Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Conway Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 903 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2014

I think the school has many great and dedicated teachers and staff, the problem is the huge classroom sizes, and the need to teach to the test. My kindergartner was standardized tested, I understand the need to make sure they are making progress, but was really disappointed in our public school systems, this isnt the fault of Conway. I was concerned for my son - he was 5 years old in a classroom of 26 kids one teacher and a part time aid, those are staggering teacher student ratios. We decided to pull our son and find a better learning environment for him (no standardized testing, no teaching to the test and two full time teachers for kindergarden and first grade). We see a clear difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2014

I was worried about the large size of Conway when my daughter started kindergarten, but those fears are gone! It is clear Principal Raybold (JR) expects a lot from the teachers, and we have not been disappointed. JR knows each child's name, which is just incredible to me. He sets the example for his school, and each child feels important. We love Conway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

I am extremely confident in Principal Raybold and his staff. I have never met an administration so friendly, respectful and dedicated to my child. My son's teacher keeps me in the loop daily and sends home a summary of the weeks activity every Friday. The PTA is always coming up with neat ideas in terms of fundraising and currently have organized after school enrichment programs. Phone calls are made and emails are sent when necessary, which provides peace of mind. I am proud my son goes to Conway and other parents I speak to have nothing but great things to say about the staff and how the school is run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

Dedicated to the well being and academic advancement of all student. Top notch teaching and administrative staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2013

I have had 2 children go to this Conway. It is a wonderful school with excellent staff. My son has had some of the best teachers I could ever ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Our sons have and do attend Conway. The teachers and staff care deeply about each child in the school and make a phenominal effort to encourage and challenge each student. It's a strong anti-bullying school. The teachers, staff, and students promote and celebrate cultural differences. The PTA is very, very involved, and parents are always welcome to volunteer in the classrooms. It is truely a school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2011

An excellent school where both the teachers and the principal seem to genuinely care about all of the children, including my nine year son. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

I especially love the leadership that Mr. Raybold brings to this school. Every day the kids are taught about EFFORT and INTEGRITY which are as important as academics. My children have very different needs from autism to ahead of grade level, to needing a little extra help and all of their needs have been met here. I am so happy my kids are Conway Cougars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Conway Elementary is a wonderful school. I have three sons that span 15 years of dealing with schools in three states! This has been by far the best experience we have ever had with public schools. The teachers and administrators are top notch. They are kind and caring. The teachers and staff nurture and expect nothing less than a student's personal best. Mr. Raybold is the new principal this year. I have never meet a more dedicated and outgoing principal. He is always smiling and very involved with all of his staff, students and parents. He has children of his own and understands what it means to be a parent. He is very visible and always greets my children and me with a smile. The school also offers many extra activities outside of the normal school day. Conway also has a great group of parents who participate at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

We moved to Stafford Virginia from another state in 2008. My wife and I were initially concerned about sending our child to public school, since our child has only attended private school prior to our move. We are pleased to say that Conway Elementary is an Outstanding school whose staff has shown in many ways that they care about the children. Our child seems to be very excited about attending school everyday, and talks constantly in the evening about all the engaging activities that took place in the classroom. Great Job Conway!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

We moved to Stafford county from Spotsylvania and enrolled my daughter at Conway. From the time she started until I removed her from the school it was a nightmare! Staff was so rude and extremely unprofessional. The principle had no clue of what was occuring right under her nose, because she never left her office. If your child attends this school i would highly recommend that you find out excatly what is going on in her/his class! I placed my daughter back at her old school{Salem Elementary} and her attitude grades and self confidence is back to normal! Thank God i was a concerned parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

I love Conway. They have so many outside activities and the staff is super friendly. Both of my children seem to be learning quickly and are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Academically the school is fine. Our family found the staff to be rude and non communicative. No call backs when requested. All in all very poorly run from the Principal on down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

I have been extremely pleased with Conway thus far. My son will be in first grade in the fall but the attentiveness of the teachers and staff has been top notch. My son loves all the extras offered by the school as incentives 'To Stay On Track' (tickets, gold coins, shopping cart, movies, ice cream socials, etc.) Their is a commodary amoungst the parents and school and that helps the school thrive. I do hope that it continues as the school ages from brand new status to older.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

All the staff seemed to be really friendly and care about the children. I love Conway. Mrs. Cooper has a great team. Keep up the good work!!!!!!!! Sherry L
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

I have found the teachers to be very warm and caring at Conway. My 3 kids have each received personal attention in their classrooms and love school! The PTA is involved and there are great activities offered here. They welcome volunteers and I have spend many days helping out in different classes as well as ice cream parties, movie days, etc. Overall Conway Elem has been a wonderful place for my children to attend school and make friends!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I love this school! My 3 kids go here and I feel the positive-ness from all staff and teachers. It is a brand new school with a great 'new' attitude. Lots of extras, music, art, and foreign languages are offered, even to my preschooler. I cannot say enough good things about this school. Top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 72% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 87% in 2012.

150 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 84% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 70% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 84% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

The state average for English: Reading was 73% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
English: Writing

The state average for English: Writing was 71% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
History and Social Science

The state average for History and Social Science was 89% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students81%
Male students71%
Black students61%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White students78%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students63%
Female students63%
Male students62%
Black students48%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities33%
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English63%

Science

All Students83%
Female students82%
Male students83%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White students93%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities67%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students76%
Female students81%
Male students72%
Black students43%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracial45%
White students84%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students78%
Female students78%
Male students79%
Black students62%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
White students80%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficient studentsn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

English: Reading

All Students75%
Female students81%
Male students70%
Black students67%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracial91%
White students71%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficient students81%
Proficient in English69%

English: Writing

All Students73%
Female students84%
Male students65%
Black students82%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracial70%
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficient students84%
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students69%
Female students72%
Male students67%
Black students57%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracial73%
White students69%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficient students79%
Proficient in English59%

Science

All Students79%
Female students82%
Male students77%
Black students76%
Asian studentsn/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracial73%
White students81%
Students identified as economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities42%
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficient students88%
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Virginia used the Standards of Learning (SOL) tests to assess students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, writing in grades 5 and 8, and science in grades in 3, 5 and 8. The SOL tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Virginia. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the Virginia Department of Education. Data is not reported when there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".
  • In 2007-2008, this school was rated "Fully Accredited".

About the tests


Virginia school accreditation ratings reflect student achievement on Standards of Learning (SOL) tests and other assessments in English, history/social science, math and science. The 2009-2010 ratings are based on passing rates on tests taken during the 2008-2009 school year or on overall achievement during the three most recent years. Schools are identified as either Fully Accredited, Accredited with Warning, Conditionally Accredited or Accreditation Denied.

Source: Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 Primmer House Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone: (540) 361-1455

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ferry Farm Elementary School
Fredericksburg, VA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT