Advertisement
Advertisement

Trinity School at Meadow View

Private | 7-12 | 135 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Falls Church

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $385,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2010

Trinity is the hidden treasure in NoVA. It is an excellent school with the same solid curriculum that you find in its powerhouse Trinity sister schools in the Mid West but so much smaller and more personalized. Despite it's award-winning educational model and higher-end price tag, it is very generous with financial aid which keeps the school from being as pretentious as its awards and SAT scores might suggest. It has more of a family-like environment. The difference for us is that it truly is a community of learners that is fostered by the excellent teachers who hold true to the Socratic method of teaching. Each of the teachers - and especially the deans - get to know the kids so well and care for each student's personal development. Even though the curriculum is rigorous, they make it fun: my son can't wait to get to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

2009 Blue Ribbon Winner...Only private secondary school in Virginia so rated for the last 5 years. One child is in 2nd year and has dramatically improved in desire to learn and in performance. Only school I know where older students mentor the younger as a matter of course.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

Trinity is a great educational environment for young men and women. Our son is grateful for the quality of the teachers, the Christian character of the school, and the challenging course work. He is genuinely happy to go to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

My oldest son is about to graduate from Trinity school. He has received a full merit scholarship to his first choice college. He handled the entire application completion process on his own (with his Trinity guidance counselor). This self-starting, mature young man is a pretty standard Trinity graduate from what I have seen and I know a lot of them. The headmaster at Trinity is one of the most dedicated men I have ever met. He can be tough and demanding but he's preparing young men and women for a tough world that is hostile to the Christian world view.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

Trinity is pretty hit or miss. The teachers tend to be superb or disasterous, and the academic structure can either nurture or crush ambition and desire for learning. I had so many wonderful experiences with the school, but the narrow community and petty punishments left me feeling pretty lukewarm.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2009

My son just started at Trinity and I am thrilled. Though he scored high on standardized testing, he always complained about doing homework, even when he had very little of it to do, and he didn't really seem driven to learn. Turns out he was bored! Since he started at Trinity I keep asking myself who the kid is in my living room with the suddenly-beautiful handwriting insisting on doing 3+ hours of homework per night without a peep of complaint! My son is very comfortable at Trinity and is excited to come home and share what he's learned at school each day. This change in him is worth the world to me and will potentially change his life dramatically forever. It's a testament to the teachers and administrators at the school that this kind of miracle can happen in the environment they have set up there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

I have one child who is a Trinity grad, one in 8th grade, and another starting next fall. We LOVE the school. Our oldest daughter who graduated had the usual litany of teenage issues, but at a far lower intensity level than I see in my own students. Trinity does not encourage the kids to 'pair up', like what you see in most high schools; they encourage collegiate friendships between students and it makes for very healthy boy-girl relationships without all the drama. My grad went there fearing the rigors of the math and science program and found that her teachers were more than happy to help her after school and even accepted phone calls at home on weekends to assist with homework. My younger child has so far not had any difficulty with his classes (knock on wood). It's a tough school, but what a great learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

What a gem! In all the Washington, D.C. area, with all the schools available to us, we came across this incredible school. It has everything of importance that you could hope for. Dedicated teachers, committed parents, a respectful and engaging student body, inclusive sports program (div. 3 Virgina State Lacrosse Champions 2008!) free after-school study hall, free after-school Latin and math/science tutoring and a Headmaster that is truly dedicated to the philosophy of the school and readily accessible to all students and parents. Is your child artistic? At Trinity, all students are artistic! You will be amazed at the artwork that all the students produce. Is your child musical? At Trinity, all students not only learn to read music (if they don't already know now) they play an instrument and compose music, as well. There is not enough room here to describe this wonderful environment. Visit and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

Chuckled reading the latest review by TMV's Fundraising Chair, Mr. Upchurch. That people associated with TMV are nice and the best may be true, but TMV is not a social club. At $12,000-plus a year and climbing parents deserve much more than Meadow View delivers. The faculty is well-educated and dedicated, but the rigidity of the Trinity curriculum means the faculty generally delivers an approved script, rather than teaches. The teacher-student ratio of 16:1 max, and teaching loads of 50 students tops should allow teachers to 'individualize' instruction (even within TMV curriculum!) - TMV's 'Socratic' method puts the burden on the kids. The headmaster can be an autocratic bully - especially with women - the 'parent service association' implements his will. There is no extra-curricular program only lunch or after school clubs. Parents considering TMV should read the Student, Parent and Faculty Handbooks, and before making this commitment. Caveat emptor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

Wonderful school. I disagree with the comments about the principal s short comings and parents being unwelcome. As a very involved parent volunteer, I have found the administration welcoming, open, and easy to work with. Small school where the faculty truly knows your child. It is a challenging curriculum with an emphasis on instilling critical thinking skills. I have a ninth grader and could not be happier with the school, the faculty, or administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

True college prep; students have to work hard to succeed but it pays off in college acceptances, scholarships, and ability to succeed at the next level. Teachers are very dedicated; curriculum well defined but a real challenge for those who are weak in math and science as 'one size fits all.' Emphasis on Fine Arts is impressive. Ability to play sports in high school for the average athelete a plus. Families/parents are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

The other two Trinity Schools have been named Blue Ribbon Schools; not Meadow View. School not yet accredited. Curriculum looks great; depending on the teacher, kids get something out of it. Average students WILL struggle - 6 hours homework a day - doesn't matter how 'advanced' the curriculum, a 'C' is still a 'C.' Lots of kids 'left behind.' Sports program vacuums oxygen from extra-curricular program. Same sex classes can be casualty of tight budget.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2006

The quality of this Trinity school is excellent in every way. I have never experienced a more dedicated faculty, including the principle. The mission statement of the school is met in every regard: academically the curriculum is a Blue Ribbon School winner; the student body and teachers constitute a real community of friendship and care for one another; the same sex education and smaller class sizes prevent anyone from slipping through the cracks. The extra curricular activities including choir, sports, Rhapsodes drama group, Quest events, etc. enhance the culture of the school. A dynamic, positive atmosphere with genuine learning and genuine friendships. I have an upper level and beginning student and have been familiar with Trinity Schools for 20+ years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

small school, small classes, same sex classes, no frills, but kids graduate and are more than prepared for college. Parent of a graduate. good kids, good teachers, good headmaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

Could be a wonderful school if not for the administration. Parent involvement is not encouraged. Very high rate of attrician starting with the high school grades. Definitely not worth the high pricetag. The school book policy, you RENT the books at new book prices, then have to give them back even if you have other students in lower grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

As a parent of a former student, I felt I needed to write. The Curriculum at Trinity is outstanding. However, the school administration is weak. The majority of the teachers are very intelligent and dedicated, but there are some unqualified teachers as well. If the school lived up to its mission statement, it could be the best in the country. Unfortunately, due to a sore lack of principal leadership, the school does not realize its potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

I read the other review that was critical of Trinity and just had to respond. This school is outstanding. If you are looking for a school with a Christian worldview, excellent faculty, and a positive environment that makes learning exciting, then Trinity is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

Principal Leadership is to be questioned. Very closed-minded and a one way street with the principal. He disregaurds the mission statement. Teachers are very dedicated though tend to hire very young, inexperienced teachers. Not worth the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Andrew J. Zwerneman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Through the parents service organization
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
95% go straight to colleges and universities
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2849 Meadow View Road
Falls Church, VA 22042
Website: Click here
Phone: (703) 876-1920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jackson Middle School
Falls Church, VA



George Mason High School
Falls Church, VA


St. James Catholic School
Falls Church, VA



Grace Lutheran School
Falls Church, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT