Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonnie Brae Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 752 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 15, 2014

I am reading some of the reviews here, and it makes me think these parents have not seen a "great" school to identify BBES to be one. It is actually very sad. We will soon be moving out of this area, and I cannot wait! Staff, leadership, PTO can do much better, and students will do better as well. Two years in a row now that our teacher does not even respond to my emails (and it is rare that I send one) She also marks correct answers wrong, then puts a note on the paper "needs practice" I'm not sure if they are overwhelmed or just not competent enough, either way there can be a solution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

I have had three children attend Bonnie Brae and have been extremely impressed! We have been at the school for four years so far and our children love it! The front office staff is attentive and will even address me by name when I arrive. The teachers have been FANTASTIC. My children came from another FCPS and their education was lacking. The Bonnie Brae teachers got them up to speed in less than a year and they were excelling academically. The principal Ms. Bruce is dynamic, engaging and truly cares. Before moving to the school we stopped by and she personally gave my children a tour of the school and warmly welcomed them. They felt so special and the transition to a new school went perfectly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Our family moved to Burke after our daughter completed kinder in another state. We were amazed at how well BBES was run compared to her last elementary school. First and second grade were amazing years for our daughter, so much so we had a hard time deciding what to do for 3rd grade and AAP. We did end up switching schools for AAP, but honestly regret it. Our youngest is still at BBES and we know she will stay there till the end (we wont make the same mistake twice). The teachers and staff go out of their way to help and have always been available to talk and more importantly listen! Love BBES
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

The "idea" behind this school is a big clique, unfortunately... Even though we love our teacher this year, and the year before, the leadership must change. She has been there too long (10+ years I believe) and has gotten extremely comfortable. PTO is full of white American females, who have nothing else to do, and make it look like they are running the country, and YET it is the same activities year after year. They are reluctant to make any kind of changes, scared to bring in new voice, and resist a new idea! We have people who are upper middle class, and lower middle class, and the ones in the "upper" levels are running the show. The office staff are fake, and are very picky about who they want to talk to, and not even say "hi" to others. Very interesting community, to say the least..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Bonnie Brae has been great for our son, who started K there last year and is now in 1st Grade. Not only is the staff excellent, our son benefits from the teacher having two assistants, ensuring each child gets attention and assistance. Kudos to Ms. G and Mrs Rapanti!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

I was hesitant to send my daughter to our neighborhood public school, but now I cannot be more content about it. The school building, inside and out, is great and the facilities are nice. The principal, teachers, assistant teachers, staff at the office, they all put students first, they are able to achieve an excellent educational level. I love the fact that they emphasize Respect, Kindness, and Positive Discipline and model that too. Any inquiries or concerns that the parents have are taking care of right away. It does not matter if you talk with them over the phone or in person, they are always polite and effective. I am impressed at their organizational level too, since they have a great communication system that is daily, weekly, by-weekly and monthly. They also embrace each family from the start and create a good school community environment. The most important thing is that my daughter is happy there and loves her school, her class teachers and the ones from Music, Art, PE, Library, her classmates, play friends, bus buddies, the principal and the ladies at the cafeteria (by the way, they offer the kids healthy food and show them the best lifestyle choices to stay healthy.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Great school! Great teachers! Fantastic principal!! My children are very happy at Bonnie Brae! I am thrilled with the education they are receiving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

tthis is a great school. my son loves going to BBES. the principal and tteachers are very nice caring. we love to stay here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Communication has been going downhill. The PTO has a few pet projects, but doesn't seem to sponsor too many fun activities for the kids. The school itself does not plan many fun learning days for the kids (like a Pioneer Day or a Medieval Day) or exciting field trips. The teachers seem to lack enthusiasm and do not off feedback to the kids, and not much more to the parents. I hope the administration seeks to have its own ranks and those of the teacher re-commit themselves to making learning educational and fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

Very good school my son loves going to school there. The principle is very nice and attentive to the kids. The teachers are good and communicate to the parents if there is any issue to address with our child. The faculty is very caring and they keep the schedule interesting with different activities throughout the year. Very welcoming to parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

This school has left a little sour taste in my mouth. I am almost regretting moving back to the area. I just wish the staff wouldn't spend so much time defending each other and instead just apologize when they've made a mistake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

My three girls have attended Bonnie Brae Elementary for two years now. Both my kids and my husband and I have been exceptionally happy with BBES and plan to stay in this area especially to have them continue here. The administration is excellent! They are positive and upbeat and especially helpful with anxiety or behavioral issues. We also appreciate the diversity of the student population.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I love the fact that the school takes the safety and security of each student in mind. I once picked up my son after school was dismissed & before he went to the after school program. We went out for a special treat to get ice cream. I forgot to tell the after school program and approximately 2 hours later after arriving home, I opened my fron door to a police officer who instructed me to look in the sky at the helicopter that was searching for my son who was presumed to be missing! They called all the numbers on file, and was unable to receive an answer from me or my husband and immediately put their missing child proceudres into place. Now that's caring
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

My children were in an excellent private school prior to moving to this area. I was worried about putting them in a public school, but now we could not be happier. The students are placed in ability groups for math and reading, which keeps them challenged. The school also offers a GT program as well as other servicces. They have done an excellent job with my child who requires an IEP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

We recently transferred to the Fairfax/Bonnie Brae area and we are absolutely thrilled with the education our children are receiving. The students, staff and parents are terrific. Many parents volunteer, the PTA is wonderful and the students take pride in their school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

We moved to this school 2 years ago and I have been extremly happy with the teachers and facilities. SACC is a great addition to the school and summer programs are fun for the kids. I wish that they would have immersion.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 74% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 86% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students87%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students90%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial87%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English89%

Math

All Students78%
Female students76%
Male students80%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial86%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students88%
Female students91%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial87%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students76%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students78%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial80%
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students72%
Female students71%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students78%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial60%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students53%
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students87%
Female students92%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students94%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial90%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English88%

English: Writing

All Students80%
Female students85%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial80%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English80%

Math

All Students61%
Female students61%
Male students61%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students73%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White students63%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficient students25%
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students72%
Female students70%
Male students74%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students82%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial90%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficient students36%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students83%
Female students80%
Male students86%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students83%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students52%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students78%
Female students68%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students87%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities59%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students48%
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5420 Sideburn Rd
Fairfax, VA 22032
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 321-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fairview Elementary School
Fairfax Station, VA






Fairfax Baptist Temple Academy
Fairfax Station, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT