Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Longfellow Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 1330 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 23, 2013

Longfellow Middle School is a great school. The classes are great and even the worst teachers teach everything you need to know. The music department is really awesome with the coolest teachers and great orchestras, bands, and choirs. They even offer guitar! LMS is a great school and I can't think of another school or any other place I would like to go to. Yes the hallways can be a bit crowded, but its not hard to navigate in them at all!


Posted November 10, 2013

Longfellow's test scores may be good, but the teachers grade incredibly low and will lower you high school GPA if you choose to take a high school course.


Posted November 3, 2013

I am a student at Longfellow and it has been a good school for me, but for other kids it is a nightmare. I am taking all honors so that makes it easier popularity wise other than the constant grade comparing. For the kids who are taking some or no honors classes are looked down apon from the teachers, staff, and other kids. There is lots of bulling between kids ( especially with the girls ) but it is hidden so well that no one notices, or even if they do they just pretend that it never happened. Academically the school does very well and copes very well with the AAP parents getting mad that their children are in the same math class as the math honors kids, even though the AAP kids are taking algebra 1, but you gotta know the GT ( AAP ) parents. I like the school, just make sure that if your kids that are going to attend Longfellow that you put them in abercrombie or whatever is in style and put them in all honors, it will help ALOT.


Posted October 12, 2013

My daughter is an eighth grader this year. Mostly, she has had a positive experience at LMS. She has made lots of new friends and has learned a lot from her mostly great teachers. She had has two teachers who did not measure up and the administration wasn't as helpful as they could have been in terms of addressing the problem or approving schedule changes, but what are you going to do? I guess take the good with the bad. The school itself is lovely, newly renovated, and the after school activities are great. There's a wide range of activities to choose from. For the most part, we can't complain. It's been a mostly positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

This school offers good academics. Most of the teachers are good - some are excellent, nice after school programs. No extra sports. Didn't seem to be many fights or drug problems in the school. There is a bullying problem however it's true. The administration seems to treat the victims of the bullying as if it's their problem that they are being victimized, instead of calling out the bullies for punishment or reeducation. One counselor said to me "We don't have a problem with bullies here." She was right. The staff doesn't have a problem with bullies, they tolerate them and cultivate them. Shame on you Longfellow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Longfellow is terrible. I was bullied everyday and nobody did ANYTHING to stop it. I told the principal an the admin and they just sat and watched as my life fell apart. I was bullied for taking general ed classes I was called stupid at least twice a day. I hate it and had to transfer to Copper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

Longfellow is a great place for AAP or GT students, as well as other kids. They have extracurricular activities ranging from anime club, to rocketry (GO ROCKETRY!), to Dr. Who club, and Volleyball and other sports. They offer Honors, AA, and regular classes, and all of the classes I take are challenging. The teachers are nice, but the school has way too many kids for its size, even though it had a recent expansion. There is a lot of cultural diversity at LMS. Another thing I love is the music program. The band teachers are amazing, and work really hard, like all of the other teachers there. In a certain part of the school, there is a case showing all of the recent awards that our math team, band, Science Olympiad, and art kids have won. It's truly an amazing school.


Posted February 14, 2010

i think that when i put my child in this school it was way too crowded. It had the Busiest hallways. Why, I almost got knocked over when i went to drop off luck for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I think Longfellow is very good for GT students, but I have my reservations for the students who don't match the GT profile. There are a lot of distractions and negative synergies when it comes to middle school so perhaps my comments would be the same for any middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

This school is great and has wonderful extracurricular activities and programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2007

I love going to this school. The teachers are great, and they make sure to provide curriculum that's challenging enough for GT students. Longfellow also has a really great math counts team. I think all of the programs are exceptional, and Longfellow Middle School works hard to stay great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

Incredible school, great teachers and staff. Wonderful Gifted and Talented program. Nationally recognized band, great music program. Strong PTA.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2007

I cannot think of another middle school in this area (or anywhere) which provides the kind of academic excellance required for highly motivated, brilliant children. When the students of Longfellow enter a competition, they hardly come home without a medal. I wish every child gets the benefit of attending this school. We are glad to be the lucky ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Longfellow is known for its GT Center, but it also has a strong regular program and very few discipline problems. The math department has many great teachers and levels of classes. The music (strings, band and chorus) program is exceptional. Other departments have a few excellent teachers, but are more of a mixed bag. Activities range from intramurals to academic teams, including a math team that usually places 1st in Virginia. In 2005-06, two new teachers sponsored a Science Olympiads team. The popular assistant principal sponsors a chess team, with an instructor paid by the PTA. The school also has the standard activities, like yearbook, newspaper, play, etc. Afterschool clubs generally depend on unusually dedicated teachers who work long hours without pay. These teams sometimes get support from the PTA, which also organizes and many schoolwide activities for students, teachers and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 75% in 2013.

579 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 71% in 2013.

665 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 70% in 2013.

651 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 88% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

669 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students95%
Female students95%
Male students95%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students97%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial97%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient students77%
Proficient in English97%

Math

All Students82%
Female students84%
Male students79%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students76%
Hispanic69%
Multiracial67%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities57%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students65%
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students94%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black students81%
Asian students97%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial96%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities71%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students68%
Proficient in English96%

English: Writing

All Students94%
Female students97%
Male students92%
Black students82%
Asian students99%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial97%
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students66%
Proficient in English96%

Math

All Students93%
Female students96%
Male students90%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students98%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students95%
Female students96%
Male students95%
Black students81%
Asian students97%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students76%
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

456 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Female students99%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students99%
Hispanic100%
Multiracial100%
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English100%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female students100%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian students100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient students100%
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Carole Kihm

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2000 Westmoreland St
Falls Church, VA 22043
Phone: (703) 533-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. John Academy
McLean, VA




George Mason High School
Falls Church, VA


St. James Catholic School
Falls Church, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT