Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spotswood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
I say too much, but I don't mean it as a negative. I would rather they have too much than not enough!

Spotswood Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a parent
My daughter started Kindergarten this year at Spotswood and we loved it. Mrs Smith, her teacher, was fabulous! The kids really were put to work with the studies there and kept my daughter fully engaged the entire year. Not sure why it has a low rating but in 2015/16 year, I felt they did a great job and am very pleased with the school. I wish we weren't moving so my daughter could continue there, just hoping the next school we go to is as good as Spotswood was!


Spotswood Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a community member
This is my Grandson's first experience with formal schooling, he is in Kindergarden, and I must say his teachers are GREAT!!!! They are very supportive and involved in ensuring each student reaches their potential. We are very pleased with the school.

Spotswood Elementary School 2

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
The teachers and office staff here are very sweet and the principle is very capable. We like the open campus and play grounds. Everything feels very safe. The only issue we have is the curriculum. It's sadly lacking. We've been in two other counties in Virginia and they were both academically challenging, we were expecting the same or similar from Spotsylvania County schools. If it weren't for that this school would be amazing. Wonderful people.

Spotswood Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
I think the ratings of this school are misleading. It is a great school with wonderful teachers. It is older and in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Many great students. Like any school and child, if you work hard and parents involved you will do well. Students do excel here. There are students bused in that struggle.


Spotswood Elementary School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
I am not sure why this school continues to get a bad reputation. Sure there may have been issues in the distant past but when Ms. Monroe took over as principal it changed the entire culture of the school. The teachers there are top notch and the administration can handle any incident swiftly and professionally. As a parent I am concern with my children's education not the looks of the school. Sure its an older facility but its what happens inside the facility that really counts. I am proud that my children attend here. Security of the children is the most import agenda of this school and you feel that the moment you enter the campus. An open campus presents a unique challenge but the staff has systems in place to ensure the school is as safe as any other if not more. The PTO has a sound group to lead, they just need better parent participation. Its easy to point fingers but often the finger pointers are not willing to offer any help . Sure everyone is busy but it takes an entire community to make a school great.

Spotswood Elementary School 1

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
We have been looking to buy a house and came upon a house in this school district.Looking from the below downswings on the scores. A Gauge to us that we should move to another school district. We wonder why the homes in this school district are most reasonably priced. Having three children under the age of eight. We will keep looking to set down our roots elsewhere. Thank you Great schools and parents for your feedback.

Spotswood Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher at Spotswood, I want to explain why we have students raise their hands during an assembly. (We call it "Give me five") This is part of our school wide system that allows all adults to get students' attention in a quiet manner, but very quickly. Many schools nationwide use this Responsive Classroom technique. This is not meant to control students, but model and encourage quick attention to the teacher or administrator. As a teacher, teachers leaving a school is not always a bad thing. Our focus on working hard to meet all students needs may have not been the philosophy for some who left.


Spotswood Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy with the leadership of Principal Monroe. She is a staunch advocate and protector of all the children in her care, and she put a decisive end to any hint of bullying towards our child as soon as she was informed of any issues. The teachers are dedicated and caring, and the Scope program is excellent and challenging for the students. While not as architecturally appealing as newer schools, Spotswood is a supportive and encouraging learning environment.

Spotswood Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
I admit that I was nervous about the reviews I have read on this site and others but I am very happy so far. The staff is great and my daughter's teacher is amazing. I love that the PTO is involved. My only complaint is how many snow days they have when there is no snow on the ground and how there is no recess below 50 degrees but I understand that's a VA thing

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Spotswood Elementary School
400 Lorraine Ave, Fredericksburg, VA  22408
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (540) 898-1514
Last modified Spotswood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top