Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Falls Church, VA
Students enrolled: 557

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Woodburn Elementary School 4

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Woodburn ES has a wonderful team including the principal, asst. principal, teachers, staffs, and PTA. Just hope that more parents will participate in all events to show supports and to help giving ideas to make it excellent for our kids, not just above average.

Woodburn Elementary School 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Woodburn is a wonderful school, with teachers and administrators who truly care about helping every child succeed. Woodburn has a unique arts focus. Every third grader takes violin. Band and orchestra begin in the fourth grade, and the band has a strong partnership with George Mason University. By the sixth grade, when most other schools' band programs begin, our children are accomplished beginners. In art classes, students are introduced to a wide variety of mediums, from portraits to wire sculptures to pottery. Our son has attended Woodburn since kindergarten and is now a rising sixth grader. He's thrived here. A previous commenter mentioned bullying, but I don't think this school has a problem with that. Most of the children I've encountered in our six years at this culturally and economically diverse school have been exceptionally kind.


Woodburn Elementary School 1

Posted January 24, 2012
- a parent
Horrible school! My daughter came crying home! For two years by now! She's in sixth grade and is getting bullied! She was telling me about her school and I don't agree with any of the reports and review! The buses and teacher and STUDENTS, are all horrible!

Woodburn Elementary School 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
We love this school! Great student teacher ratios! The new renovation is fantastic and it feels like a small community one would find in a small town in the midst of chaotic suburbia. Go Wildcats!

Woodburn Elementary School 3

Posted June 18, 2009
- a community member
Bullying and cliques start in second grade and although the teachers try, the kids are quite sneaky and still able to torment others. Second grade student will be moved to a private school because of this situation. Child must have a tutor this summer because the new school is ahead in math and other areas. OK school but not top notch by any lengths. One of the first grade teachers was terrific and had the kids doing school work at the 3rd/4th grade levels. But second grade was a waste of time for this student.


Woodburn Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2008
- a parent
Great school - Kindergarten has wonderful teacher student ratios and, within the sprawling NoVa suburbs that we live in, this school actually feels like a small community. The arts integration program is an added bonus... and school is currently under renovation. Very pleased!

Woodburn Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2008
- a parent
My niece and cousin go to Woodburn Elementay. I have to agree with Lynn. It is by far a great school!!! It is about tine for my daughter to go to school and I am actually moving to Annandale only so she can benefit for their great curriculum... Her father is a musician and I am a graphic artist and we see an early interest on these areas on her... so we actually want her to exploit and thrive on this program... Go Wildcats!

Woodburn Elementary School 5

Posted January 08, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Woodburn Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2005
- a parent
Woodburn is a fantastic elementary school that has developed an arts-integrated curriculum. It is NOT a magnet school. Rather through the hard work and enthusiasm of our teachers for arts integration, we have changed the name to reflect this interest and focus. We have a very ethnically diverse student population and celebrate that through classroom and family activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodburn Elementary School
3401 Hemlock Dr, Falls Church, VA  22042
(703) 641-8200
Last modified Woodburn Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodburn Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top