilled with the quality of the education there. There are lots of enrichment activities offered, and the teachers really seem to care

Laurel Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2010
- a parent
I love LRES. Teachers are great. Principal is super great. School is clean. I pulled my kids out of private school 4 years ago and joined LRES. They love their school. Nothing to complain! Thanks.

Laurel Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted October 29, 2010
- a parent
I am a long time Laurel Ridge parent. All 4 of my children went were there for K-6. I think this website is a great way to take cheap shots at teachers and administrators at any school not just LR. My experience at LR from the admin, front office, teachers, counselors etc. has been nothing but positive. It's too bad for adminstrators and teachers that there is not a website called "Great Parents.Org" so they could anonymously post their personal experiences working with parents. THAT would be interesting reading!!


Laurel Ridge Elementary School 3

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
I don t like LRES s approach to reading and writing. Phonics takes a back seat to site words, which are memorized after school on flash cards the school sends home. There is no gradual modeling of good writing; instead, children are very soon (early in K) encouraged to write entire paragraphs that are rarely corrected. My child brought home reems of written gibberish, and by year s end she had certain spellings engrained in her mind as correct because that s how she always spelled those words, and no one told her otherwise. Consequences for misbehavior seemed inconsistent, and self-esteem seemed to be encouraged above self-discipline (such that my child actually seemed less willing to accept correction than before entering LRES). She was bullied and spit on by an older child, and I was not informed by a school official (I learned it from her). Her teacher was enthusiastic, parental involvement seems welcome.

Laurel Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
Our six years at LRE with 2 children, 3 years apart, have been overall very good. We have had good experiences with all but one teacher, who is no longer teaching there. Of the two counselors, one is far better than the other & one learns this quickly from experience. The few times that we have had a concern that was better addressed by staff other than teachers or counselors, we have found one of the assistant principals to be very prompt, receptive and helpful. The front office seemed to have made more of an effort this past year in making people feel welcome. However, there is always room for improvement. Parents are very involved as volunteers, particularly during K - 3rd grades. In closing, parents who have children at LRE and another elementary school at the same time, always tell me that LRE is much better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel Ridge Elementary School
10110 Commonwealth Blvd, Fairfax, VA  22032
(703) 426-3700
Last modified Laurel Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Laurel Ridge Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top