Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chancellor High School

Public | 9-12 | 1377 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

Although Chancellor admittedly faces some challenges, a huge point of pride for this school is in the performing arts. Chancellor's choir, drama, band and orchestra are outstanding! Engaging and energetic arts teachers are inspiring their students to new heights, winning statewide awards and producing some of the best shows in the region. Anyone who just saw the Spring musical can attest to the commitment of these teachers and the talent of Chancellor students! If your child is motivated by the arts, Chancellor can offer them a great chance to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2013

This school is awful! The classes are freezing cold, the students run the classes, and the racial tension is REALLY bad. Most teachers really don't care if you pass or fail. The algebra 2 teachers are terrible. The school is EXTREMELY dirty especially the bathrooms. Humans and mice walk the halls together, along with spiders and cockroaches. Stay away from this school...its bad for your health.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2013

My daughter started 9th grade here in the fall of 2012. At the orientation meeting, the principal announced that this year marked the 25th anniversary of the school, and to celebrate, there would be a renewed and increased focus on... athletics. As a parent, I would have rather had the principal renew focus on academics. Sports are fine and all, but I think the primary purpose of a school is to educate the brains of our children, not work harder to improve the athletic department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

I'm very disappointed in this school- hygiene wise, teacherwise and such. It has not helped my grades to be at this school. I've failed two classes so far and can't graduate and earn enough classes for my high school diploma to be of use unless I finish out more core classes senior year. The teachers aren't the greatest, hygiene is bad- no soap in the bathroom- ALMOST NEVER, and principal is not concerned about traffic situation. I'm very disgusted with the school. Do not transfer here! also, the guidance department is poorly managed!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2012

My son is a 9th grader at this school, he have already had all the issues that were mentioned in previous posts. Our son is a good student and a good kid and our fear is this school is bringing him down. Teachers let the students rule, cant control the classes and the students that want to larn can't. I pray i can get him transferred out somehow. Its ridiculous that racial tensions are so high too. We don't live in the inner cities but by going to this school you would never know it. His rades are suffering and he's depressed. We are very worried. Don't let your child attend thIs school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Going to this school has made me miserable, and I've only gone through half of my freshmen year. It seems like the staff have just given up, and they let the students run the school. All of the money is going towards sports and the weight room equipment. There is a huge presence of racial issues. The building itself is in horrible condition and not kept right, the locker rooms are ridiculous. Bathrooms are terrible and I only have one class with any windows. The students are extremely loud and the teachers cannot control classes. I am a quiet student and I get very good grades. My grades have significantly dropped and I am being overlooked by both students and teachers because I am not as loud as everyone else. The atmosphere puts me in depression, very gloomy, jail like, and just not a good learning environment at all. Avoid this school at all costs. My parents and I are doing everything we can to get me transferred out, and I suggest you should avoid this school at all costs. It's not fun, It needs major help, in every category.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 14, 2011

No public school is perfect but I feel like some of the latest comments are painting an unfair picture of the teachers at Chancellor that in my experience genuinely care about their students performance and have been a positive influence. I have had two of my three children attend Chancellor and the experiences I have had have all been great. We were much happier with Chancellor than we were with our last school in Fairfax. Guess you can't please everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

This school has lots of drama not only from the students but from the parents as well. The school is cold and jail like. Parental involvement in this school is very low. Coming from Fairfax county this school is a joke. The principal doesnt care if children pass or fail. There are some teachers there who I feel shouldnt be teaching. Most children wish to transfer the school is that bad. With my situation that my daughter is facing at this school legal action will be taken. This school needs a full house cleaning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

I was rather disappointed in this school's performance. There is a lot of bullying there and my teen was always depressed by the school's cold and unfeeling atmosphere. If you would like my opinion, don't go to Chancellor High. If there was an option for no stars that's what I would give it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2010

teachers are trying, but other than the AP teachers.... not above average. Parental involvement is very low. Principal has been there a long time and needs to move on/// perceived as very biased and not competent. most students acknowledge their school is the worst in the district & would love to transfer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

The teachers. They have always gone above and beyond to help the kids. Providing extra help even when they dont have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

Great school- teachers care. Principal is available to listen. Very multicultural- a good thing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I'm biased because my kids attend Chancellor but it's probably the best school overall in Spotsylvania County. Make no mistake, there are certain things that could be better but overall, it's a decent school. My son took a lot of AP classes and he had good teachers for those. Racially, it's a good mix. Parent involvement is pretty much non existant. All in all, the best school in the county. Athletics are a mixed bag.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 76% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
94%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 76% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
88%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 86% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 83% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 89% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 87% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 76% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
88%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Virginia and United States History

The state average for Virginia and United States History was 86% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
95%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 85% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
World History I

The state average for World History I was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
World History II

The state average for World History II was 85% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students76%
Female students75%
Male students76%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracial82%
White students72%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English76%

Algebra II

All Students69%
Female students69%
Male students69%
Black students50%
Asian students82%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Biology

All Students76%
Female students78%
Male students73%
Black students60%
Asian students67%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial75%
White students85%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient students55%
Proficient in English77%

Chemistry

All Students74%
Female students75%
Male students73%
Black students50%
Asian students82%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students83%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Earth Science

All Students84%
Female students83%
Male students85%
Black students76%
Asian students92%
Hispanic74%
Multiracial75%
White students90%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient students47%
Proficient in English86%

English: Reading

All Students89%
Female students90%
Male students87%
Black students83%
Asian students85%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students94%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English90%

English: Writing

All Students87%
Female students90%
Male students83%
Black students79%
Asian students90%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
White students92%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficient students54%
Proficient in English88%

Geometry

All Students69%
Female students70%
Male students67%
Black students54%
Asian students83%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students74%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficient students74%
Proficient in English68%

History and Social Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Virginia and United States History

All Students84%
Female students83%
Male students84%
Black students70%
Asian students89%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient students64%
Proficient in English84%

World Geography

All Students85%
Female students83%
Male students88%
Black students75%
Asian students85%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial89%
White students91%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficient students50%
Proficient in English87%

World History I

All Studentsn/a
Female studentsn/a
Male studentsn/a
Black studentsn/a
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White studentsn/a
Students identified as economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

World History II

All Students72%
Female students73%
Male students71%
Black students61%
Asian students64%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial67%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficient students56%
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) End-of-Course tests to assess students in reading, writing, math, science and history/social science subjects at the end of each course, regardless of the student's grade level. The SOL End-of-Course tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. High school students must pass at least six SOL End-of-Course tests to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6300 Harrison Rd
Fredericksburg, VA 22407
Phone: (540) 786-2606

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Faith Baptist School
Fredericksburg, VA


Riverbend High School
Fredericksburg, VA


Courtland High School
Spotsylvania, VA


Fredericksburg Academy
Fredericksburg, VA


Odyssey Montessori School
Fredericksburg, VA


James Monroe High School
Fredericksburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT