Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grafton Village Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 580 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

Love this school! Very warm, inviting, professional atmosphere! My two children have had a variety of teachers and blossomed under their guidance and care. I especially liked how my kids learned to adapt to different teacher styles, had a varied amount of homework every year ,and made new friends each year. Most importantly they learned A LOT in so many creative ways! What better preparation for middle school? Thank you to the principal, assistant principal and teachers and staff of Grafton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

My children & I absolutely loved this school! My daughter attended K-3rd grade & my son K-1st. The principal,vice principal & teachers were amazing! The best thing about this school,is the academically struggling children didn't just get lost in the crowd.Its an overall great place for your children to feel comfortable & learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My daughter attended Grafton from K- 3rd. Overall, I have been disappointed with the lack of planning on the schools behalf as well as the teachers. When they have an event at school, you won t receive any info until the day before. Unless it's a PTA thing. Then you will be over loaded! A lot of the teachers are 1st time teachers and it really shows. We had a wonderful 2nd grade teacher.. But the rest have been barley up to par. The office and principle are hit or miss, Sometimes the office is helpful. But they do have a older lady that is more willing to be rude than to send you to the right person for your concern. I have had that issue 3 times now. You can't get past her to speak to the Principle. It's very upsetting that she is allowed to treat parents little to no respect and seems to care less about our concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

My eldest daughter attended this school from second grade through fifth grade, my son kindergarten through fifth grade, and I now have a preschooler attending the inclusion class as a special education student. Overall I would not recommend this school and do not intend to send my youngest there. The leadership from the principal is poor. He is a nice man, but not a great administrator. There are of course some wonderful teachers, but overall I did not find my elder two well-prepared for middle school. Neither maintained a rigorous homework routine, especially in fifth grade. I know other parents have expressed the same concern. Their work habits should be at least introduced so they are not in for such a shock once middle school begins. The principal and vice principal determine class placements and are known for streaming the same students together all six years. It creates so much stress and heartbreak each fall when the kids return from summer break. I've heard of other school districts assigning students to their new classroom before the school year ends, which allows the students to meet their new teacher, see who is in their class, and not worry over the summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I loved this school. This is a school where they make learning fun. The great school ratings do not do it justice. This is much better than the school I attended in Arizona (that has a better rating and was an awful school) and I learn a lot more. I wish there were more teachers like the ones they have here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2007

I have 2 boys in this school and they love it. My 5th grader is always challenged with his work and is loving it. My 1st grader is blossoming. I can not say enough good things about the quality of teachers at this school. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2006

My daughter has attended this community school from 2nd through 5th grade. We have been very pleased with the quality and caring of the teachers and staff. They have a full-time music education teacher, art teacher and physical education instructors. My children have been quite happy attending. I like the community, personal feel of a smaller school. Our son has been having a few problems with reading(first grade). His teacher looped up from K-garten with his class to 1st grade this year. That has helped my son tremendously because the teacher knows his kids so well, their strengths, areas that need improvement, etc. Many parents are involved with volunteering in the classrooms and elsewhere through the school, be in the PTA, field trips, planning for classroom parties and events, etc. The office staff is friendly, helpful and understanding, and seems to know just about all the kids and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

My duaghter started kindergarten this year and I could not have asked for a more helpful school. EVERYONE is so pleasent and reaussuring. There are so many resources and options for you to turn to. And as far as the principal, she is great, always smiling and very involved with all her staff, students and parents, thats why she is so busy, we love her so much. I myself am a teacher and was very weary of everything. We will be at grafton for a very long time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2005

I work at this school a lot as a parent of two students. I've never had any trouble speaking to the principal. Grafton is a great school. My children have had nurturing caring teachers and it's been a positive introduction to school. We have had really wonderful librarians and enthusiastic teachers. My kids love it. I've had great access to everyone. The staff can't help you enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I think there is no Principal leadership in this school. When you want to talk to her she is too busy. She just isn't involved. The Ast. Principal is the only one I ever see doing things around the school. I spend a lot of time at this school. I have been very disappointed in this school and plan on transfering my child out next year. Everyone told me how wonderful this school was...Boy, was I shocked!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students73%
Female students82%
Male students67%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students64%
Female students59%
Male students67%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students67%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students85%
Female students86%
Male students84%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students65%
Female students80%
Male students50%
Black students55%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%

Math

All Students71%
Female students75%
Male students68%
Black students36%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students72%
Male students78%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

English: Writing

All Students74%
Female students76%
Male students71%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students71%
Female students67%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students83%
Female students78%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

501 Deacon Rd
Falmouth, VA 22405
Phone: (540) 373-5454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Conway Elementary School
Fredericksburg, VA




Ferry Farm Elementary School
Fredericksburg, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT