Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mosby Woods Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 839 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

I was in this school before and it was horrible. The AAP teachers in grades 3 and 4 were horrible. I was bullied in both grades and I tried to tell the teacher, But guess what, as a student, I didn't even have the right to complain! Bullying is a big problem here and the teachers deserve to be fired. So may I recommend my new school, Oakton Elementary?-submitted by an ex-student


Posted June 22, 2014

So i recently went to my 4th grader's year end music program at Mosby Woods. It's a year end program where all fourth grade classes put on a musical performance. I was amazed at how 100+ kids of all different backgrounds and levels of academic performance came together to put on an amazing performance that included song, dance musical instruments, choreography while tying in classical compositions, Virginia history and American history. Mosby Woods provides students with top notch academics and exposure to the Arts which you would not find in public schools. This year our children had a field trip to the Kennedy Center and were exposed to Opera at Nats Park. I love this school and will miss it when our kids move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2014

This is an excellent school. Everything is so nice. The sixth grade teachers are always positive and they give good grades. This school feels so much like a private school. The staff and the kids are just excellent. Thanks Mosby Woods!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Our daughter started in kindergarten and is now in 2nd grade. All teachers we've seen so far are dedicated, keep good communication with parents and are really liked by the children. An incident when our daughter was teased by another student underscored the very prompt response from the school counselor, who made sure not only that the child is doing well, but also that parents were kept informed. We're excited to have our younger one starting in the same school in a couple of years. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2013

I don't care what anyone says, this school is the best I've ever been to.I'm in the AAP program, and I love it. I don't think the school focuses too much on their AAP program. Everyone gets an equal education. Reflecting on the teachers, the AAP program is overflowing, mostly in the third grade. All the FCPS schools are excellent, but I think mosby woods is one of the best.


Posted March 19, 2012

Great school!!! It has a great AAP program and wonderful teachers. The school has such a diverse population. The students are from all over the world!!!! The Principal and VP are great. The school its self needs a bit of remodeling to boost the large amounts of creativity. The murals of the school are quite beautiful and really show the great work the students do in the fabulous school of Mosby Woods.


Posted March 17, 2012

This school is the best! Compared to other schools like Providence, it seems as if 90% of students are happier here than at their previous schools. That is, if they transferred. The education techniques are a lot better than some that I have seen before. The teachers and students there are persistent. They never seem to give up on whatever they attempt at. Especially the teachers. They don't ever give up on a child, and they're very kind. I do believe that this school may be one the best schools for a child that there is in Fairfax City. There are many opportunities for students there, and even the Specials classes pushes them to do their best. They focus on and appreciate the diversity in the school. It's such a positive school. There seems to be little negativity amongst the students and staff. Although, I AM a student there. It may seem as if because I'm a student, that it would be a likely thing to speak of my school in this way. But it actually depends on the student's judgement of his/her environment, not on where they attend or take residence. I agree that they challenge the students. If it isn't challenging, then they do their best to give a new challenge.


Posted December 20, 2011

Absolutely loved Mosby Woods! My son attended for 5th & 6th grade in the AAP program. The teachers on the team are absolutely amazing, and they really challenged their students. The principal is fantastic, is always present at ALL school functions, and really takes an interest in her school, teachers and students! The school itself neds a little bit of a facelift, but it certainly does not detract from the learning going on there!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

I am disappointed with Mosby Woods Elementary School. The school itself is old and still has carpet upstairs, which negatively affects my child's allergies and asthma. The web site does not begin to compare with other county schools' web sites and adminstration does not make use of the KIT (keep in touch) program which emails parents with relevant updates. The curriculum appears to be dumbed down and my child is not challenged. Perhaps there is too much concentration on diversity and not enough on learning for bright children.


Posted May 27, 2011

The teachers are wonderful here! The diversity is also wonderful. You could not find a better school where all the kids have different backgrounds and learn to love everyone's differences right away! For a side note I also love how this school is tucked back in a neighborhood and not up along a major street keeping traffice down and safety easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

The teachers are dedicated and responsive. The principal is respected and manages her staff well. The music, art, PE and computer programs are excellent. There are wonderful programs like International Night and two Family Dance events. The facility is new and well-kept, and tucked safely away from busy, noisy streets. And the community of parents is awesome. My children are having a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

The Mosby Woods community, and particularly the education staff, are remarkable. I cannot speak highly enough of their efforts and abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2010

The school is ok, but could be better. We spent only one year at the school but can say that my child was not challenged by the work (too young for GT). There does not seem to be a lot of effort to teach kids at their level (at least compared to what I've read on this site about other schools in the area). Good but somewhat unresponsive administration. Diversity is wonderful and this of course is very beneficial to the kids. The art/computer/music classes are very good. There are a few parent organized activities offered after school as at other schools (language, science, drama) with varying quality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

My daughter joined Kindergarten last fall and I am impressed with this school. It is able to integrate students from diverse backgrounds and abilities in a way that ensures that all of them grow and learn to their best abilities. There are lots of activities for the kids and for parents who want to be involved. Great job by the Principal and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

The teachers are excellent. The school works to challenge every child. The diversity at this school is remarkable and they celebrate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2009

Not the best school. My daughter was in advanced classes in Arlington, and when we moved to Fairfax, the school put her in regular classes, not GT or Honors, despite our repeated requests. Her SOL result dropped significantly. We are so disappointed with the teachers, the students and the environment, and now moving her to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Mosby Woods impressed us with its school leadership and high quality faculty and staff. Our daughter, who is only in kindergarten, had a very full year with an experienced and engaged class teacher who consistently offered fun and challenging learning activities. In addition, our daughter and her classmates loved working on the Smart Board, the class trips, and wonderful guest speakers that her class had. The school provides enriching art, computer lab, and music classes too. Finally, I really like the quiet, leafy residential location of the school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2009

This school is fantastic. My daughter is thriving and is excited about she's learning. The principal, Ms. Aste, is top notch and goes out of her way to make sure this school gets better each year. The art and music teachers deserve special recognition for their dedication and teaching methods. They're simply wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

My daughter loves her school all of her teachers have been great and they truly care about their students. The principal & vice-principal also seem to be very involved and know the students well. Great activities for a very diverse school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

Excellent teachers and administration. Parents are dedicated to the success of the school. Love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students91%
Female students91%
Male students90%
Black students77%
Asian students92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students97%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities100%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students84%
Female students83%
Male students85%
Black students54%
Asian students90%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students98%
Female students100%
Male students97%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students86%
Female students80%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students93%
Hispanic55%
Multiracial100%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English98%

Math

All Students86%
Female students81%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial90%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students90%
Male students91%
Black students100%
Asian students91%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students62%
Proficient in English100%

English: Writing

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students95%
Black students83%
Asian students100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities86%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students81%
Proficient in English98%

Math

All Students74%
Female students75%
Male students72%
Black students70%
Asian students81%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students86%
Female students86%
Male students85%
Black students85%
Asian students93%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students91%
Male students85%
Black students100%
Asian students94%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficient students69%
Proficient in English95%

Math

All Students96%
Female students97%
Male students94%
Black students90%
Asian students100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities95%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students83%
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9819 Five Oaks Rd
Fairfax, VA 22031
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 937-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Appletree School
Fairfax, VA





Merritt Academy
Fairfax, VA


Pinnacle Academy
Oakton, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT