Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

S.P. Morton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 710 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

S.P. Morton is perhaps the worst school In which I have ever had the misfortune of setting foot. Our daughter attended Bright Starts there last year and was plagued with bullies, about which the teachers did nothing. Her teacher was arrested and suspended without pay for months, then reinstated without mention of the entire incident to her students' parents. The school is filthy and in shambles. There is NO security to speak of - any time we went to pick up our daughter we were to just walk right in, go by ourselves to her class and retrieve her. Halfway through the year, we withdrew her and homeschooled. We now pay $3,500 non-jurisdiction tuition for her to attend IOWC schools and we could n t be more thrilled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Teachers are dedicated to the children. Great organization and the most imoprtant thing, kids achieve the required knowledge and enjoy going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

School is really good, teachers care for kids. School puts a lot of effort to help kids achieve their full potential. Had 3 kids go through. Only nice memories. Hopefully stays like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My son is now in the 1st grade at SPM. Before he started school, I had heard terrible stories about the school. My husband and I are believers in public schools, but we wanted to make sure we got the best for our son. We went to meet the principal before enrolling. He spent as much time as we wanted during his busy schedule to tell us about the school and we were free to visit the classrooms, library, etc. This was our first example of how much the school cares about the families. Since then we learned that family-oriented programs are the norm here, and that they go way beyond what other area schools do to provide opportunities for success. My son's kindergarten experience was tremendous. I couldn't have asked for more. His first grade so far is also very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

I have 3 children going on their second year within this school. As a prior military family, I have been involved with 7 different elementary schools across the years, all over the country. That said, this is the worse school I have ever been involved with. The bullying and disrespect of teachers and fellow students are horrendous, the administration will not take students words for any incidents at school and will only go by what adults see. If an adult doesn't see it, it doesn't happen. I am seriously considering homeschooling my children just to get them away from this poisonous environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

I love this school! I love the ability that parents have to be involved with their child and their education, and wish more parents would take advantage of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

I was skeptical when I had to enroll my children into S. P. Morton Elem. However, they have been there 2 years and I could not be more pleased. I do believe the more a parent is involved with the school the more the child gets out of school. I am involved and I am pleased overall. I enjoy the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

This is a great school, my daughter finished 5th grade with great SOL scores way up from the year before at a neighboring elementary school. I saw a wonderful improvement in her academic performance. Now my son is in Kindergarten and we are very happy with the wonderful teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

Our Daughter is in 3rd Grade at SP Morton and we LOVE IT! We moved here two years ago and were mislead about the school, we actually placed her in a neighboring school system and paid tuition. We met a few parents and one of the OUTSTANDING Kindergarten teachers over the summer and decided we would try it and see. Well, there was no doubt that SP Morton was just as good if not BETTER then the one we were paying tuition for. The Principal and Assistant Principals are the most caring individuals I have seen in an Elementary School. The Teachers are FANTASTIC. We have a few students that are considered 'at-risk' and these teachers have them reading by the time they are finished with Kindergarten! I would rank SP Morton as one of the TOP Elementary Schools in Virginia!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

I have 2 children enrolled in this school.(2nd and 4th grade) I have been very pleased with their school experiences at SP Morton. My children are both in the gifted(TypeII) program and are constantly challenged academically. The principals and teachers all care a great deal about the students and families. The reading curriculum is outstanding as well as the gifted program. My children and I take great pride in their school and would highly recommend it for its variety of programs to support children of all ability levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2006

I have been to this school and was very impressed with the techers, the administration (especially the assistant principals), and with the students. I understand 80% of the students enter this school are considered at risk.. and many are from single family homes. I would put this school up against any school in virginia and beleive it would outscore other schools if it were in a 'middle class' neighborhood. The teachers truely are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
77%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students59%
Female students60%
Male students58%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students88%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English59%

Math

All Students41%
Female students31%
Male students52%
Black students29%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities40%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English41%

Science

All Students65%
Female students65%
Male students66%
Black students56%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students38%
Female students39%
Male students37%
Black students30%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities39%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English38%

Math

All Students32%
Female students32%
Male students33%
Black students26%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities34%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students49%
Female students56%
Male students41%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English49%

English: Writing

All Students38%
Female students54%
Male students16%
Black students28%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English38%

Math

All Students45%
Female students48%
Male students41%
Black students40%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students82%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English45%

Science

All Students60%
Female students55%
Male students65%
Black students54%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White students100%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Debbie Harris Rollins

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Morton Street
Franklin, VA 23851
Phone: (757) 562-5458

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rock Church School
Franklin, VA





Southampton Academy
Courtland, VA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT