Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rocky Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 824 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, October 20, 2014

I have many years of experience with schools and Rocky Run is the worst elementary school I've ever been in. The teachers are not trained to deal with the behavior issues of the student body. Most of the teachers seem to only be there to get through the day and collect their check. The lack of discipline negatively impacts the learning environment. The principal does not demand that the teachers maintain control over their students. I'm planning to remove my children from this school and home school them. I can't think of one thing I like about this school other than one previous teacher that really put her heart into teaching her students. The school needs to train their teachers to handle the children that they are working with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

We moved to this area 5 month ago from being overseas at a Dodea school. Rocky Run has not only been a wonderful school to move into but a much need benefit for my youngest son. From the principal, asst principal, front office staff to each of the teachers both of my sons encounter on a daily basis are amazing. Each is very warm and caring towards the children but also very friendly to myself as a parent. They put the needs of the children first. I could not be happier with our decision to ignore so negative comments and make the choice of sending the children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

As a parent and educator, I feel I can make the informed statement that this school is staffed and led by professionals who care for children and use research-based strategies, as well as love, to nurture the academic, social, and emotional growth of students. Having taught and had my own children enrolled in various schools throughout the country, I am impressed with the school's ability to address the needs of students with specials education requirements and military families, all while embracing and celebrating diversity. Staff and administration are involved, visible, and responsive. Students are treated with respect and held to high standards. The PTO is involved, positive, and does so much to provide and positive experience for families, as well as assist financially on special projects. My own child attends Rocky Run and I would recommend this school to others moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

My son is new to Rocky Run this year and has had an amazing experience. The staff has been welcoming to him as a new student and to me as a parent. I am very impressed with all that the PTO does to support the school - a lot of fun activities! The administration has been visible and has such a refreshingly positive attitude. The staff is incredibly caring and creative. What a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Rocky Run Elementary School has been an outstanding educational experience for both of my children. My oldest daughter attended there from K through 5th grade and I couldn't have been more pleased with all of her teacher's teaching abilities, school nurse, office staff, and the leadership. She also had several food allergies, as well as asthma, and they were very accommodating. The teachers are greatly concerned with the developmental well-being of all the children. My youngest daughter is currently in 4th grade and has been a student there since Kindergarten. The new leadership of Mr. Roman and Mrs. Jones is outstanding. My daughter is excelling in all aspects of her schooling. The staff is also very parent-friendly and encourages team effort for the children's education. I highly recommend this school to anybody who is moving into this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

This school is the worst that I ever encountered. The teachers used intimidation and bullying tactics towards the children. I was a prior school teacher. From the horrific experience that my child and I have encountered, I personally don't suggest anyone to enroll their love ones in this school. The Front desk employees has the worst customer service. The teachers does not have the knowledge to deal with special needs, Bi-lingual, diverse and military community. But yet, every year they want the military families to complete their subsidy forms every year to benefit themselves not the children. They also allow humiliations and corporal punishment towards the children. Tried informing management, but they tend to listen in deaf ears. Why should they, the cause of the negative actions are coming from higher up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

As a former teacher and current parent/stay-at-home-mom, I was concerned about schools when moving to Fredericksburg from out-of-state. However, after having spent many hours in the school working as a parent volunteer, I can say that I am thoroughly impressed and absolutely pleased. The principal is new this year and seems to really have the best interests of the students at heart. My daughter's teacher (Kindergarten) is fabulous. My daughter is already beginning to read and write simple sentences. From a mom's point of view, I am thrilled with Rocky Run. From a teacher's point of view, I am impressed and convinced that it is an excellent school with wonderful teachers and administration, staff, and parent volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

After my son's first year at Rocky Run, I can say I am pretty pleased. I was nervous after reading these reviews at the beginning of the year, but so far my experience has been very positive. I LOVED my son's kindergarten teacher and para. I was also impressed with the P.E. and other teachers and staff I had contact with (I volunteered weekly so I saw more than most parents do). They all seemed very dedicated and nurturing. They could be firm when necessary to keep control of the classroom, but did it in a respectful, caring way. There are a lot of enthusiastic, involved families at RRES. The school really has a positive vibe. I didn't have much one-on-one interaction with the principal everyone complains about, but she retired last week and we'll have a new one next year anyway. My only complaint would be the apparent lack of resources for the younger gifted children. I hear it gets better in the older grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

Here it is 2012 and this school has gotten no better. The teachers and staff are rude to the children, and to the parents. At the begining they act all nice but once you have an issue the tables turn. They have no respect or care how the parents feel about what is going on with there children. Anytime you bring an issue up they hand out excuses one after another.. Schools are suppose to make you feel safe and lead by example this school does no such thing. As you can see from the reviews its getting worse. Started off ok but now has taken a turn in the wrong direction. I also gave one star because it wont let you give anything less.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This school is simply awesome. The teachers all care about the kids and really respond so well to parental involvement/questions. Ms. Baker, the principal is mostly involved in the financial aspects of the school which takes up most of her time. Ms. Butler, the assistant principal is hands on with the kids and parents. She takes care of the discipline problems (very efficiently I might add) and any misc. problems parents might have. She takes a lot flack for that, but I've always found that parents who complain about their kids being disciplined rarely do it themselves and so hate it when others do it for them. The only problem I have w/ the school is that my kids are no longer allowed to go there thanks to the school board rearranging the district. Rocky Run will be missed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2011

This school has the worst teacher turn over rate in the county. Why do you think that is? The principal is rude and insulting. My daughter got hurt at school and the staff refused to let her call home and get help. She showed up at the bus stop with ripped jeans and blood running down her leg. For all the glowing reviews, they have just been luck to not have a problem...yet! I had problem with my daughter being bullied and Ms. Baker's response was to lecture me on the phone for five minutes. I pulled my kids out of that school after having our kids there for three years. I would rather work overtime to send my kids to private school than one more day at Rocky Run. Don't take this wrong, most of the teachers do a good job, but the administration is dreadful! I gave this school one star only because it won't allow negative numbers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

This is the worst school I have ever seen. The principal is rude and unprofessional. I have been requesting meetings with them to try to resolve a problem with my child that they created, and now they suspend him. This school should just be removed from existence and maybe the kids would do better in another place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

This school is a terrible place to have to grow and learn. The admin is terrible and the principal is one of the worst I have ever seen. If they did away with her the school could improve leaps and bounds!! good luck RRES, your gonna need it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

great teachers! that really care about the students and them learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

I have had two children attend RRES. Both have been lucky enough to have the best teachers, including one teacher who just won the President's Science Award (only 80 teachers nationwide). As always, it's not always about the teachers, it's about the children - their parents etc. The school provides excellent basics. There could be more in the way of extracurricular programs - languages etc., but generally given the diverse student population, I think the school is doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

I have nothing but good things to say about Rocky Run Elementary School. My son who has learning disabilities received very good services from the learning support team the past two years. This year my youngest is now receiving learning support from that same team. I can't say enough about them. They go out of their way to help the children reach their best potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We love Rocky Run! The teachers and staff are awesome! We couldn't be happier and wouldn't want our children to attend any other school in the area. We have excellent, regular contact with teachers. They go out of their way to work with the families, and keep us informed. Our children are excelling across the board!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I've got kids here since 2002. RRES has some of the best of teachers anywhere and some not-so-great teachers, just like any other public school (hence my non-5-star rating). I had considered sending my children to the private school next door, partly because of the size of RRES and partly because I worried about all the negative things my overprotected kids would see and hear from other students. But at the end of the day, I believe my children are getting a better than private education, academically and socially. The teachers do not tolerate questionable behavior. They are incredible jugglers, meeting the needs of students of all ability levels. My children have a better understanding of those less fortunate. The county spends substantial amounts on its schools, providing the latest and greatest resources. The principal is a very busy woman running a large school, and I'm very happy with the results.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

I feel as though the school has made tremendous improvements so please keep up the good work! It is nice to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

The lack of leadership at this school is what is holding this school back from being a great school. The principal is unpersonable, and seems to care only about her ambitions, the students are not her concern. The teachers are wonderful, but are held accountable to an administration who is concerned more about appearances than actual learning. Parents are not really welcome to be involved, communicaton between school and classroom is terrible. Given the choice, I would definatley consider putting my children in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

112 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
90%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
81%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students69%
Female students65%
Male students74%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracial71%
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficient students87%
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students69%
Female students65%
Male students74%
Black students50%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracial64%
White students86%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient students80%
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students80%
Female students75%
Male students86%
Black students60%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial85%
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students77%
Female students83%
Male students71%
Black students63%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English77%

Math

All Students80%
Female students78%
Male students83%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students77%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students89%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English79%

English: Writing

All Students69%
Female students75%
Male students62%
Black students53%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English69%

Math

All Students80%
Female students83%
Male students77%
Black students66%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students82%
Female students81%
Male students83%
Black students75%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White students87%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms. Joanne E. Baker

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

95 Reservoir Rd
Fredericksburg, VA 22406
Phone: (540) 286-1956

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Cross Academy
Fredericksburg, VA




Faith Baptist School
Fredericksburg, VA



Sonshine Academy
Fredericksburg, VA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT