Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Breckinridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 244 students

Our school is best know for our dedicated staff and focus on student learning.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

Breckinridge is a truly exceptional school, with outstanding teachers, staff, and leadership. Our children have thrived at BES, as have children of our friends and neighbors. The atmosphere is upbeat, positive, and supportive of learning at all levels. A great asset to the community at large.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

This school has double standards! My child has being hurt and bullied and there was no punishment for the bullies, because my child does not cry about it! But if my child jokes or says anything and the other child cries my chilld is always punished.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

Breckinridge doesn't have a lot to offer kids that are above average. They don't even give awards for straight A's. My kids have gone to other public schools and this by far was the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love our school because the faculty and staff go the extra mile. They love the kids and even the caffeteria ladies know the kids names. Everyone is so friendly and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Of the four schools my children have attended over the years, this was their least favorite by far. The environment in the upper grades at the school is particularly negative and damaging to children. My children learned relatively little and rarely felt happy or welcomed at Breckenridge. Thankfully, they've moved on to another school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

I have two kids at this school now and we love it. Their teachers are wonderful and caring. The faculty as a whole are devoted to my kids and we appreciate it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

I have had three children at Breckinridge. One graduated from high school in 1999; one finished Breckinridge in 2003 and one is currently a second grade student there. I have nothing but praise for this school. The teachers truly care about the quality of education and the welfare of each child, and it shows. My children have thrived there. I had taken advantage of many opportunities to volunteer in various aspects over the years, and have always felt appreciated. I am thankful that my children had the chance to get a great start in education at Breckinridge Elementary. Terry Tucker
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

My child has attended Breckinridge Elementary for the past two years (1st and 2nd grades). I have been very impressed with everything about this school. It really is the small school with the big heart. My daughter has really thrived there and we were made welcome from day one. We will be moving and she will attend a different Botetourt County school, but we will always treasure the time spent at Breckinridge. It also really impressed me the way all of the teachers, the principal, and the rest of the staff knows each child by name and makes them feel welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

For the most part, Breckinridge's teachers are great at teaching the students but when requested that my child get extra after school help with Math three times, I never got a reply. I had to resort to homeschooling while sending my child to school. Certain teachers do not care to explain the work to them so the parents have to do what the teacher gets paid for. After sending two of my children to Breckinridge, there have only been two teachers that will not help one of my children understand even though it is a small school with small classrooms and these two teachers will not communicate with me until my child gets a bad grade even though I've written notes and spoke with the principal about helping my child understand the work better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students82%
Female students86%
Male students76%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students77%
Female students71%
Male students83%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students76%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Science

All Students87%
Female students86%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students70%
Female students75%
Male students67%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students70%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students86%
Female students87%
Male students85%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students98%
Female students96%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%

English: Writing

All Students88%
Female students87%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students90%
Female students91%
Male students89%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

Science

All Students98%
Female students96%
Male students100%
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students98%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Debra D. Deitrich
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Preschool
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Central Academy Middle School
James River High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

331 Springwood Rd
Fincastle, VA 24090
Phone: (540) 473-8386

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT