Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
It is a very good school with Gifted Talent Center. The teachers and staffs give lot of support on learning. It has a very good education system setup.

Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
My oldest just graduated from Mantua and I'm writing this somewhat wistfully since I feel we couldn't have ended up in a better school for him. My children have a variety of learning needs (ranging from gifted to some special needs) and we've just been amazed by the school's willingness to bend over backward to accommodate the needs of each child. The gifted center is excellent, but the school also has a program for hearing impaired children and of course the bulk of the students are in the general education program. We previously attended top flight schools in other major metropolitan areas but none came close to Mantua in this regard. Parent involvement is very high and the extracurriculars are fantastic. Previous posters mentioned basketball, strings, band, scouts. There are also two levels of chorus, drama club, kids care club (community service), a variety of competitive clubs (Destination Imagination, Odyssey of the Mind, Mathcounts, Science Olympiad, etc.) The community is also very inclusive and welcoming, with a mom's group and a beautiful community pool that's the highlight of summer life in the neighborhood.


Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
Mantua Elementary is a phenomenal school! The teachers are the amazing. They communicate with the parents regularly which forms a collaborative environment focused on individual success of each student. The school has so many programs for students from K-6 whether it be during the school day with the Take Home Reading Program or after school programs for music, foreign language, robotics, science, athletics, or academic enrichment. We love the "family" approach where students stay within the same pod throughout the K-2 school years so they really get to know the teachers and other students and they can be moved up for certain subjects if they are ahead. Mantua is an amazing asset for the Mantua community.

Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2012
- a parent
If you are moving to the area you can't beat Mantua. The school is excellent. The administration, teachers and staff are incredible. The teachers actually like kids! They teach to the needs of your child whether that is advanced or a little behind. They accomplish this thru their "family" concept and by grouping kids across classes based on their abilities. They think out of the box at this school. It is truly a small community school surrounded by a huge city. You'll love the school and the neighborhood. Should be rated a 10! Sadly, we are moving away from VA but wanted to make sure parents know the quality of this school!

Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted December 20, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Mantua and he is in a multiage K/1 class. I love it. he is learing so much and his teacher is awesome. I love how they have "families" and group children based on their reading and math level. I am looking forward to his elementary school experience. Mantua is awesome!


Mantua Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
Is the best school!! there are good teachers.

Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
Because they has very good teachers!!!

Mantua Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
Mantua elementary school is an excellent school because it has excellent principal, assistant principal, teachers and all the nice workers there. Best of all, Mantua elementary school has the greatest teachers. Our family loves the school.


Mantua Elementary School 3

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
Mantua is an okay school. I believe that the school focuses more on GT students than on regular students like my daughter. My daughter did not have much oppurtunities to shine. The only good teachers we have encountered are Mrs.Sottalano, Mr.White, and Mrs.Anderson. These teachers really encouraged my daughter to succeed and helped her become more confident.

Mantua Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2008
- a parent
Mantua is a wonderful school. Kids in k-2 are tested and taught in line with their abilities. More advanced kids learn with more advanced kids and can move ahead so they don't get bored, while kids who need a little more time can learn at their pace and are not rushed or hurried along. Then benefits of this approach are amazing for all the kids. Classes are small and the principal is wonderful. The teachers are engaged and parents are very involved. I can't say enough great things about the education my kids are getting at Mantua.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mantua Elementary School
9107 Horner Court, Fairfax, VA  22031
(703) 645-6300
Last modified Mantua Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mantua Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top