Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Massaponax High School

Public | 9-12 | 1880 students

Our school is best known for our AP program and our athletics.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2013

The teachers and coaches at this school are good and work hard with their limited resources. The administration is the problem here. They are unresponsive and make a lot of bad assumptions. The counselors have not been helpful with providing information and support for my college bound students. This school could do a much better job of partnering with parents and being proactive. When I called to speak with the principle about a problem I saw, I was told I could come speak if I liked but he WOULD NOT change his position. Not very much of a partnership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Although the ignorance, poverty, and discrimination are great problems to be resolved, Massaponax is a challenging school with great teachers volunteering their time to benefit students' education, excellence, and excelling. There are many amazing clubs and teachers that are accepting and will help a dedicated student prevail despite the odds or circumstances.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2013

Massaponax HS is a great and challenging experience for students. The leadership always puts kids first . Wonderful staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

My daughter is a senior at Massaponax High School, she just received a four year Army ROTC scholarship to the college of her choice. Thanks to the teachers and administration at the high school for continuing its great tradition of producing quality students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I graduated from Massaponax a few years ago, and I know quite a few of my teachers are still there working hard with limited resources. Day in and day out, they put forth their best in an overcrowded school, with more money for resources, I know they can better educate the students.


Posted September 2, 2009

I'd say massaponax high school is really a great school. I really have not noticed any bullying [ok, maybe that's just because the kids are so full of themselves they don't really care about beating up other kids] sports and drama are big in the school, which makes them hard to get into. and the teachers don't like kids using the bathroom, but it's really well run and i haven't had any problems with any of the teachers yet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

Best staff and sports in spots, hands down, i've been to them all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

I attended Massaponax High school and graduated in June. I'm now an alumni but now that I'm out of there, I can definately see the flaws. Teachers were nice and presentable but they didn't punish those who were a real problem seriously enough. I sat through a class my junior year where there was always an interuption. The teacher always gave almost a dozen warnings then detention but it wasn't enough . The same students always came back to class with bad attitudes and even cockier mouths. Students can be helpful though but sometimes they can be mean towards the disabled or anything they didn't understand. However, a bit of 'education' on the matter by a sibling of the disabled or a teacher always sets them straight some of the time. Some students are spoiled, others sort of tight-bottomed and refuse to back down. Overall, its a great school academic-wise.


Posted September 1, 2008

My daughter is attending school at Massaponex for the first time as a junior. Most teachers are very good but the kids are very rude and disrespectful and dont even get disciplined for the filthy mouths. One teacher actually announced on the first day of school that the kids are free to cuss in her class. It is so sad to see how the teachers are losing control these days. This school is a huge disappointment for my daughter who is a straight A top notch student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

I am a very proud parent of this school and my daughter. Just last evening, she was presented an Academic Letter, for her continued 4.0 GPA. This Pricipal of the school is 'Awesome' I am shocked at this school and what it has brought to my daughter. We recently were relocated from another state, during the middle of her Freshman year. She had been attending Private Catholic Schools during her entire school years, as such, this was a major 'change' for her, and us (her parents); however, we were unable to continue paying the additional for a 'Private Education', due to her mother having to resign in the workforce (because of the relocation.) This has been the best thing for our daughter, and we couldn't be more pleased with this school and it's teachers/administration. She is currently a sophomore and ranked #4 in her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

I attended Massaponax High School from 1998 through 2002, and as part of the first class to go all four years there, I can honestly say it's a fantastic school, aside from the standard problems such as over-crowding and what not. It's decently organized with a staff that, for the most part, genuinely cares about the students. I would recommend this school to parents who are seeking a public high school in the area for their children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 19, 2006

i attend massaponax high school and i think that it is <b>too over crowded</b> and that it needs a lot of improvement. the only thing i like is my guidance consouler and the soccer team. if i could go to another school, i would in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2005

Hi, we are current students at Massaponax High School from the class of 2005 and 2006. We would like to offer our time in order to say that we love this school and its princi-PAL :) Mr. Rodkey (JRod) is the most professional and devoted principal we have ever come across. Mr. Rodkey makes this school what it is. His school spirit and love for the students is unlike any other. The man is awesome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2004

Massapnax is very unorganized and slow due to obvious overcrowding.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2004

I am currently a student at Massaponax High School and I wouldnt go to any other school in the world if they paid me to. The school is so well run and everyone's needs and priorities are attended to by teachers and classmates. Next year I am supposed to go to Courtland High School because of the new lines. I refuse to do so. My parents agree I had one sister that attended MHS and did well I currently have another sister who is going to be a senior there next year, she refuses to switch also. The class of 2006 will always belong to Massaponax High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter attended Massaponax High School this past summer. Tim Watts was the summer school principal. Mr. Watts was a true joy to work with. His thoughtful care of children shines through. My daughter had some medical problems in the middle of the summer school session. Without his help and understanding my daughter would not have been able to finish her class. Mr. Watts came through for her with a smile. I really can't thank him enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

i went to this school for 4 years i love every day of it the people at massaponax are great i wish i could go back i would not go to any other school the football coachs are the best. class of 2002
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

495 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

429 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

402 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

388 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
94%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

480 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

448 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students72%
Female students80%
Male students66%
Black students68%
Asian students90%
Hispanic79%
Multiracial65%
White students73%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students92%
Proficient in English71%

Algebra II

All Students84%
Female students87%
Male students80%
Black students81%
Asian students87%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial64%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%

Biology

All Students87%
Female students88%
Male students87%
Black students79%
Asian students90%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial88%
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English89%

Chemistry

All Students76%
Female students77%
Male students75%
Black students62%
Asian students64%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Earth Science

All Students84%
Female students81%
Male students86%
Black students73%
Asian students90%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial91%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English85%

English: Reading

All Students90%
Female students93%
Male students88%
Black students83%
Asian students71%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial88%
White students96%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities75%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students87%
Female students93%
Male students80%
Black students81%
Asian students79%
Hispanic90%
Multiracial88%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities49%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English87%

Geometry

All Students73%
Female students71%
Male students75%
Black students61%
Asian students82%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial43%
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English74%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students86%
Female students85%
Male students86%
Black students78%
Asian students83%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial94%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficient students60%
Proficient in English86%

World Geography

All Students88%
Female students87%
Male students88%
Black students81%
Asian students84%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial95%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities51%
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English89%

World History I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History II

All Students81%
Female students82%
Male students81%
Black students69%
Asian students88%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial90%
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students45%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Battlefield Middle School
Thornburg Middle School
Spotsylvania Middle School
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 65% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 5% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 5% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation James Madison University
Old Dominion University
University of Virginia
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Newsweek Top HS (2010)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • FFA gold chapter (2012)
  • DECA honor school (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Special olympics

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French, German, Latin

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • SADD
  • Special olympics

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:35 am
School end time
  • 2:20 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Joseph A. Pisani
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • No

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Special education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Arabic languages
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Culinary
  • Electrical
  • Industrial / graphic design

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Intensive Learning Block
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Equestrian
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Spanish, French, German, Latin
  • Forensics club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Future Farmers of America
  • JROTC
  • Literary magazine
  • Marching band
  • National Honor Society
  • SADD
  • Science club
  • Special olympics
  • Student Advisory Council
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
High school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
James Madison University
Old Dominion University
University of Virginia
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 65%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 5%
Workforce - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8201 Jefferson Davis Hwy
Fredericksburg, VA 22407
Phone: (540) 710-0419

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Courthouse Academy Prgm.
Spotsylvania, VA


Courtland High School
Spotsylvania, VA



Gateway Academy
Spotsylvania, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT