Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Fredericksburg, VA
Students enrolled: 1,880
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Massaponax High School 3

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and coaches at this school are good and work hard with their limited resources. The administration is the problem here. They are unresponsive and make a lot of bad assumptions. The counselors have not been helpful with providing information and support for my college bound students. This school could do a much better job of partnering with parents and being proactive. When I called to speak with the principle about a problem I saw, I was told I could come speak if I liked but he WOULD NOT change his position. Not very much of a partnership.

Massaponax High School 4

Posted June 03, 2013
- a student
Although the ignorance, poverty, and discrimination are great problems to be resolved, Massaponax is a challenging school with great teachers volunteering their time to benefit students' education, excellence, and excelling. There are many amazing clubs and teachers that are accepting and will help a dedicated student prevail despite the odds or circumstances.


Massaponax High School 5

Posted March 31, 2013
- a parent
Massaponax HS is a great and challenging experience for students. The leadership always puts kids first . Wonderful staff.

Massaponax High School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Massaponax High School 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a senior at Massaponax High School, she just received a four year Army ROTC scholarship to the college of her choice. Thanks to the teachers and administration at the high school for continuing its great tradition of producing quality students.


Massaponax High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
I graduated from Massaponax a few years ago, and I know quite a few of my teachers are still there working hard with limited resources. Day in and day out, they put forth their best in an overcrowded school, with more money for resources, I know they can better educate the students.

Massaponax High School 5

Posted September 02, 2009
- a student
I'd say massaponax high school is really a great school. I really have not noticed any bullying [ok, maybe that's just because the kids are so full of themselves they don't really care about beating up other kids] sports and drama are big in the school, which makes them hard to get into. and the teachers don't like kids using the bathroom, but it's really well run and i haven't had any problems with any of the teachers yet.

Massaponax High School 4

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Massaponax High School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
Best staff and sports in spots, hands down, i've been to them all

Massaponax High School 3

Posted September 13, 2008
- a community member
I attended Massaponax High school and graduated in June. I'm now an alumni but now that I'm out of there, I can definately see the flaws. Teachers were nice and presentable but they didn't punish those who were a real problem seriously enough. I sat through a class my junior year where there was always an interuption. The teacher always gave almost a dozen warnings then detention but it wasn't enough . The same students always came back to class with bad attitudes and even cockier mouths. Students can be helpful though but sometimes they can be mean towards the disabled or anything they didn't understand. However, a bit of 'education' on the matter by a sibling of the disabled or a teacher always sets them straight some of the time. Some students are spoiled, others sort of tight-bottomed and refuse to back down. Overall, its a great school academic-wise.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Massaponax High School
8201 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA  22407
(540) 710-0419
Last modified Massaponax High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Massaponax High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top