Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Navy Elementary School 5

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently in 3rd grade with Navy. I am so lucky to be a parent of this school. Ever since we moved to this community, I have 0 complaints about school and neighbor. My daughter's teacher promptly accommodated my inquiries and handled situations when my daughter faced a conflict with her peer. The staff and the teachers are dedicated as well! The best thing is that the principal is super nice!

Navy Elementary School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
The teachers are enthusiastic and supportive. My son is in 3rd grade. His experience in Kindergarten through 2nd grade has been wonderful, and looks like 3rd grade is also going to be excellent. Love the parent involvement


Navy Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Navy is an excellent school. Mr Coch, the new principal always has a smile and warm words for everyone. School well run, we have two kids with very different acedemic needs. One needs extra services, other at gifted level. Both well and challenged here. Staff friendly, very enthusiatic, wonderful school, anti-bullyimng policy. Good new "Dolphin" behavior incentives implemented by new principal in 2012/13 and awesome fun run fundraiser.

Navy Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2012
- a parent
Our son is currently in first grade at Navy Elementary (NE). Our experience so far has been wonderful. Our son's teacher, Ms. Adams, is excellent. I believe this is her first year teaching first grade. She taught other grades before. Our son loves her! She keeps him engaged and interested. Every day when he comes home from school he's excited about telling us something new he learned. The school does a good job staying engaged with parents through the PTO. They have man after school activities. Our son particularly likes his acting class. They recently organized a very successful, and much fun fundraiser. The kids from all grades had loads of fun. The principal, Mr. Coch, is very responsive and courteous. We emailed him before school started when we first moved to the area. He invited us to the school. He told us about the school's programs and plans, and showed us around. He then walked our son to his soon-to-be classroom, which we appreciated. All in all, our son is having a great experience at NE. We're happy with his progress socially and academically, and look forward to many more years at NE.

Navy Elementary School 2

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Our son attended kindergarten and first grade at Navy. His KG teacher was enthusiastic and had a lot of fun activities. However, he did not learn how to read or write any better than he could when he started. His first grade teacher was an inflexible disciplinarian and my son began to hate school and act out. The administration was unresponsive to our concerns.


Navy Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2011
- a parent
Navy is a wonderful school with opportunities for challenging and competitive academics. Ms. Hand was absolutely great. After school activities are average. Overall a great school for the kids.

Navy Elementary School 4

Posted February 28, 2011
- a parent
Navy is a well-run school, but the Principal, Mrs. Hand, is leaving this summer, so who knows what it will be like in the future. It's a very structured school (meaning, there are lots of rules to follow), which is good if your child responds to structure. It's an academically challenging school and there is plenty of participation from parents. There aren't, however, a lot of after school activities.

Navy Elementary School 4

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 children at Navy and we are in our 3rd year at the school. Yes, it is on a busy street but that's the nature of the area, not the school's fault. I find there is a real sense of community at the school and families are very involved. From my experience, most teachers have been wonderful and curriculum is very good. School has been remodeled and has many of the new bells and whistles from Smartboards to Computer lab. Overall, I really have been pleased and have no real complaints other than some of the office staff which can be hit or miss depending on their mood.


Navy Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
It's got wonderful teachers and atmosphere! The kids feel noticed, too!

Navy Elementary School 3

Posted April 09, 2008
- a parent
The school location is on a crowded street and staff are not so friendly. My daughter used to go there, and we didn't like the school bus. She is now in a different school. Thank god!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Navy Elementary School
3500 West Ox Rd, Fairfax, VA  22033
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (703) 262-7100
Last modified Navy Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top