Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Falls Church, VA
 

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pine Spring Elementary School 5

Posted February 02, 2015
- a parent
How can you give a bad grade to this wonderful school with amazing staff and teachers? Probably because parents expect too much. I've never seen any problems with this school. Principal Peri is a very funny and the kind person! He makes sure students and teachers are enjoying learning and make every school events fun. Also giving parents great tips on how to become a better teacher to our children. I have never had any teachers I had problem with. They are all nice and know what each student needs. Thanks to them, my son loves to learn math and other countries (thanks to the cultural diversity at this school!)
1 person found this helpful

Pine Spring Elementary School 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
To all the reviewer, did you see the English and Math score? How it is going down in recent years? Few of the teacher neglect the parents due their ethnicity. The principal is scared of veteran teachers. The office staff's are efficient. The nurse is clueless. I'm scared of the security standards of the school - back door open etc. So, here is the answer to my first question, "Yes I am afraid, my kid will be treated differently; if I open my mouth on the PTA". Good bless!!!


Pine Spring Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Clean and staff and pta very involved. Lots of school pta events that are fun for parents and kids.

Pine Spring Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a community member
4 stars is so completely wrong, I would at least give Pine Spring a 9. I went there from k to 6th grade and I have nothing but good memories of that place. The staff is very dedicated, and its a great environment for kids to learn at. The afterschool program is great as well.

Pine Spring Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
Wow, I just can't believe the "4" rating that Greatschools gives Pine Spring! Just 2 years ago it was a "7" and things have only improved there and in the surrounding communities. What did change was a tougher state-wide math test, and across the board every VA elementary school will appear to have worsened in Math because of the new criteria. The teachers at this school are awesome, and the PTA holds many fun activities for the kids throughout the year. The SACC program is enriching and there are several before and after school activities for the kids. The school building itself is clean and in very good repair, and a place of learning in which the kids can be proud. The school lunches are definitely above average, nutrition-wise, and the new Principal, Mr. Peri, has met and exceeded the high expectations of the parents. I really urge Greatschools to look deeper than just the one-year decline in the Math scores due to the tougher state criteria.


Pine Spring Elementary School 4

Posted April 01, 2012
- a community member
Well, I'm a student at Pine spring, sixth grade. I don't really know how to give an unbiased review, so I'll just make a list, so you can decide the pros and cons. - Variety of unique foreign students ( Asians, Koreans, Americans, Indians (came from india), Spanish, Phillipeno, Portirican, etc...) If you're from a different country, you can't feel left out! - Excellent STAFF members, the janitor seems to be on duty 24/7 so nice! The sixth grade teachers prepare you for middle school amazingly. The other special teachers try to make learning easier using their own creative ideas and try to communicate. - Early/Extra time, early release Mondays, yay! But, they seem to add extra time on other week days. So sad... - Academic Programs, not really challenging, and the teachers usually hold off on continuing for a few minutes or a day or so until everyone understands the subject. It helps greatly in helping someone's education, but on the other hand, it halts the other students' progress. Most teachers. - Socializing, normally the school staff encourages socializing, but, just be careful not to let your child too much freedom at home. I still get migraines at the bus, remember tone!

Pine Spring Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
I've had 3 children go through this school, so I've been a parent here since 1999. I have been extremely pleased by so many hard working teachers, unbelievable principals, and just an all-around wonderful school climate and community. The pta puts on a lot of really nice events, including my favorite - International Night, which really showcases what a rich and diverse community attends Pine Spring. My oldest is at TJ now and I know he was very well prepared at Pine Spring.

Pine Spring Elementary School 5

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Pine Spring Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful teachers! I loved that my son got to go to an all day kindergarten. Another great thing is that they don't have early releases unlike other schools. This is great for working parents who would have to get off work early to pick up the children. Pine Spring has been great to my son and daughter. :)

Pine Spring Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
The school's principal, Mrs. Bradley, is a gifted leader. She sets the tone. She is confident in her very competent staff and trusts them and delegates to them; they in turn feel trusted and supported by her. She not only earns her staff's trust and loyalty, she earns the parents' trust and loyalty. She is very involved, but is not a micromanager! Communication with parents is excellent, they are made to feel they are a vital and important part of the school. It's a team approach all around. It's a very diverse school, which is a real plus, and everybody pulls together. Fairfax County Public Schools has a real gem in Pine Spring!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pine Spring Elementary School
7607 Willow Ln, Falls Church, VA  22042
(571) 226-4400
Last modified Pine Spring Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pine Spring Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top