Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thomas Jefferson Elementary School

Public | 2-4 | 466 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

We have a good teachers, who helps my daughter, on the other hand my daughter was tested for adhd, her previous school recommended the "504" in order to recognize her disability. we talk to the front office but so far no one has agreed to enroll her. It is funny, because my older daughter in Hellen Henderson. They were very responsive to my daughter 's need
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

Excellent school. Great teachers & parent involvement. We are lucky to have our kids in this wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

What happened to my other review??!!!!! -Great school, former student, I loved it, and it's a good thing the fifth grade is moving back.


Posted October 24, 2012

Fantastic school overall. Well structured. Excellent teachers. Unbelieveable amount of parent care and involvement in this school. Parents of students place very high value on education and help out a lot with classroom activities. I have been impressed since day one as to the quality of education at this school. I attended a very good school system as a kid and this school system in Falls Church City is far superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

Thomas Jefferson is an amazing place. The teachers are dedicated, the administration is responsive and the atmosphere is friendly and nurturing. Everyone form the librarian to the PE teachers to the bus driver seems to genuinely care about the kids. I am blown away by the parent involvement not only in classroom activities but also in programs like Outdoor Classroom. My son is very happy here! And ultimately that's the most important thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

I have a 2nd grader and a 4th grader at Thomas Jefferson and I am very happy with the quality of instruction. Each of the teachers that my children have had have been attentive to their individual needs. I'm very happy with this school. The parental involvement is amazing - if you don't respond quickly you'll miss out on field trips or other opportunities to volunteer in the classroom because there are usually so many other people vying for those spots.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2010

Really good studies Way of teaching and learning is very good Excellent field trips and school programs


Posted December 9, 2010

Teachers are excellent and it appears that the school focuses on continued staff development. Also, in addition to quality, there is quantity of teachers and support staff. Excellent support for special needs and individualized instruction. Could not be happier with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

tremendous ethics and values; strong pta and parent involvement; boutique school while still being large
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

I agree with the second parent, good school, nothing great. Many good teachers, some mediocre ones. Music program is wonderful, Mrs. Harbison is terrific. It also has an after-school program operating at the school...which, helps working parents, but the quality is less than average, and that dragged the total star rating down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

TJ Elementary has been a fabulous experience for my children. Not only is this a small town school where teachers and staff recognize parents and children, TJ is fortunate to be in a highly recognized school district with excellent education. Many families are able to walk to the school which adds even more small-town feel to the school. Both of my children have had excellent, caring and intelligent teachers who see each child as an individual. These instructors are patient and work to help each child achieve at their pace and within their learning style. Music programs include band (practice is before school) and music class. Unfortunately, no orchestra is offered but the school music teacher is fabulous, as have been the band instructors. Parental involvement in on the high side with many parents involved during the school year in assisting for parties, chaperoning, etc. It is a wonderful place for children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

My child has been going to this school for 3 yrs now.It's a good school but nothing very great.Academically children are not much challenged but good music program.Parents involment is good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
92%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

155 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students88%
Female students92%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial92%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students43%
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students84%
Female students86%
Male students82%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial92%
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students93%
Female students95%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracial100%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficient students73%
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students93%
Female students94%
Male students93%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracial91%
White students95%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English94%

Math

All Students96%
Female students94%
Male students98%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial100%
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Bob Palermo

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 S Oak St
Falls Church, VA 22046
Phone: (703) 248-5660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. James Catholic School
Falls Church, VA




Mt. Daniel School
Falls Church, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT