Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
568 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Cross Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
These teachers care about their students, not their union. This caring makes them more effective, and the openness of contact with parents makes the school and home work together in a way that is much more effective for the growth of the student.

Holy Cross Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
One example: a young student who cheated on a math quiz provided an example of the fact that humans fail morally sometimes. While she got a zero on the quiz, she reminded the other students that they are only cheating themselves when they cheat at school. Good, empathetic teachers reinforced this lesson without lambasting the young offender any more than was necessary and an important lesson about honesty and fairness was introduced.


Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
This is far and away the best K-8 school in the Fredericksburg area (and the preschool is pretty fabulous too). Academically, the advanced students are given challenges commensurate with their abilities while those who need some extra help receive devoted attention to catching up. This happens in the same classroom under the guidance of the spectacular faculty. The Salesian philosophy of learning, which makes compassion a major part of intellectual achievement, ensures that the children are grounded in a moral center that emphasizes kindness, courtesy and understanding. A can-do work ethic is also emphasized, which is a life-long attribute hard to come by in schools these days. Another rarity: actual diversity, with a student body whose parents hail from every populated continent and whose backgrounds include most major religions, philosophies and political views, all interacting respectfully under the watch of the Sisters who make the school run so well. I'd give them six stars if they'd open up a high school, and seven (seventeen?) if they'd move the school downtown. Still, well worth the trip.

Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
God has entrusted six beautiful children to us and we are doing our best to insure that they are raised in the manner that will allow them to grow with His teachings. God has and continues to bless us so that we can send our children to Holy Cross Academy. People often ask why we have invested so much into Catholic education when they can attend school for free. I can tell you that listening to your youngest child (since kindergarten) sing to “God” every night, enjoying going to school, then advancing classes in high school because of the curriculum, makes it worth every penny. Four of our children have graduated HCA and high school but I remember them often coming home and saying that they “missed HCA; praying and talking about “God” in school; but missing all their teachers”. They mentioned that they were ahead of their peers because of HCA’s curriculum, which is geared toward “college” readiness. The middle school teachers are always available for all students needing extra help. I have asked some of the middle school teachers to wait for my last child to go through their class because I know them and appreciate their hard work. As with any school “public or private” there are instances that I don’t agree, however, we find a way to make it work. Our family has been there since the school commenced and it is our hope that the grandchildren can attend as well on day.

Holy Cross Academy 3

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Elementary level was fine. Middle school math methods are uninspiring and outmoded. Discipline is so-so. Girls are favored. Religious atmosphere is solid and in line with the Magesterium.


Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
I attended Holy Cross MANY years ago, and my 4 year old daughter has now attended their preschool for two consecutive years. The staff is superb! The teachers foster a relationship with the parents and students that supports and encourages each child to be the best that they possibility can achieve. I have no hesitation in sending my now-2-year-old there next year and cannot wait for my eldest to start at HCA in their kindergarten class next fall.

Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
St. Mary Preschool is such a blessing. I cannot say enough good things about the teachers there. Mrs. Bain, Mrs. Bertram, and Mrs. McManus are so kind, patient, and loving and make each child feel loved. Would recommend to anyone!

Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
This is our 2nd year at H.C.A and we couldn't be happier! Our kids are challenged on a daily basis! Lots of parental involvement, community is great, the Oblate Sisters do a good job running the school! Yes, it has its hiccups like any other school, but we couldn't be happier!!


Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
HCA is a blessing to both children and parents. Extremely fortunate that the Oblate Sisters and the amazing staff give of themselves for the benefit of the kids. No school is perfect, as no person is perfect, but this little school is a gem! We have been lucky to call it home for 14 years and counting!

Holy Cross Academy 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
God created Holy Cross Academy (HCA), and I cannot be more happy and proud that he did. My two children attended HCA from kindergarten through eighth grades and the benefits and rewards that my husband and I see from their experience there is wonderful. HCA provided our children with a great elementary and middle school education, in addition to enhancing their knowledge of God s love in the Catholic faith, and it was due to the loving environment and exceptional administrative staff and teachers that have dedicated their lives to them and America s youth. As we look back, we feel so blessed that our children attend HCA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross Academy
250 Stafford Lakes Parkway, Fredericksburg, VA  22406
(540) 286-1600
Last modified Holy Cross Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Holy Cross Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top