Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Private
Falls Church, VA
Students enrolled: 161
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Trinity School at Meadow View 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
This is our first year at TMV and my child is thriving in this collegial, fun, thoughtful, academically challenging school. The school works hard to promote its nurturing, intentional and accountable culture. The culture at TMV supports excellence and the same-sex classes allow boys and girls to succeed without being encumbered by concerns about the opposite sex's perception of them. As for the religious life, my child noticed, "At TMV, they really live out what they believe about the Bible, they don't just talk about it." The parents are involved and incredibly welcoming. Older students are kind to younger ones. TMV has a strong, positive school spirit. We are so glad to have found this school!

Trinity School at Meadow View 5

Posted October 03, 2010
- a parent
Trinity is the hidden treasure in NoVA. It is an excellent school with the same solid curriculum that you find in its powerhouse Trinity sister schools in the Mid West but so much smaller and more personalized. Despite it's award-winning educational model and higher-end price tag, it is very generous with financial aid which keeps the school from being as pretentious as its awards and SAT scores might suggest. It has more of a family-like environment. The difference for us is that it truly is a community of learners that is fostered by the excellent teachers who hold true to the Socratic method of teaching. Each of the teachers - and especially the deans - get to know the kids so well and care for each student's personal development. Even though the curriculum is rigorous, they make it fun: my son can't wait to get to school each day.


Trinity School at Meadow View 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
2009 Blue Ribbon Winner...Only private secondary school in Virginia so rated for the last 5 years. One child is in 2nd year and has dramatically improved in desire to learn and in performance. Only school I know where older students mentor the younger as a matter of course.

Trinity School at Meadow View 5

Posted April 23, 2009
- a parent
Trinity is a great educational environment for young men and women. Our son is grateful for the quality of the teachers, the Christian character of the school, and the challenging course work. He is genuinely happy to go to school each day.

Trinity School at Meadow View
no rating

Posted March 27, 2009
- a parent
My oldest son is about to graduate from Trinity school. He has received a full merit scholarship to his first choice college. He handled the entire application completion process on his own (with his Trinity guidance counselor). This self-starting, mature young man is a pretty standard Trinity graduate from what I have seen and I know a lot of them. The headmaster at Trinity is one of the most dedicated men I have ever met. He can be tough and demanding but he's preparing young men and women for a tough world that is hostile to the Christian world view.


Trinity School at Meadow View 3

Posted March 13, 2009
- a student
Trinity is pretty hit or miss. The teachers tend to be superb or disasterous, and the academic structure can either nurture or crush ambition and desire for learning. I had so many wonderful experiences with the school, but the narrow community and petty punishments left me feeling pretty lukewarm.

Trinity School at Meadow View 5

Posted January 17, 2009
- a parent
My son just started at Trinity and I am thrilled. Though he scored high on standardized testing, he always complained about doing homework, even when he had very little of it to do, and he didn't really seem driven to learn. Turns out he was bored! Since he started at Trinity I keep asking myself who the kid is in my living room with the suddenly-beautiful handwriting insisting on doing 3+ hours of homework per night without a peep of complaint! My son is very comfortable at Trinity and is excited to come home and share what he's learned at school each day. This change in him is worth the world to me and will potentially change his life dramatically forever. It's a testament to the teachers and administrators at the school that this kind of miracle can happen in the environment they have set up there.

Trinity School at Meadow View
no rating

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
I have one child who is a Trinity grad, one in 8th grade, and another starting next fall. We LOVE the school. Our oldest daughter who graduated had the usual litany of teenage issues, but at a far lower intensity level than I see in my own students. Trinity does not encourage the kids to 'pair up', like what you see in most high schools; they encourage collegiate friendships between students and it makes for very healthy boy-girl relationships without all the drama. My grad went there fearing the rigors of the math and science program and found that her teachers were more than happy to help her after school and even accepted phone calls at home on weekends to assist with homework. My younger child has so far not had any difficulty with his classes (knock on wood). It's a tough school, but what a great learning environment.


Trinity School at Meadow View 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
What a gem! In all the Washington, D.C. area, with all the schools available to us, we came across this incredible school. It has everything of importance that you could hope for. Dedicated teachers, committed parents, a respectful and engaging student body, inclusive sports program (div. 3 Virgina State Lacrosse Champions 2008!) free after-school study hall, free after-school Latin and math/science tutoring and a Headmaster that is truly dedicated to the philosophy of the school and readily accessible to all students and parents. Is your child artistic? At Trinity, all students are artistic! You will be amazed at the artwork that all the students produce. Is your child musical? At Trinity, all students not only learn to read music (if they don't already know now) they play an instrument and compose music, as well. There is not enough room here to describe this wonderful environment. Visit and see for yourself!

Trinity School at Meadow View 3

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
Chuckled reading the latest review by TMV's Fundraising Chair, Mr. Upchurch. That people associated with TMV are nice and the best may be true, but TMV is not a social club. At $12,000-plus a year and climbing parents deserve much more than Meadow View delivers. The faculty is well-educated and dedicated, but the rigidity of the Trinity curriculum means the faculty generally delivers an approved script, rather than teaches. The teacher-student ratio of 16:1 max, and teaching loads of 50 students tops should allow teachers to 'individualize' instruction (even within TMV curriculum!) - TMV's 'Socratic' method puts the burden on the kids. The headmaster can be an autocratic bully - especially with women - the 'parent service association' implements his will. There is no extra-curricular program only lunch or after school clubs. Parents considering TMV should read the Student, Parent and Faculty Handbooks, and before making this commitment. Caveat emptor.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity School at Meadow View
2849 Meadow View Road, Falls Church, VA  22042
(703) 876-1920
Last modified Trinity School at Meadow View is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Trinity School at Meadow View Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top