Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted July 04, 2016
- a parent
I have had three kids at THES and I will not move specifically because I do not want them missing out on such a great school. I haven't had one year out of the 5 where they did not LOVE their teachers. Mr. D is awesome and every year the staff thinks of ways to give back and to get all students involved. Great academics and great extra curricular activities. My family is looking forward to several more years of being a part of THES.

Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
I am extremely impressed with the teacher my child has. We just moved here and its our first experience with this school but its easily the best experience educationally that my child is getting. Not only is she learning alot but also loves her teacher.


Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My son loves his school.The whole staff is very cooperative.The teachers reply any queries and questions right away. The Principal is very creative and very connected in every way to the school,staff and students.

Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Twin Hickory Elementary School is a great school, this is the reason why I moved so that my son could go to this excellent school

Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is now in High School and I have to credit Twin Hickory for the educational foundation they helped develop. The environment, teachers and staff were all excellent. She sailed through Holman Middle School above grade level, now in all advanced classes. It's cool to be smart and work hard at THE.


Twin Hickory Elementary School 4

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Very high pressure on academics. Formed cliques. Great academic ratings but not alot of help with confidence with any new students. Administration kind of supports the bad behavior they smile and say they are going to help but don't. But the kids are learning the SOL.

Twin Hickory Elementary School 2

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
A lot of teachers have stony face in this school. The ladies in the front office are very rude. The staff in the cafeteria are very mean. My kids felt unhappy in this school. I wish they can improve in the new school year.

Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2011
- a parent
excellent......................parents teacher co-ordination and principal involvement is the best.my daughter love going to school because of encouraging environmental.


Twin Hickory Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2011
- a parent
Since we moved to US from EU we had that advantage to compare school overseas with US standards. I'd say Twin Hickory is really nice school, Dr. Perrello was VERY helpful, she even came in person to shake hands and welcome us when we entered the school gates for the first time. Mr. Adair with his attitude, help and his personality made really nice impression to us, especially to our daughter who really missed him when she changed school. Front office - looks like something has changed recently and ladies who used to talk to us every time we get there are not there anymore which is very good sign. Principal "Mr. D" is a young man with great attitude and respect for kids. Looks like after "dark era" when Dr. Perrello "disappeared" from school got somebody who cares about school and students.

Twin Hickory Elementary School 3

Posted May 27, 2010
- a parent
As a new resident to the area, we were told that Twin Hickory was "one of the best schools in the area." Instead, we were met with a "sink or swim" attitude. The only saving grace of the entire year was with the help of the excellent Resource teacher, Mrs. White. From the front office to the nurse, we were consistently treated rudely. The principal, Dr. Perrello, was wonderful. She left "unexpectedly" before the year ended, not sure why, as she was very caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Twin Hickory Elementary School
4900 Twin Hickory Lake Dr, Glen Allen, VA  23059
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (804) 360-4700
Last modified Twin Hickory Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top