Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

General Stanford Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 580 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2013

Until this year I thought this was a rather decent school for my kids to attend. This year I feel as though the administration has become overly focused on rules and regulations and less focused on the needs of the children. The children seem to be a hindrance. I suppose it may be a symptom of a larger issue, that of parents not teaching their kids at home how to behave properly. There are many classroom distractions and from what my child conveys, kids disrupt the class so often by talking when they should be quiet that it s tough to get work done. It s very disappointing. If your child is obedient, excels academically, and is able to follow rules, don t expect them to get much attention at this school. Just be sure to give them that attention at home and know they won t have to be at this school for too long!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Poor school! Never ask for parent volunteers. Never respond to questions or concerns. I would ask to vlunteer and was told no several times. Principal is decent but teacher of the year is a poor excuse for excellence. I get attitude when I voice concerns about bullying. I removed my daughter due to the poor professionalism and negative responses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2011

This school has some good points. It is a newly built school and some of the teachers that work there are amazing. The biggest problem with this school is the leadership. The principal does not in my opinion care one bit for the students who attend his school. The school bends the rules when it comes to things such as PTA and other issues. I believe if the leadership within the school was changed it would be a much better school and our children would greatly benefit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

My kids went to school at Gen Stanford last year. I have to honestly say I was not too impressed. My kids were very bored because they were not challenged. They complained that the teachers were boring and that they did not teach with excitement and enthusiasm. I was surprised to see that parent involvement got a 3 star rating. This was one of my biggest complaints about GS. They do not ask for parents to volunteer for anything! Many of us parents felt like the school/administration did not want us to be involved. They do not even ask for parents to chaperone for field trips. The good news is that the PTA is a new faces. I think this is exactly what this school needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

I just love this school and the teachers are the best.....I wish my children could go from K-12 with these type of teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I absolutely love this school, the teachers and the administration. I have done a lot of volunteering in the school, so I have been able to get an inside look. Everyone is helpful and eager to address any issue. This is the BEST school NNPS has, and its sad, but it is only for children who live on Fort Eustis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

I love the fact that there are so many people willing to help you and your child at this school, even the principle will take time out to talk to you. The teachers are wonderful, if they are busy they will always get back with you and at times have an inpromtue meeting if you have concerns with the class or your child. Newport News school system does seem to be the only thing that makes this school seem very frustrating for the parents. If our family hadn't moved my child would be going there for a third year and I haven't had a problem that wasn't easily addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

The elementary school is great, but the Newport News Public School System (NNPS) is frustrating. General Stanford has helped me with working with our special needs child. They are able to accommodate children with mild learning disorders.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
85%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
95%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students79%
Male students71%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial90%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students60%
Female students63%
Male students57%
Black students34%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial80%
White students79%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

Science

All Students84%
Female students81%
Male students86%
Black students74%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial100%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students72%
Female students75%
Male students69%
Black students69%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students59%
Female students53%
Male students64%
Black students45%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White students61%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students63%
Male students75%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English70%

English: Writing

All Students70%
Female students80%
Male students58%
Black students65%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students67%
Female students63%
Male students71%
Black students47%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White students75%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students83%
Female students77%
Male students89%
Black students71%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

929 Madison Ave.
Fort Eustis, VA 23604
Phone: (757) 888-3200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT