Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Cross Academy

Private | PK-8 | 568 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fredericksburg

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Sunday, August 17, 2014

This is our 2nd year at H.C.A and we couldn't be happier! Our kids are challenged on a daily basis! Lots of parental involvement, community is great, the Oblate Sisters do a good job running the school! Yes, it has its hiccups like any other school, but we couldn't be happier!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

HCA is a blessing to both children and parents. Extremely fortunate that the Oblate Sisters and the amazing staff give of themselves for the benefit of the kids. No school is perfect, as no person is perfect, but this little school is a gem! We have been lucky to call it home for 14 years and counting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

God created Holy Cross Academy (HCA), and I cannot be more happy and proud that he did. My two children attended HCA from kindergarten through eighth grades and the benefits and rewards that my husband and I see from their experience there is wonderful. HCA provided our children with a great elementary and middle school education, in addition to enhancing their knowledge of God s love in the Catholic faith, and it was due to the loving environment and exceptional administrative staff and teachers that have dedicated their lives to them and America s youth. As we look back, we feel so blessed that our children attend HCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

My kids attended Holy Cross Academy for 6 years. We chose a parochial school for the benefits of our children learning and practicing their faith. We liked the idea that it was essentially run by nuns. However, the culture of the place does not represent a place of faith. I have known many families that have left due to children being bullied and the administration doing nothing about it. There is absolutely no consistancy in discipline or standards of behavior. Even physical assaults went unpunished. The culture is as much about adult clicks as those in the student population. There are 4 sisters in the same family working there as teachers and 2 of the nuns are blood sisters. That leaves very little room for fair professional behavior. Very dysfunctional place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

My children attended HCA 4 years ago. My husband is military and we unfortunately needed to move on. Of the 5 schools we have attended HCA is by far the best, The community is amazing. I always tell people this school has a heartbeat, and you can feel it when you walk in the doors. There was no mandatory volunteering like many other schools we have attended, but there didn't need to be. The parents were a rare crowd of people who stepped up to help wherever needed. The Sisters are sweet, unbiased, loving women who make this school "all about the children"!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

My daughter went to Holy Cross for 7th and 8th grade. Excellent school. She played field hockey and made many friends. There were about 60 kids in 8th grade, so the teachers knew all the kids. My daughter is in public school now and I really miss the small school atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

Excellent school. Our children learn and live their faith while receiving an excellent education. Teachers are dedicated and always willing to work extra with students during recess or after school. HCA provides a safe, caring, learning environment and are true to their motto - It's all About the Children! Our children love it there and so do we!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

Holy Cross Academy is a wonderful school with supportive parents, superior teachers and wonderful administrators. They live out their motto, It's About the Children! The academics are the strongest in the area and the spirit is great. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Unfortunately, good teachers are hindered by very poor leadership. There is a great deal of favoritism displayed by the administration and it filters to the staff. The education is adequate but just that, if you're lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Holy Cross made me really think about and care about other people. I got a great education that prepared me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

I went to Holy Cross for 8 years. Elementary school was okay, but when middle school rolled around, I was miserable. If you didn't fit into a certain mold in terms of appearance, demeanor and financial status, you just didn't fit in. The teachers try to help, but only see what they want to see. Only one or two of my teachers from 5th grade on are even worth mentioning. The staff could be very judgemental and quick to point fingers at 'likely' offenders when trouble arose, and lots of kids got into unnecessary trouble because of it. The religion program is good, and so is math to an extent, but for the most part the teachers are unremarkable. I'm in public school now and the contrast is startling.For one,I realized that its possible to have fun getting a good education. I'm happier than i've ever been. Private school=good HCA=not so much
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2009

Great School, Amazing Curriculum and big on arts and science. Their Moto is 'Its About the Children' and that says it all. Very organised faith based and well worth the $ we pay in tuition. When I sit on Fridays in mass with the student body all quiet with their Mass books I think, 'This is what Catholic Education is about.' My kids can learn their faith and academics at home and school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2009

Holy Cross Academy is a great school, well organized, caring atmosphere, demanding standards, great balance. You can't do better.


Posted February 18, 2009

It's a wonderful school. Great primary level teachers who care about the kids! Very high standards...and the kids produce. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

HCA rocks! The teachers are great! Or at least most of them My two Seventh Grade teachers were great! They really care about the children and believe that if the children fail it's just as much thier falt as it is their's. They take that extra step to satisfy the parents and kids. I would reccomend this shcool to all caring parents!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I love Holy Cross it has taught me so much. The teachers are great, the atmosphere is great, and the children are great. What is not to like? Important values are a major priority at Holy Cross! It just great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

HCA students are always placed in the AP and Honors clesses when they go on to public or private high school. The schools they attend speak highly of the quality of HCA graduates academically and otherwise. The school employs wonderful teachers and has up to date facilities and equipment. As a parent, I could not ask for more from a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

It is a wonderful school with wonderful people. My kids are challenged on all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

HCA is a loving, caring school. Each child is valued and cared for. It is a wonderful school and my children are doing great in high school. More importantly, they are good people who genuinely care about those around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

My two children graduated from Holy Cross Academy. Both have moved on to AP classes in high school and have done very well. It sounds like the two families who have written reviews here are disgruntled parents. EVERY school has some of those! We are Catholic but do not have much money to give to the church. I do not feel there is some sort of ranking within the school regarding money. I am surprised at these review and feel that these people are the minority not the majority. Do your homework when looking for schools especially private schools! Good Luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Arlington
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Stafford Lakes Parkway
Fredericksburg, VA 22406
Phone: (540) 286-1600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rocky Run Elementary School
Fredericksburg, VA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT