Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lees Corner Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 731 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2014

My daughter started Kindergarten last year and has had a great experience so far. She loves the teachers and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

My child attended Lees Corner from 2007 to 2013, and had a wonderful experience. Students have multiple teachers in 5th and 6th grades, as the specialize in subject matter those years. With one exception, all of her teachers were outstanding and understanding. The office staff was very helpful, and the PTA members whom I encountered were always ready to listen and assist. No one and no school is perfect, but I highly recommend LCES. Since Mr. D'Amato's arrival a few years ago, he has added so much to the school from the standpoint of instructional program upgrades and physical facility improvements. This school is a proponent of Respect, Collaboration, Excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

Great School! great teachers and the principal is wonderful. The only thing I have to complain about is the office staff is awful and rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

It's a very good school with a good teachers :) Happy to see my son is having fun and doing excellent job in the same time. I think Mr. D'Amato is doing very good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2012

its good but they should ask what students .want not but 6 TV's just two show pictures and cut funds for the six grade party i think mrs.D' amato does not know how to save mony or spend it hopefuly he see's this review


Posted April 27, 2012

What a breath of fresh air! Awesome new leadership has brought this school alive. Parent involvement and the PTA has always been excellent but there is a new, positive energy in the school thanks to Mr. D'Amato. I am very pleased to see how far this new leadership takes the school and happy that my 3 kids will be there for the next 4-7 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

Teachers are strict with rules, students really learn and grow. My son had lots of fun in KG. Thanks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

We have NO idea how this school is rated so highly. Our experience with children in two other Fairfax county schools has been wonderful, but we are deeply disappointed with Lees Corner. Management seems to be missing, and the teacher we must deal with is disinterested and unresponsive - not to mention repeatedly absent. The situation at pickup time is chaotic and many children are acting out, clearly due to poor management. The teacher does not respond to simple email, saying to send a written note. Written notes are either ignored or a vague non-answer appears two+ weeks later. No in-class volunteers are welcomed, although other Fairfax schools have excellent experience with parent involvement. At best, parent volunteers are seemingly used as copy-machine gophers. We recently purchased a home and relocated, in part because of this "excellent" school. We are very sorely disappointed and wished we'd stayed with the previous Fairfax Co. school that really IS excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

because it helps kids in soo many ways a fun and exciting plzce to be
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2010

I have kids at this school and I have to say that all the teachers that we have had have been wonderful. They know what they are doing and the teacher turnover is very low (they seem to only leave when they are moving out of the area). The parents are very involved and volunteer a lot which gives the teachers even more time to concentrate on the kids. The PTA is always looking to get as many parents involved as possible. The principal has always been available to talk whenever I've had a concern. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My mother teaches Autistic children at Lees Corner Elementary School and those kids mean so much to her. They need to know that everyone loves and supports them as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

I send my kids here because they offer special education. I can say without any reservations whatsoever that the staff is hard-working, diligent and dedicated. If it was less so, I would send my kids to another school in a heartbeat. But this staff is extraordinary, despite some very challenging aspects. In General Education, there is a tendency to break the kids to smaller groups according to ability. There is too much emphasis on SOL material, which at times is mind-numbing, but typical of public schools; there is a great accomodation for the variety of cultures here, and I appreciate that. (Not so much in middle school.) The teachers I have talked to -- especially the specialist -- are just great. (Although, well, some subjects my kids don't care for, but that's life.) I think the principal and her staff are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

Wonderful school for my two children. Teachers, parents and staff all work together to accomplish mutliple activities. If you are not an engaged parent, this is not the school for you. This school requires you to be involved and aware of what your child is doing. I travel for my job and the staff looks out for my kids when I am away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2008

I had a son who was at this school for one year and moved to a GT center, now my daughter just finished Kindergarten, I was not crazy about my son's teacher but my daughter's teachers are the best. They are loving and accepting of the kids and have such an open way with the parents. I have loved going in to volunteer. The Principal and the assistant Principal are just great. My kids love them. Amazingly, these wonderful ladiesknow each of these kids by name. Hats off to the office staff too. Every time I go in, I come out feeling sure that my kids are well cared for and safe. We do have a good thing going here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

I have two children at Lees Corner. With only one exception the teachers and staff we have had over the past 7 years have been excellent. Loving, kind, helpful and absolutely above par academically. Clay Sande and Susie McCallum both have open door policies- I have never been turned away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2007

We moved to this neighborhood after finding the perfectly located house in a great neighborhood. We were very excited about sending our children to the public school given the parent's comments here and used them to inform our decision to rent in the area. However, the school is a huge disappointment and we are committed to not buying within this school's boundaries. The office staff is cold and inflexible. The PTO/PTA is unwelcoming and is not open to new volunteers. The teachers tend to be shrill, unnuanced in current methods and unable to open their classrooms or hearts to families new to the area. A huge red flag? Any school where the Prncipal and Assistant Principal are unwilling to meet privately with parents for 30 minutes. There is a lot of lip service to families but very little substance when 'the rubber hits the road'. The best? Great music and art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

Great school. Caring teachers who have longevity there - shows stability. Great parent involvement as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students85%
Male students92%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students77%
Female students78%
Male students77%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students85%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students94%
Female students94%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities92%
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficient students94%
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students81%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students91%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students75%
Proficient in English91%

Math

All Students86%
Female students78%
Male students91%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students85%
Female students84%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English87%

English: Writing

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students89%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficient students63%
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students82%
Female students83%
Male students81%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students82%
Female students80%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students71%
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students89%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students91%
Female students87%
Male students94%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13500 Hollinger Ave
Fairfax, VA 22033
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 227-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Paladin Academy
Chantilly, VA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT